Beach Slang
The Things We Do to Find People Who Feel


4.5
superb

Review

by SowingSeason STAFF
October 23rd, 2015 | 134 replies


Release Date: 10/30/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: We are young and alive.

There’s music that accomplishes a goal, and then there’s the kind of stuff that captures a spirit. I can’t say there’s anything particularly goal-oriented about The Things We Do To Find People Who Feel Like Us, but ideologically, that’s precisely the point. Beach Slang’s full-length debut is a rallying cry, a generational statement of youth that is encountered about as frequently as one’s youth itself. It lives fast and dies young, cramming ten compelling anthems into a twenty six minute bottle that will leave you drunk, dazed, and not giving a fuck about anything besides being young and alive.

Amid fuzzy guitars and reckless percussion, vocalist James Alex proclaims “I feel most alive when I’m listening to every record that hits harder than the pain.” If that isn’t the perfect indictment of how we all feel when we’re seventeen, rebelling against our parents, and despising every second of school that we’re forced to endure, then I’ll be damned. If it doesn’t also encapsulate how you feel when you’re twenty six, sitting alone in a small apartment, and wondering where everyone in your life went – then I don’t know what does. The Things We Do hits you right in the chest no matter what age you are, vividly portraying that angst-ridden part of us that never really grows up. At times it’s brash and filled with boundless energy (“the night is alive, it’s loud and I’m drunk”), while during other moments it proves intelligent and insightful ( “I try to use my brain, but every time I do my heart gets in the way.”) Here, Beach Slang craft a piece worthy of inebriated nights as well as thoughtful introspection, and chances are The Things We Do will inspire you to do a little of both.

It isn’t hasty to say that Beach Slang have captured lightning in a bottle, because it’s more than just a clichéd summation of their achievement. In fact, it describes this album’s energy in a fashion far more precise than I could ever venture to do. At some point or another, we all feel as though the electricity of our existence is being trapped in a confined space, waiting to break loose. The Things We Do To Find People Who Feel Like Us pops the lid, vigorously releasing that energy into the atmosphere. It’s liberating.




Recent reviews by this author
Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness Upside Down FlowersMumford and Sons Delta
John Nolan AbendigoMuse Simulation Theory
Imagine Dragons OriginsJames Newton Howard The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
user ratings (166)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gyromania
October 23rd 2015


25933 Comments


oh sowing i'm so glad to hear this is excellent! been really looking forward to this

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 23rd 2015


28394 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Here you go Gryomania:



http://www.npr.org/2015/10/21/449210107/first-listen-beach-slang-the-things-we-do-to-find-people-who-feel-like-us#playlist

Digging: John Nolan - Abendigo

Gyromania
October 23rd 2015


25933 Comments


thank you!

ZackSh33
October 23rd 2015


680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review Sowing, was just about to sit down and write the review for this one, but you beat me to it

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2015


23862 Comments


Nice review sowing, short but sweet. I'm all for relatable lyrics so I'll give this a shot

Digging: Pistol Annies - Interstate Gospel

psandy
October 23rd 2015


280 Comments


This makes me miss Adam

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 23rd 2015


28394 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks guys, this was an interesting little review to write but the words just seemed to come so I put it to paper. I adore this and I think others will too.

brainmelter
October 24th 2015


6008 Comments


will checkx5

Digging: Hissing - Permanent Destitution

NightProwler
October 24th 2015


7005 Comments


Good review. I'm really looking forward to this. Should get it in the mail within a week.

dimsim3478
October 24th 2015


8015 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i dunno whether it's that i wasn't listening close enough to those first two EPs or that the songwriting on this has been taken up a huge notch but i haven't really cared about this band until now. this thing plays to my heart in just the right way.



edit: no wait this ain't that good

Digging: The Cro-Magnons - ?????????

NightProwler
October 24th 2015


7005 Comments


I love their two first EPs, but yeah, they've received some criticism. I haven't heard this one yet, so I can't say if it's better or not. Trying not to hear it until I receive it

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 24th 2015


28394 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I think Ride the Wild Haze is my favorite off this but they're all so damn good

ConsumerOfNut
October 24th 2015


325 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really don't think the songwriting improved but I loved the EPs so I won't complain, album rules

Forest159
October 24th 2015


63 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So glad this is amazing. I am really looking forward to this and loved both EP's.

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 24th 2015


28394 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I only casually listened to the EPs, but I think this is at a whole different level

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
October 25th 2015


16045 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

young and alive is easily bestest

someguest
October 25th 2015


29865 Comments


In reference to the album title:

Take and send pictures of our cocks?

facetofacereunion08
October 25th 2015


1 Comments


I think the 2 EPs blow this full length out of the water. Surprised to see people feel the other way!

TheSupernatural
October 26th 2015


1741 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Damn, was hoping to review this an Sowing drops the killer review out of the gate

SteveP
October 26th 2015


99 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

AOTY



good review bro

Digging: Antarctigo Vespucci - Love in the Time of E?-?Mail



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy