Beach House
Thank Your Lucky Stars


3.0
good

Review

by Rowan5215 STAFF
October 23rd, 2015 | 151 replies


Release Date: 2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "This is not a black and white world/To be alive, I say that the colours must swirl"

Beach House in 2015. File under: Contrasts, dude. They certainly seem to have been the buzzword in the Beach House, uh, house. Depression Cherry was... well, it was titled 'Depression Cherry', and yet its vibrant red cover signalled a more hopeful attitude which was reflected in its colourful, sky-gazing tunes. Thank Your Lucky Stars might seem a continuation of that ideal if you go off the album title, but again it's a deliberate misconception, with the album's more pessimistic lyrical themes skewing the peaceful title to something closer to a snarled instruction. And, just as Depression Cherry was soulful, Thank Your Lucky Stars proudly stands in a contrast as a fairly flat affair.

Which is funny, because on the surface level there's really not a whole lot to distinguish the two. All the ingredients of the Depression Cherry pie are still here; Legrand's gorgeous melodies, a hint of evil fuzz humming away in the background, production so obsessed with gazing at its shoes that it could walk straight off a cliff. Fans around the world probably groaned when the dreaded p-word (“political”) was dropped alongside mention of the new album, but fear not, there's no scathing attacks on Blair or Abraham Lincoln samples in sight. Rather, the slightly broader focus on topics outside the realm of the heart zooms out the lens on a band who weren't exactly known for specificity in the first place. If there's anything political to be found, it's a dyed-in-the-wool cynicism, born and bred in the modern atmosphere of distrust.

When it comes down to it, Thank Your Lucky Stars feels like exactly what it is – a victim of circumstance. Until two weeks ago, Depression Cherry was entirely its own event, a self-contained, totally satisfactory product by a band that we expected to deliver nothing less. By releasing another album less than two months later, it inevitably taints the picture so that now we have a conception of the two as parts of a whole, release statement be damned. This leads to a slight cheapening of the former album, no longer a record in its own right but a box with half the puzzle pieces; and it also leads to an unavoidable letdown when the second box comes, and all along it was just a picture of a cat or something.



Recent reviews by this author
Earl Sweatshirt Feet of ClayNorma Jean All Hail
Danny Brown uknowhatimsayin¿The Early November Lilac
Blink-182 NineBon Iver i,i
user ratings (292)
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2015


42858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

and so I was left with the task of following up a Rudy review, god help my soul



sup

DoofusWainwright
October 23rd 2015


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I was thinking of writing this up Rowan...and it wasn't going to be pretty



I might still put one up, and I'll need one less paragraph than this lol

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2015


42858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha definitely still write yours up bro I'm sure you can capture it better than I

DoofusWainwright
October 23rd 2015


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You did a good job but mine will be more scathing because I already felt let down by Depression Cherry.



Teen Dream (4.5) to this (2.5) in the space of four releases, what a shitty state of affairs

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2015


42858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Jac I'll chuck those in. Also I think my Ben Howard review might've been more concise? Anyway yeah gotta cut down on that fluff



@doof I've only heard their two 2015 albums so that probably informs my opinion a fair bit, I'm guessing you could chuck in that much-needed further context

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2015


42858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

white house ain't that where them gosh darn politicans live?

DoofusWainwright
October 23rd 2015


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Rowan wait a week then reward yourself by listening to Teen Dream - all the songs are catchy, they all sound quite different from each other, the pacing is perfect and the vocals are so much better than here

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2015


42858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Depression Cherry is pretty solid jac give er a spin



will do doof

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 23rd 2015


32833 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I like this and DC about the same. Both are interesting but not compelling.

Digging: Coldplay - Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2015


42858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That's a great way of describing this, DC has a bit more life in it though

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 23rd 2015


32833 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Agreed. Nice review by the way.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2015


42858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

thanks ss

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2015


42858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

keep us updated

NorthernSkylark
October 23rd 2015


9571 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh damn

Digging: John Grant - Queen Of Denmark

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2015


42858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

oh daaamn



what's your dig like skylark?

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2015


42858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

aw sheit first feature in a good stretch, thanks mods

melgosabackstage
October 23rd 2015


38 Comments


Great review. will have to check out the album.

Spacesh1p
October 23rd 2015


7717 Comments


I really liked the review especially considering how little the sound was described. That's not a backhanded compliment but normally I don't like this style of review is all. Nice work.

AmericanFlagAsh
October 23rd 2015


9069 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, disagreed.

This is better than DP. More distant sounding. Rougher. I love it.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2015


42858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@Spaceship thanks dude!



@Flag Tangent here but is your avatar from buffy??



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy