Born of Osiris
Soul Sphere


3.5
great

Review

by Dmax28 USER (21 Reviews)
October 23rd, 2015 | 285 replies


Release Date: 10/23/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: 'Osiris stays the course with their new mainstream approach, but improve upon it in every way.

Born of Osiris has been challenged to live up to the expectations of their first EP The New Reign and more so their monstrous LP The Discovery ever since their release. Losing the more technical of the two guitarists, releasing a watered down follow up with a nonsensical name, and having silly keyboard lines as a key trademark make them a clear target as a band whose best days are behind them. If you know Born of Osiris, you know their unique brand of pulsing prog metalcore.
If you are a fan of the band and was pleased with the frankly solid if less exciting Tomorrow We Die Alive then Soul Sphere is bound give you what you are looking for. If you hated the band from the first time you heard them, this will just give you more reason to make fun of them. If you like some of their early stuff but didn't like Tomorrow We Die Alive it's hard to say. This is a respectable step up with more interesting songs and skilled writing but of all their albums it sounds most similar to TWDA.

What sets the album apart from their older releases is just how refined the music is and how melodic and surprisingly hook driven the vocals are. There is a much bigger focus on tracks with melodic choruses now and it just gets more emphasized the further into the album you go. Throw Me in the Jungle is the worst track on the album with a cringe worthy chorus but other tracks such as The Louder the Sound, The More We All Believe and Warlords do the melodic chorus well. Warlords even manages to change the pacing and tone a little; something that has become nonexistent for the band. The scream vocals go from one catchy line to the next and the interplay between different vocal parts is excellent. They also made things more technical than the last album and put in some brief but pleasing guitar solos. Unlike how in TWDA most songs were all about chugs aside from a few specific points in each song, the cool change ups and great, crushing riffs come often here. Melodic guitars, surgical rhythms, and (my favorite) “tech-ish” rhythm attacks are in abundance showing the band made an effort to be more dynamic. The Composer is a monster of a track.

Soul Sphere is an album that is extremely accessible and catchy for it's genre and more upbeat sounding than expected. The production is pristine, which again, can be good or bad. Although there are a larger amount of technical parts on this album, the way it's presented definitely makes this their least hardcore to date. For something of a mainstream party prog death band it brings the quality you'd expect. Meaning haters are likely to confirm their suspicions. By taking some of metal's most extreme elements and merging it with pop sensibilities they have created a unique and divisive sound for themselves. The band does tend to sound like they have a set amount of tools that they just mix up from track to track; leading to the question: how long can they keep this up" For now, the songs here are solid enough that those ok with their more mainstream direction should find this to be great Born of Osiris material.



Recent reviews by this author
Kadinja Super 90Omnium Gatherum The Burning Cold
BABYMETAL Metal ResistanceSorrow Plagues Sorrow Plagues
Ulvesang UlvesangBakos Attila Aranyhajnal
user ratings (354)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
Winsomniac (3.5)
A Rediscovery....


Comments:Add a Comment 
ToMMyMiL16
October 23rd 2015


391 Comments


"Unique pulsing prog metalcore sound" .............interesting.

Dmax28
October 23rd 2015


458 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yea I dig the album. But I understand why they are maligned by some. I'd say this is their second best release.

ToMMyMiL16
October 23rd 2015


391 Comments


Honestly the only album i can listen to by them is discovery. And that is decent. Around a 2.5-3

ftinside
October 23rd 2015


420 Comments


this is fun

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
October 23rd 2015


16069 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

will probably turn into workout jams for time to time

brainmelter
October 23rd 2015


6238 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

4real?

Digging: You and I - The Curtain Falls

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2015


32190 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

OvDeath's journey of musical discovery continues

zaruyache
October 23rd 2015


20386 Comments


Osiris stays the course with their new mainstream approach

'Osiris stay the course', wouldn't it be?

Digging: Forest - Like a Blaze Above the Ashes

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2015


10470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

review is kinda rough around the edges



have my doubts about this release as well

ExhaleTheLight
October 23rd 2015


863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Is this even close to The Discovery? TWDA was a disaster



Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2015


10470 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah this just sounds like twda, maybe slightly better

Kyyzen
October 23rd 2015


222 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

No... this does not sound like TWDA and if you think it does you didn't listen to TWDA. This has a lot more variation and uniqueness and in my opinion is better than The Discovery. Have people actually listened to The Discovery? It's literally my 2nd least favorite thing they've put out. It has it's moments, but it's really repetitive.



Also, the first finished song they put out from The Discovery was "Follow the Signs"... Which was a chugfest... and people loved it for some reason. Then they put out M(weird A)chine as their first song for TWDA, another chugfest... and people hated it. Then they put out "Throw Me In the Jungle" as their first song for Soul Sphere and everyone said it's the worst thing they've written. When that song has more diversity in guitar playing than the previous two first songs put out combined. As well as a catching breakdown riff. It's definitely not their best effort, but I liked it more than Machine and Follow the Signs as it had more uniqueness to it and wasn't only a chugfest.



Anyways, Soul Sphere is a solid release that does explore new areas that BoO hasn't gone to before. The vocals are insanely good and extremely catchy in most of the songs. I can't say I remember any portions of The Discovery where the vocals really stood out, it was a very monotonous mid range scream the whole album (except for when Joe does his background vocals it's a little bit higher). One thing I wanted BoO to kind of move away from was having very prominent synth leads that try to replace a guitar. They kind of proved me wrong in Soul Sphere as some of the synth parts are actually really well done, but that is because they used the synth how it was supposed to be used, and that is not a guitar replacement.



Soul Sphere was an all around great album that doesn't really have any weaknesses (in my opinion). There is a lot of diversity in each song and are extremely memorable because of that.



Anyways, my favorite BoO albums (I know a new reign is an EP) from least favorite to favorite.



Tomorrow We Die Alive < The Discovery < New Reign < Soul Sphere < A Higher Place



Take away point. People think The Discovery was way too good and hold everything BoO does to a standard that doesn't exist. They hopped on The Discovery band wagon and never jumped off.

nononsense
October 23rd 2015


3511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, it's certainly not better than the Discovery. But it's several steps ahead of TWDA.

JeetJeet
October 23rd 2015


6092 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Its what TWDA should have been. Album is fun as fuck and I love it the more I hear it.

Digging: Tommy Genesis - Tommy Genesis

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
October 23rd 2015


1336 Comments


This is a super fun djenty-chug album, and I'm glad they went in a more accessible direction to be honest.

JeetJeet
October 23rd 2015


6092 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

kinda tired of the Throw me In The Jungle hate. Song is good. Obviously not the best one on here, but its not as terrible as everyone says it is.

nononsense
October 23rd 2015


3511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Eh.

Nocturnalize
October 23rd 2015


2463 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I prefer TWDA to this album tbh

JWT155
October 23rd 2015


14278 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Eh this sounds like more of the same to me, I don't mind it but i don't hear any new directions on here.

KILL
October 23rd 2015


81233 Comments


lol noct goin hard



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy