Panopticon
Autumn Eternal


4.0
excellent

Review

by Atari STAFF
October 21st, 2015 | 401 replies


Release Date: 10/16/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: a victorious effort that celebrates the process of change

Much like the leaves that change from green to brownish red as they wither away, Panopticon’s Autumn Eternal is an album that examines both change and loss. It doesn’t just examine these themes, however, it embraces them triumphantly. One of the album’s first singles, ‘Into the North Woods’, could very well be a celebration of life’s constantly shifting circumstances. Its guitars gallop forward with bursts of energy, creating an undeniable sense of victory through its atmosphere. At its core, the album is really about which direction to turn in the midst of the changes happening all around us, and it’s the acceptance of this change that Austin Lunn uses to create such an honest and energetic tone throughout the album. Oh, and it ***ing slays, so there’s that.

Upon hearing Autumn Eternal in its glorious entirety, one thing is apparent – Lunn has rarely sounded this determined and passionate about his music. Roads of the North was an excellent step up from the ambitious yet indistinct Kentucky, but several songs tended to overstay their welcome. On the 6th full length from the impressively prolific musician, this isn’t an issue in the slightest. Every single note and chord struck in the album feels as though it belongs to something much grander, as Lunn plants a picture of an autumn landscape in our minds with a multitude of influences from classical to shoegaze.

Lunn’s ability to mix these various genres without the end result sounding awkward or out of place is truly astounding. This is especially true on the complete beast of a track ‘Sleep to the Sound of the Waves Crashing”, one of the most ambitious and intimidating songs of Lunn’s illustrious career. The song mashes together several moods, but it’s the delicate use of the cello in its second half that really allows it to flourish into something special. Following the poignant classical influences the track suddenly switches gears and transforms into an intimidating, borderline apocalyptic mountain of riffs and angry screams. The contrasting tones throughout the song give it a powerful sense of longevity, and there’s something new to uncover upon each listen. Unfortunately, the same can’t be said about every track here.

Although Autumn Eternal flows together smoothly from start to finish, it’s perhaps a bit too cohesive for its own good at times. On one hand, the album is instantly gratifying, but on the other, a sense of familiarity between several tracks cause the overall experience to be slightly less rewarding. In other words, the album’s cohesion is not only its strength, but also its only real weakness. It’s highly impressive from the get-go, but leaves the more daring listener searching for more upon repeated listens. However, despite the album losing some of its initial steam, Autumn Eternal is another solid and satisfying release from a determined Austin Lunn. The fact that he was able to follow up “Roads” so diligently and quickly is an accomplishment in itself, but the album’s structure and focus work together to craft perhaps his most accessible release to date. It’s not an album that takes much effort to get into, which makes it an enjoyable metal release for just about any fan of the genre, and an easy recommendation to those not well versed in metal.

Autumn Eternal gives off a positive vibe that proves to be as infectious as Lunn’s finest work. He never seems to make the same album twice, and he has continued this tradition with his victorious new effort. It’s an oddly uplifting album --one that reminds us with its consistent energy and passion that change isn’t always such a bad thing.



Recent reviews by this author
Circuit Des Yeux Reaching For IndigoNadia Reid Preservation
Phoebe Bridgers Stranger in the AlpsSannhet So Numb
The Lurking Fear Out Of The Voiceless GraveNeun Welten The Sea I'm Diving In

user ratings (332)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Essence (4.5)
a stellar black metal record that stands as some of Panopticon's finest work...


Comments:Add a Comment 
oltnabrick
October 21st 2015


35835 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This is the best Panopticon album since Collapse I think.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2015


22699 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was leaning more towards a 4.5 when I first heard this, but the excitement wore off just a tad. Not sure I'm convinced it's better than their last one, but it's at least on par with it for me personally. It's a completely different listening experience than roads is however. feedback is always appreciated



here's a link for those who haven't heard..



https://thetruepanopticon.bandcamp.com/album/autumn-eternal

Digging: Langhorne Slim - Lost At Last, Vol 1

Crysis
Emeritus
October 21st 2015


17288 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

On one hand, the album is instantly gratifying, but on the other, a sense of familiarity between several tracks cause the overall experience to be slightly less rewarding.




This is what's irking me the most about this. Roads was really varied, this is more familiar. It's good, just not fantastic.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2015


6363 Comments


i remember for a while linking to the bandcamp page never worked for some reason

i think is the best review i've read from you (or at least one of), tho i'd recommend tweaking the ending just a bit. the "change isn't always a bad thing" is a bit cliche, especially given the insight of the remainder of the review. but yeah, some of your track descriptions are vvv nice indeed.

zaruyache
October 21st 2015


17903 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I really need to give this another listen.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2015


16767 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4 | Sound Off

Fantastic review for one of the best albums of the year. This is such a step-up from Kentucky, haven't heard Roads yet.

Digging: Tame Impala - Currents B-Sides & Remixes

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2015


22699 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Crysis, yeah I do agree that roads will probably have a more lasting appeal than this one because of that...I still think this is excellent though, just far from perfect



@Johnny, I appreciate that man. wanted to end the review on a high note but i'll look into editing it a bit later so it doesn't seem too cliche

brainmelter
October 21st 2015


4568 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ooooh yee

Digging: Infester - To the Depths... In Degradation

Essence
October 21st 2015


5838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

you suck

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2015


22699 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cheers Talons



haha didn't mean to steal your thunder essence. I'm actually surprised I submitted the first review for this album. been taking my time on this one. I'm sure you mentioned stuff in your review I left out, so i'll give it a read!

brainmelter
October 21st 2015


4568 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that suks

@essence

emester
October 21st 2015


8181 Comments


Had more fun with Roads as a record but I feel this was the most well constructed record of Lunn's last three albums

Hawks
October 21st 2015


51911 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sweet review bro.

Digging: Swallow the Sun - The Morning Never Came

MistaCrave
October 21st 2015


2475 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Awesome review man. Yeah, this is my favorite of his. I haven't jammed his S/T or Collapse in a while, so I should probably do that just to refresh my memory.

Essence
October 21st 2015


5838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeah i waited a bit to see if anyone would review it and no one did, so i decided to brush off the ole fingers and get to work



Nice jorb n all

Judio!
October 21st 2015


8401 Comments


Oh sweet didn't realize Panopticon had a new album out! Will check soon, cool review Atari.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

god this album rules

PortalofPerfection
October 21st 2015


1991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's good but I think Roads is better still.

feanaro
October 21st 2015


1055 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice review. i really like this, you can totally hear northern Minnesota all over it which is tight. pretty stoked that my 2 favorite BM-ish records this year have come out of this state.

MistaCrave
October 21st 2015


2475 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This album does give off a very northern Minnesota type vibe. Possibly even more of a western New Hampshire vibe. lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy