Bosse-de-Nage
All Fours


4.0
excellent

Review

by TheSpirit CONTRIBUTOR (135 Reviews)
October 15th, 2015 | 71 replies


Release Date: 04/14/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: on your knees

I'm not sure what's in San Francisco's water supply, but lets hope people keep on drinking it; we need more post-black metal bands like Bosse-De-Nage. The shadow-y counterpart to the scene darlings Deafheaven, BDN offer a similar onslaught of screamo-tinged black metal, unhinged and ready to fly off the rails at any given moment. It may seem lazy to compare BDN to Deafheaven - apparently no post-black metal band these days can escape them- but both these bands come from the same hometown, from the same scene, share influences, and honestly, sound very similar. The difference" Listening to Deafheaven is like staring into the sun; listening to Bosse-De-Nage is like staring into an abyss.

All Fours is BDN's fourth release, and though I haven't listened to any of their prior material, it's not hard to see why they are an up-and-comer in the USBM scene. Their music comes through the speaker like a shot of adrenaline - urgent, volatile, explosive. Lead-off salvo "At Night" propels you right into the fray. It's brimming with a spontaneous energy so sorely missed within modern black metal. It's like even the band themselves don't even know what's coming next; from stoic walls of white noise to colorfully impassioned riffage, the band traverses the lines between BM and screamo so frequently and swiftly it's hard to tell where one ends and another begins. This is the first of many tracks that will leave you wondering whether these two genres were meant to be together all along.

Though the Deafheaven comparisons are certainly warranted - the swirling melodies in "A Subtle Change" being the best example of their like-minded approach- there is a terrifying darkness that seeps from every pore of All Fours. Vocalist B. makes damn sure of that. His macabre poetry is delivered in the form of gravelly howl, unrestrained and from the gut. It's borderline psychotic, and it's that raw and frustrated feeling that grounds this album firmly in black metal territory. While bright at times, the music certainly reflects his seething hatred for everything. In "The Industry of Distance" his haunting narrative of rejection, isolation, and death is met with music that seems to be racing towards its demise just as frantically as the character of his tale.

Though their combination of skramz and black metal isn't particularly innovative, Bosse-De-Nage play with such revitalizing liveliness, every moment of this album feels like a venture into untreaded territory. Post-black metal -and to a greater extent, black metal - needs more bands like this. Slowly, but surely black metal has allowed outside influences to creep their way into its foundation, and honestly, it seems like a saving grace for a style of music that limits itself to such a rigid structure. Bosse-De-Nage are yet another example of how forward-thinking black metal continues to keep black metal from becoming stagnant. All Fours is one of black metal's powerhouse records in 2015, and it will bring you to your knees.



Recent reviews by this author
With the End in Mind Unraveling; ArisingLes Discrets Virée Nocturne
The Black Twilight Circle Tliltic TlapoyauakBook Of Sand Occult Anarchist Propaganda
Xavlegbmaofffassssit.... GoreTevlo/Veela Icy Love EP

user ratings (122)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2015


21997 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I had to post this quickly, so any CC would be very appreciated. I've been trying to find my voice as a writer lately, so please tell me what you think of review from that standpoint.

zaruyache
October 15th 2015


17903 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

OH hey I guess this means I'm off the hook for reviewing this because I'd been intending to for like six months now eheheh

Artuma
October 15th 2015


29119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'm so glad this got a review and you definitely cover it up well, hard pos. this album is what the genre desperately needed

zaruyache
October 15th 2015


17903 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

you didn't mention Slint at all tho so neg'd

climactic
October 15th 2015


22300 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you havent heard their other stuff? 2 and 3 are great dude

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

listened to a little bit of this when it came out but never finished it. sounded really cool and their debut is great

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2015


21997 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Zaru, I've never listened to slint sooooo...





Also thanks guys! Def planning on checking out their other records

Ovrot
October 15th 2015


13145 Comments


B R A N D O N S C O T T

Pos'd
Cool album mostly

Digging: Verdun - The Eternal Drift's Canticles

zaruyache
October 15th 2015


17903 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

dude you have to at least jam Spiderland to understand why this band is so different from every other post-bm band. Their post-rock passages all ripoff Slint hard but pretty much nobody else does that.

oltnabrick
October 15th 2015


35835 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like this it's good

Psynuts
October 15th 2015


373 Comments


this album is awesome, happy to see this reviewed

Hawks
October 15th 2015


51910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice one Brandon this needed a review so hard.

Digging: Swallow the Sun - The Morning Never Came

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 16th 2015


32190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

This is just behind III in terms of being their best album for me

zaruyache
October 16th 2015


17903 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I think this has a much better/fuller guitar sound than their last album. It sounds a lot stronger and the vocals have a little more of a growl to them to take away from their whininess. Makes it a much better album for me.

Essence
October 16th 2015


5836 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

my man. sick album, sick band, sick review

alienobserver
October 16th 2015


3882 Comments


AAAATTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT
NNNNNNIIIIIIIIIIIIIIGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHTTTTTTTTTTTTTT

Digging: Lil Peep - California Girls

Essence
October 16th 2015


5836 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Gonna add suggestions in this comment:

Throughout the whole of this release, they violently rage like a band with something to prove; and they do.


This sentence doesn't really say anything, it's mostly just superfluous fluff. In fact, removing it makes the next sentence more striking as well.

Lead-off salvo "At Night" propels you right into the fray. It's brimming with a spontaneous energy so sorely missed within black metal.


Would recommend changing this to "Lead-off salvo "At Night" propels you right into the fray, brimming with a spontaneous energy that is so sorely missed within modern black metal.

Unless you think the energy is missing from all black metal that has ever been recorded?

This track and many more will leaving you wondering whether these two genres were meant to be together all along.


I think you could reword this. I think the idea behind it is strong but could be reworded to be more persuasive.

His macabre poetry is delivered in the form of gravelly howl, unrestrained and completely from the gut.


This is just personal preference, but I dislike the word 'completely' here. Not as suggestive as it could be.

And though bright at times, the music certainly reflects his seething hatred for everything.


Should reword this (and don't start a sentence with "And"). Something along the lines of "While All Fours may sound bright or uplifting at times, the music etc. etc.)

Rest looks pretty good. :]



TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
October 16th 2015


21997 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome man, thank you. These changes will definitely make the review stronger, I'll make the edits when I get home from work m/

Essence
October 16th 2015


5836 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

no problem man! :]



have you hit up new panopticon yet?

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
October 16th 2015


21997 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not yet, but I'm seeing the race reviews



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy