Editors
In Dream


2.9
good

Review

by DaveyBoy STAFF
October 6th, 2015 | 42 replies


Release Date: 10/02/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Back-tracking on a back-track… Or just plain confused?

Despite the “derivative” call-outs, English post-punk revivalists Editors have admirably been unwilling to stagnate over their now decade-long career. While the electronic experiment that was 2009’s ‘In This Light and On This Evening’ may have been a leap too far, the quintet appeared to be back on track with the still polarizing 2013 effort ‘The Weight of Your Love’. Falling somewhere in between those two records sound-wise, the band’s self-produced fifth LP ‘In Dream’ doesn’t make a great deal of sense. It’s as if Editors have back-tracked on their previous back-track, forcing listeners to question if the act have their own identity… Or even know their own strengths! Are they simply confused"

Once again leaning towards the electronic spectrum (with a hefty dose of 80s worship), ‘In Dream’ is predominantly concerned with mood-building tension. Many of the tunes here are slow-burners that rely on gloomy, somber atmospherics that border on being classified as darkwave. The main issue is that the majority of these tracks (half of which cross the five minute barrier) either meander along formlessly without any satisfying release, or morph into clichéd and melodramatic refrains such as “Don’t stop believing” (on the Bronski Beat-like ‘Our Love’) and “Loneliness forever” (‘All the Kings’). This is all the more ironic since the album begins with one of Editors’ trademark baffling lyrics: “I boil easier than you, crush my bones into glue, I’m a go-getter”. Then there’s the God-like exclamation of “Salvation” on the pretentious strings-soaked track of the same name, which later includes the nonsensical “Good looking, you’re a unicorn dancing in the flames”.

Far from a write-off, ‘In Dream’ does have its strong points, a fact which only serves to further frustrate. It begins interestingly enough, with the methodical unravelling of ‘No Harm’, a tune in which front-man Tom Smith impressively showcases his matured versatility as a singer; segueing between his strikingly distinctive baritone and surprisingly effective falsetto with greater know-how. Piano-driven, guitar-inclusive highlight ‘Ocean of Night’ immediately follows, one of a handful of tracks which enlists Slowdive’s Rachel Goswell for backing vocals to good effect… It’s just a shame that her co-lead turn on ‘The Law’ isn’t made more of. Elsewhere, single ‘Life Is a Fear’ may be the poppiest offering here, while the sprawling – if repetitive - near eight minute closer ‘Marching Orders’ approaches “epic” status by actually building up to something.

With the majority of the band’s fans split into separate camps over their previous two releases, ‘In Dream’ will not only further segregate their followers, but also confound them. There’s a fine line between tension-creating unpredictability and bemusing indifference… A line which Editors have regrettably crossed at some stage of their past six years of existence. The fifty-one minute long ‘In Dream’ may not be a poor album per se, and it’s actually rather cohesive… Unfortunately, it’s an LP which simply lacks reward… Both for listeners and, ultimately, the band.

Recommended Tracks: Ocean of Night, Marching Orders & Life Is a Fear.




Recent reviews by this author
Alessia Cara Know-It-AllBe The Wolf Imago
Marianas Trench AstoriaState Champs Around the World and Back
Meg Myers SorryMetric Pagans In Vegas
user ratings (65)
Chart.
2.9
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 6th 2015


22455 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

I'm pretty sure Colonel Kurtz is singing "SALVATION" on that album cover!



He may say it like a million times, but I can't tell if Smith is saying "Don't stop believing" or "Don't start believing" (or alternating) on 'Our Love'. Someone help me out.





bloc
October 6th 2015


44429 Comments


Knew this would be your review. Thought this album sucked.

Only ever liked their first album, and even then it was all about All Sparks and Munich.

Digging: Beastmilk - Climax

SmileNerd
October 6th 2015


495 Comments


Great review! Gonna jam this today.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 6th 2015


22455 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

I actually prefer the highlights of their 2nd LP best, but I think you're in the majority bloc.



It's gonna be interesting to see what this ends up averaging around here. I can see a few people liking it a fair bit, but I just can't see many rating it highly.

Parallels
October 7th 2015


8858 Comments


their first album was (and is) so good, it seems like they just got lucky with their songwriting there at the start and i cant get into any of their albums past it. i guess ill try this

VanPelt
October 7th 2015


25 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I thought their last LP was actually pretty good and relied on their strong sides as a band, but this one feels completely empty for some reason. Even though I actually loved "In this Light..." for its highlights, In Dream does not come anywhere close despite the similar sound. It goes on for 50 minutes and I only vaguely remember 3 or 4 songs.

Parallels
October 7th 2015


8858 Comments


hmmm ill give it all a second chance

VanPelt
October 7th 2015


25 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

As much as I love giving a spin to the first two albums, they both utilise the same tricks for the most part which gets old fast. On TWOYL guitars are far from dominant and many songs are very bass-driven with great vocal harmonies.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 7th 2015


22455 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

Almost totally agree with VanPelt... Apart from only really liking 'Papillion' from 'ITL&OtE'.

henryChinaski
October 7th 2015


3883 Comments


Oh had no idea they have a new album coming out. I never really got into their last record and I don't remember all too much from it either. I'll give this one a try though. Nice write-up!

Digging: Kiasmos - Blurred EP

VanPelt
October 7th 2015


25 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

To be fair, I often heard ITL&OtE being criticized for poor lyrics, but that's where us non-native English speakers get a bonus - it's easy to just filter the words out!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 7th 2015


22455 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

Thanks hC. I'm not predicting anything about anyone re: whether they will like this or not.



LOL VanPelt. So you must really like Kesha & Co. then. ;-)

JJKeys
October 7th 2015


800 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No Harm is one of Editors' most interesting tracks and maybe even on of my fav songs of the year - the rest is pretty acceptable though, nothing spectacular, nothing Back Room-tier

VanPelt
October 7th 2015


25 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha, DaveyBoy, thankfully, it's not like that! It's just that bad lyrics must be REALLY bad for me to dislike a band on these grounds alone.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 7th 2015


22455 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

I was actually watching the season premiere of 'The Blacklist' yesterday & what pops up at the end: 'No Harm'.

osmark86
October 8th 2015


5540 Comments


haven't really bothered with this band since I bought their first album. some great tunes every now and then but nothing all too exciting to show for. I doubt this is any different and judging by this review even more so.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2015


22455 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

Yep, that's pretty much the case again.

osmark86
October 8th 2015


5540 Comments


bit of a shame really. I think they should have gone more in the post-punk direction and fully embraced experimentation. would have made them a pretty interesting band instead of the flat NME type band they've never grown out of being.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2015


22455 Comments

Album Rating: 2.9

Tbh, they should go in any direction... Just stop flip-flopping back & forth.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
October 8th 2015


13296 Comments


always thought this band would eventually get massive, i was mistaken

Digging: Bauhaus - In the Flat Field



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy