Led Zeppelin
In Through the Out Door


4.0
excellent

Review

by JohnXDoesn't USER (97 Reviews)
October 6th, 2015 | 20 replies


Release Date: 1979 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I love me some organ. The musical kind, I mean...

This album has only six songs so its gonna be easy to review. I am reviewing this album because it was mentioned in some comments and now I have to comment. On this album.

Oh wait, it has seven songs. But I can't remember the last one so I'm only gonna review six of 'em. Thats like one side of an album when albums had sides. So this should be fast.

Hot Dog is a twangy Texas Elvis inspired romp that has a funny vocal by Robert Plant and a thick sounding guitar riff by JP. It's a kick in the pants and makes me giggle. It will make you giggle, too. Their is also a song called All Of My Love that is one of the more lovely ballads Led Zep has ever done. In fact it might be the only ballad Led Zep has ever done. I mean they did slow songs before, and softer ones. But this tune could have been recorded by Christopher God Damn Cross and no one would have thought twice about it. It has very lush keyboards and is sweetly melancholy. Great song, great single.

Another thing about this album is it's just a great record. It sounds good, it sounds consistent, and it sounds like Led Zeppelin / not Led Zeppelin. A song called In The Evening gets things going and it's the sound of 10 million stoners waiting to rock after the somewhat disappointing Presence album, but the ROCK never quite comes. I mean Presence followed Physical Graffiti so the band could have shat out a 24 karat gold brick and still disappointed, and so for some fans the release of In Through The Out Door after Presence was a double whammy of disappointment. I mean Southbound Suarez" Really" Where are we, south of Mexico or something" But the piano is rockin' the cigars are blazin', and JPJ is playing piano like a guy smoking some good meth. If they smoked meth back then. But whatever the case it's fun and raucous and makes me want to shake my maracas in a big colorful hat.

There is a song that refers to a carousel but I don't remember how to spell it. Carouselamba or something" Anywho this song is epic Zep without epic guitar. Is that possible" Of course! This is the sound of Jimmy Page in the bathroom shooting up while the rest of the band record without him on the down low. And its pretty damn good. And when Jimmy came out of the bathroom he was high enough to lay down some pretty damn tasty pickin' and grinning. Honestly I don't care much for long songs beyond a handful in history. And this is one of them. If this song were 30 minutes I'd still listen to it and most likely wish it were 40 minutes. This song sounds like a carousel and the music resembles the sort you might hear while riding a fake plastic horse round 'n round. It sounds like a carnival. I like carnivals.

And let me not forget Fool In The Rain. This is a tuneful pop song yet somehow very Zep. I could hear this track fitting somewhere on Houses Of The Holy next to The Crunge or something. It's got a shuffling beat that is dominated by the superb drumming of JB and a whistle right before the bridge where the band takes flight like some bastard Cuban rock band at Ricky Ricardo's Tropicana Night Club, until it settles back into a tight groove and some great fuzz tone guitar by the once great Jimmy Page. But not to worry, he'd be great again. Just took him almost 20 years or so to get back.

Anyway that is my review. It's a great 'lil album In Through The Outdoor, and makes me wonder if the title is a reference to anal sex" But that's something I don't want to know, I just want to keep wondering. Ah yes, the mystery of rock 'n roll. This album is full of that mystery. And you can shake your ass to it. And you can't beat that for a buck or two or three.



Recent reviews by this author
The Replacements TimLone Justice Lone Justice
Paul Westerberg EventuallyVan Halen Diver Down
Big Country The SeerThe Replacements Pleased To Meet Me
user ratings (1294)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Bron-Yr-Aur (4)
...

SethPutnam (4.5)
Led Zeppelin's massively underrated swan song...

Rocksta71 (3.5)
...

FloydZepp4ever (4)
Rising from the ashes like a phoenix only to crash and burn a year later....


Comments:Add a Comment 
ArsMoriendi
October 6th 2015


22059 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Terrible review summary, good rating, will read the rest of this later.

Digging: Baths - Romaplasm

Veldin
October 6th 2015


2981 Comments


For my recent birthday, my dad gave me a mint condition original vinyl of this.

JohnXDoesn't
October 6th 2015


1354 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh save your time, arsmoriendi. the review is like the summary but much longer so just stick with the rating part



its a 4 for sure



i gotta go to sleep. goodnight everyone. or good day. it don't matter when you been up all night and gotta get up at night again

JohnXDoesn't
October 6th 2015


1354 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh vinyl is nice. this record sounds great on vinyl, thats for sure. all those great sounds meld really well on vinyl

IHateRadiohead
October 6th 2015


342 Comments


"Oh wait, it has seven songs. But I can't remember the last one so I'm only gonna review six of 'em. Thats like one side of an album when albums had sides. So this should be fast."

Never have I negged that fast.

Parallels
October 6th 2015


8858 Comments


>negging reviews because you dont like the authors writing style

ArsMoriendi
October 6th 2015


22059 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Soooo I read it anyway and:



"Oh wait, it has seven songs. But I can't remember the last one so I'm only gonna review six of 'em. Thats like one side of an album when albums had sides. So this should be fast." "I mean Southbound Suarez? Really? Where are we, south of Mexico or something?" "Their is a song that refers to a carousel but I don't remember how to spell it".



I neg'd it because this review reads like he doesn't know enough about the album to review it... (also he said "their "when he meant "there.")



"the superb drumming of JB" "and JPJ is playing piano like a guy smoking some good meth."



And he assumes you already know who John Paul Jones and John Bonham are, which is pretty bad. You're supposed to act like the reader is walking into this with 0 knowledge of the artist.



"Anyway that is my review. It's a great 'lil album In Through The Outdoor"



It's like English 101 to not talk about the fact that you're writing a review in the review...



It was annoying to read and overall just looks like he half-assed it. Sorry :/ just felt like giving my reasons. Hope I didn't come off as mean.

wham49
October 6th 2015


3620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you butchered 2 zep albums, "somewhat disappointing Presence album", I think Presence is one of their better albums maybe 4-5 on the list



johnnyx, everything sounds better on vinyl, and as a long time collector, don't get the new releases, find the originals, much more fun, and have that nice warm sound, new ones although better in recent years, sound like cd put to vinyl

e210013
October 7th 2015


1585 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Review Summary: I love me some organ. The musical kind, I mean..."

Is this a real summary of a review?

"This album has only six songs so its gonna be easy to review. Oh wait, it has seven songs. But I can't remember the last one so I'm only gonna review six of 'em."

"There is a song that refers to a carousel but I don't remember how to spell it. Carouselamba or something?"

Do you prepared yourself to do the review?

"Anyway that is my review. It's a great 'lil album In Through The Outdoor, and makes me wonder if the title is a reference to anal sex? But that's something I don't want to know, I just want to keep wondering. Ah yes, the mystery of rock 'n roll. This album is full of that mystery. And you can shake your ass to it. And you can't beat that for a buck or two or three."

Is this the kind of a conclusion of a real review?

Sincerely, if this your review, I really don't like it.

JohnXDoesn't
October 7th 2015


1354 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i like this review. its a review. i likes it because apparently if you don't like this album you don't like the review because i like the album. and if you like the album you don't like the review because i am honest about the album and the way it and Presence were received and perceived at the time of release. and if you just don't like the review because it does not live up to the high standards set by sputnikmusic, well, reviewing standards and sputnikmusic are two things which will never meet



so i win the trifecta, here



don't like the album=don't like the review

like the album=don't like the review

don't like the review=don't like the review



no small feat, there. i should get a prize or something =]



ArsMoriendi
October 7th 2015


22059 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"and if you like the album you don't like the review because i am honest about the album and the way it and Presence were received and perceived at the time of release. "



I don't like it because it reads as though you didn't do your research, expected you to know all about Led Zeppelin beforehand anyway, and is riddled with poorly written sentences and grammatical errors.



It's not we're all saying "lol it sucks balls" We're actually explaining why we don't like it and what you can do to improve. Try taking the criticism instead of rejecting it, it'll help your reviews in the future.

TheSonomaDude
October 7th 2015


5658 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is pretty sad.

IHateRadiohead
October 7th 2015


342 Comments


Yeah, it's a pretty sad album.

TheSonomaDude
October 7th 2015


5658 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well that too...

TheIntruder
October 8th 2015


305 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, it's pretty sad to the album and to the band too.

JohnXDoesn't
October 8th 2015


1354 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so who likes this album and why? i think its a fun little ditty

wham49
October 8th 2015


3620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like the later years Zep, alittle less blues based, with some experimentation, they just know how to groove, actually I like the synch song they have on here, can't remember the title, they use it tastefully, plus how do you not like Fool in the Rain and In the Evening, they just have a thick sound, also really like Presence

JohnXDoesn't
October 8th 2015


1354 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Presence just never did it for me. for me it sounds like a zep "jam" album. like the band is just stretching it out. its hasn't got the solid songwriting of any zep album that came before, really. lets not forget about songwriting. its this album that led to in through the outdoor which i thought breathed needed new life into the band after Presence. Presence is not terrible, but to my ears it sounds like the end of something. and as it turns out it was



hey how about this



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UoMStiJ5opM

JohnXDoesn't
October 8th 2015


1354 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i like III and Song Remains The Same. and IV is fairly amazing, too. Physical Graffiti also has some great songs.



oh and i like this one reviewed a lot, too. III, Song, ITTOD, and IV with honorable mention to PG

wham49
October 8th 2015


3620 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"sounds Like a Zep jam Album"



That is exactly why I like it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy