George Clanton
100% Electronica


4.5
superb

Review

by SimpleM USER (13 Reviews)
October 3rd, 2015 | 962 replies


Release Date: 09/25/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A fantastic album showing all the glory of the 80's and 90's, this album is one of the best electronic albums of the year.

You might be wondering who this George fellow is, it seems like he came out of the blue and just started delivering sounds that he wanted to hear, but the fact is he's been doing music for a while under the name ESPRIT 空想 long before he arrived.

With the genre vaporwave growing more and more into popularity, a artist by the name of ESPRIT 空想 stood out in a genre that was becoming stagnant. Like George, many vaporwave fans saw the genre declining in ideas music wise, as a vast majority of users on bandcamp started running the genre down by making lazy, uninspired tracks by just slowing songs down, and basically not having any talent to offer whatsoever in the genre; so George decided to do something about it. Thus ESPRIT 空想 was born, creating unique sounds in the vaporwave genre all with mostly no samples, and exploring the idea of the genre even further with albums such as "virtua.zip", showcasing all the nostalgia filled wonder that the genre is so well known for. While doing ESPRIT 空想, George moved to other side projects under the name Mirror Kisses, releasing two great synthpop albums that is very reminiscent of his main work, with the exception of him singing on a lot of the material. After Mirror Kisses, he decided to drop the Mirror Kisses moniker and decided to make music under his full name, which comes to this album.

100% Electronica is a satisfying return to the sounds he was doing with Mirror Kisses, but unlike that project, his sound has matured a lot since then with the first track blowing you away with sounds reminiscent of new wave, chillwave, synthpop, and vaporwave all combined into jams that can only be heard in the digital age. Clanton seems to have a knack for using a lot of the same sounds in his work, but he uses them so clever and uniquely you can hardly distinguish the same sound you've just heard from another track. The album is heavily backed by Clanton's raunchy, charismatic voice, taking lessons from that of The Cure's Robert Smith. His voice works well with his instrumentation, providing a dark and eerie, yet fun experience that echoes (literally) on almost every track. The lyrics are also great as well, With the track "Wonder Gently" taking clever shots of the vaporwave genre, and catchy lyrics that you'll be sure to sing along to.

In conclusion, Clanton does a fantastic job satisfying veteran listeners of vaporwave, electronic fans, and synthpop fans without alienating anyone else. This album is accessible, but not in a way where it outshines the music. It's abrasive, dark, catchy, and comical at times. If you're a fan of 80's synthpop, vaporwave, or chillwave type music, you'll be sure to enjoy this as George Clanton has you covered.



Recent reviews by this author
Goddamned Animals My Second Cult SuicideAdult Jazz Earings Off!
CVN MattersBirth Of Joy Get Well
Wet Don't YouMiley Cyrus Miley Cyrus and Her Dead Petz
user ratings (129)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
SimpleM
October 3rd 2015


108 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Stream his album and download it for free here: https://100pelectronica.bandcamp.com/

LordePots
October 3rd 2015


38497 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this dude looks like that psycho shooter kid

Digging: Blondes - Warmth

Cygnatti
October 3rd 2015


32194 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lmao

Digging: Ildjarn - Strength and Anger

JamieCTA
October 21st 2015


271 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

a friend recommended this to me and i checked it out last night on a whim and I really enjoy it. Probably a 3.7 for me. It is pretty 'samey' but it's one of those records where you kind of appreciate the same-ness: you're listening and suddenly realize you're halfway through the album and even though it all sounded similar you enjoyed it the whole time.Glad to see someone covered it here tho. gg.

JamieCTA
October 22nd 2015


271 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

actually the more i listen to this, the more it gets stuck in my head and the more i want to listen. easy 4.0.

LordePots
November 10th 2015


38497 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this is the best of the year of what i can only describe as that genre that sounds like what people in the 80's thought dystopian futures sounded like as voiced through a synthesizer

LordePots
November 10th 2015


38497 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Srsly this is making a solid case for my electronic aoty. The final track also making a solid case for my soty

wtferrothorn
Contributing Reviewer
November 10th 2015


5779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

on my first listen, not really feeling it too much. the last track is pretty dope tho agreed

LordePots
November 10th 2015


38497 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

keep listening bud ive listened to this like 5 times now and its already cracked my top 10 2015

LordePots
November 10th 2015


38497 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

but again, i really love 80's and 80's inspired synth music, there is something so optimistically nostalgic about it in this very forward thinking way. so dystopian yet so infectiously positive.

wtferrothorn
Contributing Reviewer
November 10th 2015


5779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea, I'm planning on giving it lots of attention. Seems like a record that could completely enrapture me in its atmosphere, given the right time.

LordePots
November 10th 2015


38497 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i hope so cuz its pretty much the greatest thing of all time ever

wtferrothorn
Contributing Reviewer
November 10th 2015


5779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's really interesting to see this wave of vaporwave artists departing from that scene and making a name for themselves outside of it. Seems to going for the better too; I loved Saint Pepsi's debut record as Skylar Spence. He definitely went in a much poppier direction than this, but both of these guys seem to be doing great at mixing their roots with their new music.

LordePots
November 10th 2015


38497 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i refuse to call this vaporwave tbh. and chillwave is a stupid ass tag too so im settling for just leaving it as modern 80's inspired synth pop/new wave through an electronic lens or possibly just synth bullshit.

LotusFlower
November 10th 2015


12002 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

So this is really good. I like all the new wave and electronica acts you can hear in this. This is gonna screw over my top 10 big time.

LordePots
November 10th 2015


38497 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i know right? i thought i had mine down. funny thing is i was literally working on assembling a rough outline of my year end list when i put this on and by the end i was like "...well fuck..."

wtferrothorn
Contributing Reviewer
November 10th 2015


5779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Potsy Not really saying this is vaporwave though. I just mean that there are subtle hints of his roots within this, but he's able to separate himself from it and form his own sound.

LordePots
November 10th 2015


38497 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

nah its fine it is definitely vaporwave i just hate admitting it.

wtferrothorn
Contributing Reviewer
November 10th 2015


5779 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Besides that, good news is that I'm already digging this more on my 2nd listen

LordePots
November 10th 2015


38497 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

this kind of music can take the back seat and become just enjoyable background music pretty easily, not that thats a bad thing, but when u engage in it its like oh wow this is actually something else



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy