Fates Warning
No Exit


4.5
superb

Review

by sonictheplumber USER (115 Reviews)
October 2nd, 2015 | 24 replies


Release Date: 1988 | Tracklist


Power. Some can be trusted with it. Some can't. Those of us who are scholars of history, students of time - look back upon the events that have made up our great nation's history. Ups and downs. Overs and outs. Imperialism and heroism. Freedom and slavery. Tyranny and marijuana. Take the red pill or the blue pill. Ying and yong. The prince and the pauper. Should we choose democracy or just Dan Flemingoti once described America as "a juxtaposition of souls fighting for air." There was a time when kids were allowed to play outside. There was a time when anyone could drink beer and drive a car. There was a time when being an American meant something. The name alone commanded a whole host of emotions, but alas, time does stand still - it keeps going. Going, going, going. Erosion is one of the few mainstays this world has to offer, along with death and taxes, as the old saying goes. But there is indeed another constant. This is a long lasting American tradition that gets sadly overlooked in our textbooks. That constant is Fates Warning.

No Exit brings in heavy-hitter vocalist Ray Alder for this one. John Arch is surely missed, but Alder is amazing and demonstrates the type of power I discussed earlier. Many of us have power within. We must unlock it. It is not as easy as it sounds. This isn't the house key that your mother gives you so you can let yourself in when the short bus drops your weak ass off from a day of swirlies at school. It's not a big foam key that doesn't even open anything. It's the key to life. And this isn't some Chuck E. Cheese prize. One must work for the key. Ray Alder? He not only has worked for the key - he has become the key. That's right - Ray Alder is the key that Fates Warning used. He is the key.



Recent reviews by this author
Ed Wynne Shimmer Into NatureZZ Top Tres Hombres
Beherit Seventh Blasphemy (Demo)Johnny Winter Live Johnny Winter And
Celtic Frost Emperor's ReturnWatchtower Energetic Disassembly
user ratings (293)
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Parallels (4)
Pushing the Progressive Envelope, "No Exit" is one of progressive metal's finest moments....

iceman3019 (4.5)
...

PsychicChris (3.5)
Charging blindly into the future...

matthew36 (3)
Do not enter...


Comments:Add a Comment 
ksoflas
October 2nd 2015


1301 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

WTF review man.

Good one.

Titan
October 2nd 2015


20471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

interesting write up and entertaining as always nonetheless

LaughingSkull
October 2nd 2015


621 Comments


man, I don't know... I typically like reviews that are more on the essayic/poetic, rather than the analytical side, but you really didn't say anything about the album...

There's also some errors: So, does time stand still or not? It sounds like you meant to say "doesn't".

Titan
October 2nd 2015


20471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

all about style man....

Geadom
October 2nd 2015


3759 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what the fuck indeed

KILL
October 2nd 2015


81241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha

KILL
October 2nd 2015


81241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pos if you support metal

elcrawfodor
October 2nd 2015


1264 Comments


Not really sure what's being said here but album is m/ so pos

KILL
October 2nd 2015


81241 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dude post this on rush forums

TheCrocodile
October 2nd 2015


2925 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

haha what is this I love it.

Ocean of Noise
October 2nd 2015


10921 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

great choice for a review, such an amazing band

Digging: Antimatter - Black Market Enlightenment

teamster
October 3rd 2015


4922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

WTF did I just read, but hey, its a Fates Warning "review" so have a POS.

Digging: The Basement Paintings - Antipodes

Sunnyvale
October 3rd 2015


1483 Comments


"But there is indeed another constant. This is a long lasting American tradition that gets sadly overlooked in our textbooks. That constant is Fates Warning."

Ha, great review.

sonictheplumber
October 4th 2015


11027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

dude i cant believe this got 6 pos i forgot i wrote this shit

sonictheplumber
October 4th 2015


11027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

god i love this fuckin band cant believe i missed their 2013 show in atl

sonictheplumber
October 4th 2015


11027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

god im cringin at this review

IHateRadiohead
October 4th 2015


342 Comments


Two days ago you was so young and naive.

sonictheplumber
October 4th 2015


11027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ive changed a lot

Sunnyvale
October 4th 2015


1483 Comments


Stay golden, Ponyboy

sonictheplumber
July 22nd 2018


11027 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sup



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy