No Devotion
Permanence


4.5
superb

Review

by Rowan5215 STAFF
October 1st, 2015 | 177 replies


Release Date: 09/25/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: No Devo(lu)tion

16 years. Almost as long as I've been alive. Definitely as long as my memory stretches back. It's also how long it's been since a depressed, angry teenager first screamed out in that flat voice, toneless but so far from emotionless: “we heard Ian Curtis kill himself again”. Since that record a lot has changed for Geoff Rickly; he tends to steal Joy Division lyrics a lot less, he's become more confident, more clever, and more willing to tackle complex metaphors and topics head on. Two things haven't changed though – his shameless love and fascination of Ian Curtis plus peers in the early post-punk scene, and his complex lyrical relationship with real life tragedies, be it his own or those of his new band members.

One of the most striking comments he made in his track-by-track analysis of Permanence was that he had finally learnt how to express himself directly, rather than hiding behind layers of metaphor and simile. Not only was this a surprising comment given the quality of his lyrical dexterity in Thursday – check out “Asleep in the Chapel” to see what I mean – it was also dead wrong. What he was doing was re-learning. Re-discovering a little of the naive, gap-toothed kid who once screamed his lungs out on Full Collapse and kicked off one of the most exciting musical forces of the 21st century in the process.

On Permanence Rickly sounds more mature and self-assured than ever before. From his shaky, raw early days to the vicious social satire of United Nations to now and Permanence seems to dip its finger into every pie. It runs the gamut of Rickly's repertoire, from clever dual gunning cliches (“Where's the silver lining in the black shadows of your eyes"”) to telling it how it is (“Why can't I be with you"”) to vivid, lucid imagery. You can easily write off the furious “Death Rattle” as the sound of “Lostprophets smashing all their old records” as Rickly puts it, but it also plays a role in the larger story of the album expressing complete righteous anger at the inability to communicate with a partner. The gorgeous “Night Drive” is the standout, using the well-worn night drive metaphor to simultaneously express the emotional and sexual frustration of a break-up while illustrating the dangers of chasing pleasures without realising how far away the chase is leading you. Plus, you know, night drives are awesome. It's ironic; No Devotion spend so much time hidden behind layers of dreamy, saturated haze and yet still feel so totally open.

We end on one last metaphor with the somber but hopeful “Grand Central”. Our protagonist stands at the train station of his memories (I wonder if they have a Maccas") contemplating whether to head into his future or stay stuck in the past. We never really arrive at the final decision, and in a conventional sense it's a cliffhanger, but it's also a perfect summation of the album as a whole. Run away from your tragedy or confront it head-on, but you'll never truly move on; it will always be a part of you, but it doesn't have to be all of what you are.



Recent reviews by this author
Tyler, the Creator IGORThe National I Am Easy to Find
Kevin Abstract ARIZONA BABYAnderson .Paak Ventura
Simple Creatures Strange LoveTenement Predatory Headlights
user ratings (163)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 1st 2015


41804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

finally smashed this one out, enjoy

Digging: Tyler, the Creator - Igor

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 1st 2015


41804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is my AOTY probably so yea I would give it a whirl man



thanks man I had half of it done and then just shut down in the ol' brain

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 1st 2015


41804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

brains are fickle things

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2015


14279 Comments


good review brooo, posd

Digging: xRepentancex - The Sickness of Eden

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 1st 2015


41804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

cheers lad

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 1st 2015


41804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

don't be mad cos you're old

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 1st 2015


41804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ahh good times and great arthritis

Space Jester
October 1st 2015


6300 Comments


Good review, I'm really loving this album. Might be a good starting point for post-punk, which I haven't delved into much yet.

Hopelust
October 1st 2015


3424 Comments


Hey Rowan: great review man. If I were to change anything though, I'd speak a little more of how the music sounds, as I was largely taken aback by my first spin of this. Wasn't what I was expecting in the slightest.

Finally we can all start talking about this album! I was wondering when someone was going to post a review.

mgeorge7
October 1st 2015


78 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nice review, man. Great job. Just a few grammatical issues though:



"...he tends to steal Joy Division lyrics a lot less, he's been become more confident..."

Get rid of the word been in that phrase.



"You can easily write off the furious “Death Rattle” off as the sound of...."

One of those off's needs to be deleted--either one will work.



I am absolutely loving this album so far, though. Definitely album of the year for me up to this point. Not sure what could dethrone it either.



Does anyone have any recommendations for stuff that sounds similar to this?



Sinternet
October 1st 2015


19398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Surprisingly great. Not enough to get in my top 10 though.

Digging: Peggy Gou - Moment

xAshtrayux
October 1st 2015


233 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I want to love this record as much. Need to give it quite a few more spins.

BeeRyan
October 1st 2015


1313 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I wanted to like this a little more than I did, but tracks 2, 8, 9, 10 were really incredibly. There are just a lot of songs i don't think work too well =/

Hopelust
October 1st 2015


3424 Comments


I think almost every song is noteworthy. Night drive for sure, as the review says. I also found 10,000 summers to be quite an entrancing tune. Grabbed my attention from surfing sputnik almost immediately.

mgeorge7
October 1st 2015


78 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

What's your rating, Hopelust?

Snake.
October 1st 2015


21663 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i loathed their first single



would i still enjoy this tho?

BeeRyan
October 1st 2015


1313 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

10,000 summers is probably my least favorite, really don't like that track.



night drive is probs the best tho

TheWrenKing
October 1st 2015


1696 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

I have a feeling i'll hate this, we'll see

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
October 1st 2015


41804 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Hopelust fair point man this is more of a "review Rickly's lyrics with a couple references to the actual songs thrown in" lol



@mgeorge thanks for the notes dude

bloc
October 1st 2015


55437 Comments


Surprise of the year probably. Not only did I not know this band existed, but this album rules.

Digging: Artificial Language - Now We Sleep



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy