Mac Miller
GO:OD AM


4.0
excellent

Review

by cryptside USER (76 Reviews)
September 28th, 2015 | 51 replies


Release Date: 09/18/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: GO:OD AM introduces us to a fully-realized Mac Miller; listen or be left behind.

It's nothing less than shocking to compare 2010-era Mac Miller to the present day; his 2014 Faces mixtape was a realization of Miller rejecting past pop sensibilities and embracing near-perfect production and a more introspective lyrical focus. The staggering 24-track behemoth told of drug-induced comas and depression, but more than that it showed how he was teetering on the edge between a rapper that opened his mind with drug experimentation and an addict that just so happens to rap. GO:OD AM presents a somewhat clear-headed Mac, but he hasn't lost a step since last year's release. He deftly combines his ever-improving lyricism with some of the best beats from this year. "Clubhouse" and "When in Rome" are propelled to the most memorable on the album by boasting an impassioned flow and dynamic beat. The best thing about the release is that the lyrics are at the very least entertaining when held up to scrutiny, and at the most pretty goddamned poignant. "Jump" takes inward musings and merges them with an ethereal beat and Mac crooning his own chorus, showing that pretty much everything that he attempts on GO:OD AM ends up meshing very well.

One of the most exciting things about this album is the fact that Miller has made a conscious decision to be the star of the show. While the features are well-executed, Miller shows his songwriting prowess by confidently taking the helm throughout the release. The confidence is key here, especially in standout track "Rush Hour". Miller attaches an infectious chorus of, "The world don't give *** about your loneliness" to a beat that pulses around his incisive verses as well. While there will continue to be naysayers, Miller has ascended what most have expected of him to become one of the most polarizing figures in hip-hop today. GO:OD AM introduces us to a fully-realized Mac Miller; listen or be left behind.



Recent reviews by this author
Eluvium Curious ThingsYoung Thug Slime Season 3
Mac Miller DELUSIONAL THOMASThe Magic Lightnin' Boys The Magic Lightnin' Boys
Blood Gemini Snow SeasonCaina Setter of Unseen Snares
user ratings (218)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
cmaitland421 (4)
Easy Mac with the cheesy raps no more....


Comments:Add a Comment 
cryptside
September 28th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hey guys, long time no see. Missed y'all

guitarded_chuck
September 28th 2015


16724 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

guy has been one of my least favorite artists in the scene for some time not sure ill try this honestly

FreddieDelaney31
September 28th 2015


4915 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

honestly just love this dude now, he only continues to improve

Digging: ITEM - Sad Light

cryptside
September 28th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Understood, chuck. It's one of those artists that tons of people will miss out on because his old stuff sucks so much.

cryptside
September 28th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed wholeheartedly, Freddie. He has gotten so much better.

ShitsofRain
September 28th 2015


8098 Comments


cos hes white g_C?

SharkTooth
September 28th 2015


13855 Comments


Damn haven't seen you in a while, how's life treating you?

JeetJeet
September 28th 2015


5705 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Rush Hour and Break the Law are fucking lethal

Digging: Promethee - Promethee

guitarded_chuck
September 28th 2015


16724 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

no cause his earlier music was literally some of the worst shit my ears have ever encountered



at some point you stop trying

JeetJeet
September 28th 2015


5705 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you're missin out big time Chuck. I hated Mac's early shit too, but lately the guy has been on a roll.

cryptside
September 28th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@shark, just had kind of a crazy time in my life. Things are great now though; will start reviewing more regularly. What about you?



@jeet, rush hour is soooo good.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 28th 2015


23922 Comments


not sure this is something I'd enjoy but I read the review because cryptside. very nicely done, you haven't lost it one bit. welcome back man!

Digging: Pistol Annies - Interstate Gospel

JeetJeet
September 28th 2015


5705 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the most surprising part about this album is how Keef comes through with a new flow Cut the Check.

IHateRadiohead
September 28th 2015


342 Comments


Your reviews make me curious to listen to Mac's newer output. Would you recommend Watching Movies With the Sound Off?

cryptside
September 28th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I would say that Watching Movies was the beginning of him trying something different. Definitely not as good as Delusional Thomas, Faces, or this but worth a listen.

cryptside
September 28th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks Aaron! I really appreciate it!

SharkTooth
September 28th 2015


13855 Comments


"just had kind of a crazy time in my life. Things are great now though; will start reviewing more regularly. What about you?"

I'm good, nice to see you got things under control

SGGreenman
September 28th 2015


1226 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not that I'm completely blown away by this, but it's really refreshing to see an artist, especially in hip hop, continue to improve on himself so consistently. Easily his best work, and it actually makes me excited to see what he's going to be doing in the future.

ElegantElephant
September 28th 2015


1391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

honestly I fux with this

and I DESPISE blue slide park

cryptside
September 28th 2015


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad to see people enjoying this one. It's one of my favorites from this year so far.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy