Lana Del Rey
Honeymoon


3.0
good

Review

by Jordan M. STAFF
September 22nd, 2015 | 115 replies


Release Date: 09/18/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: All the world's a stage.

In conversation with Anupa Mistry, Abel Tesfaye noted the parallels between his own lecherous persona The Weeknd and Lizzy Grant's disaster seeker Lana Del Rey, specifically of how they locate themselves in each other's compositions. Unlike The Weeknd, however, Del Rey's always fought an uphill battle because she plays the lethargic and detached victim in these performances, as opposed to the agent of accountability who caused it all. Comparatively, she's what's left after the chauvinist's purge, made all the more unlikeable for prescribing to a defeatists narrative that audiences generally feel anxious about identifying with.

It's probably not fair, because in the drab wastelands Del Rey inhabits she's just as prone to a vacant majesty as much as she is the sullen plodding she's often accused of. Make no mistakes, Honeymoon is a tiring listen, 65-minutes of exhausting and protracted misery that never really reaches catharsis. It just sort of basks in its own absurd self-loathing, as if to imply Morrissey never really could hate himself quite like this. It's impressively catatonic music punctuated by the occasional upbeat detour, most notable on the immediately dated (yet still undeniably glorious) trap-footed "High By the Beach". But then being upbeat has never been Del Rey's strength, and although we all like to giggle at her self-appointed descriptor as a 'gangster Nancy Sinatra', Honeymoon genuinely succeeds when its narrative doubles down on narcotics and the mechanization of sex. The likes of "Music to Watch Boys to" and "Terrence Loves You" aren't nearly as important or satisfying as the bleak exhibitions of "Art Deco" and the title-track, where Lana Del Rey finally realizes she's too fucked up to care. It's the best move Grant's made for herself since composing "Video Games", because she's opened the door for her next album to be more than just contrarian viewpoints; if we're lucky, it could be the fullest realization of Lana Del Rey yet.

All the world's a stage, and Lizzy Grant is just another player, performer, and portrayer. Although we may anguish over her contrasting sincerity and irony, it's difficult to argue how compelling her contradiction truly is. Overwrote, overlong, and melodramatic to the nth degree, Honeymoon succeeds because it's what we expected: Lana Del Rey doing Lana Del Rey, complete with the faults and the scars. Forget your moralistic pretenses and you might just enjoy it.



Recent reviews by this author
Travis Scott AstroworldDenzel Curry TA13OO
Pusha T DAYTONAPost Malone beerbongs and bentleys
J. Cole K.O.D.Manic Street Preachers Resistance Is Futile
user ratings (303)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
cmaitland421 (4)
"We both know that it's not fashionable to love me"...

Curlyadeux (3.5)
...

LaughingSkull (4)
Rebound!...

BradleyLayne (1.5)
This is another flop from Lana Del Rey, but an ever so modest improvement....


Comments:Add a Comment 
wtferrothorn
September 22nd 2015


5795 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

great review, mindpos. Still not a fan of this album. Just feels too one-noted and bland

TheGreatQ
September 22nd 2015


2703 Comments


That "Music To Watch Boys To" link you gave isn't really it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ddg_K1izcUE

That's the real one.

Digging: My Ticket Home - Unreal

Gyromania
September 22nd 2015


25507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

great album

Tunaboy45
September 22nd 2015


16205 Comments


Never understood the immense hype she got in the first place

Digging: Ghost (SWE) - Prequelle

Pangea
September 22nd 2015


2713 Comments


Haven't heard a single song from this but im sure it is alright

Typhoner
September 22nd 2015


949 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

so far I find this quite unremarkable compared to her other work

ScuroFantasma
Staff Reviewer
September 22nd 2015


11514 Comments


Great review Arcade

Digging: Mortiis - The Grudge

Sinternet
September 22nd 2015


16927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, although I like this album a lot more than other people do evidently.

Digging: Rise Against - The Ghost Note Symphonies, Vol. 1

LaughingSkull
September 22nd 2015


599 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Honeymoon genuinely succeeds when its narrative doubles down on narcotics and the mechanization of sex.




hmm, I think that Honeymoon is the least crass of her albums so far, when it comes to discussing drugs and sex. Except for High by the Beach, most of the songs are about romance and sadness, not so much fucking and addiction.

Tunaboy45
September 22nd 2015


16205 Comments


High On The Beach is so absurd it borders on art

deathschool
September 22nd 2015


22567 Comments


High On the Beach is art because it is music which is a popular form of art or so I've been told**

Digging: Travis Scott - Astroworld

Cayit
September 22nd 2015


12 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Honeymoon is Del Rey's best album and it is for me THE ALBUM OF THE YEAR !

DropdeadWHA
September 22nd 2015


1396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's her best album for sure, really consistent. God knows I tried hits hard.

Gyromania
September 22nd 2015


25507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

honeymoon, god knows i've tried, terrence loves you, art deco (even though the chorus is meh), and blackest day are my picks

hogan900
September 22nd 2015


2752 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Great review as always man! Could never get into this woman, and even with this I just still can't find anything really remarkable.

Sinternet
September 22nd 2015


16927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd have to pick Freak or the Blackest Day as my favourites

LaughingSkull
September 22nd 2015


599 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

art deco (even though the chorus is meh),




haha, I was thinking the same. It sounds like it could have been on BTD or a b-side song.

Gyromania
September 22nd 2015


25507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

isn't it a shame? the verses are excellent and the atmosphere is sublime, but then that chorus kicks in. so frustrating lol

guitarded_chuck
September 22nd 2015


15409 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

go listen to alvvays instead

Sinternet
September 22nd 2015


16927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

* as well



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy