Regarde Les Hommes Tomber
Exile


4.5
superb

Review

by Ignimbrite USER (31 Reviews)
September 15th, 2015 | 34 replies


Release Date: 09/19/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I really don't enjoy studying glacial deposits.

The second album from French act Regarde les Hommes Tomber, Exile, is as close to a perfect marriage of black metal and sludge metal as I've heard in years.

That statement is not without weight. It's been a pretty popular genre combination over the past few years, and groups like Entropia (PL), Inter Arma, and Downfall of Gaia have released some undeniably fantastic music recently. However, never before has this style felt as incredibly seamless as it does on Exile. Blending different styles of metal in this manner often leads to somewhat scattershot, unconsolidated compositions in which a number of jarringly sharp transitions between different atmospheres and styles severely disrupt the flow of the song. To avoid the all-too-common analogies involving salads or blenders or any other kinds of food, think of it in geological terms. On one hand, you have poorly-sorted, unconsolidated sedimentary lithologies like those characteristic of glacial till. Clast sizes range from silt to boulders, roundness is all over the place, and the stuff is so crappy that you have to gather a sample in a bucket: in short, it's a steaming hot mess. On the other hand, certain extrusive igneous rocks manifest as beautifully homogenous blocks of solid dark rock. Looking at a section under a microscope or analyzing its geochemistry may reveal that it is the product of multiple bodies of magma mixing hundreds of kilometers beneath the surface, but the final product is a solid, cohesive thing that's far more than the sum of its parts. Also, you don't need a stupid bucket to sample it.

Thus, Exile is the basalt to other bands' glacial till: you won't be needing any buckets here, folks. All that's required is a sledgehammer and some eye protection. Now, as forced and long-winded as that analogy may have been, I believe that it holds together**. The sophomore effort from Regarde les Hommes Tomber really is as seamless and consistent as the most homogeneous, boring basalt flow I've ever seen in its blend of black metal and sludge metal. The second track, 'A Sheep Among the Wolves," might be the best evidence of this there is. Furious, blast beat-heavy black metal transitions into a skull-crushing drop-tuned riff and then into a brooding atmospheric section and back, and not once does the song feel like it was haphazardly thrown together by inexperienced musicians. Rather, that song – and the rest of Exile – was crafted by a band whose ideas are indisputably matched by their songwriting abilities.

Every influence shines through the album's notably fantastic production without overpowering the others. Are you a fan of the pitch black rage of Hexis" Have you ever marveled at the expansive song structures and atmospherics of early Altar of Plagues" Do the earth-shattering grooves of Thou get you going" Exile has all three – and more – in spades. The guitars are simultaneously buzzsaws and sledgehammers, the bass crunches and crushes, the drums wreck everything in their path, and the vocals are like a beautiful, unholy marriage of the wails of Gris and the impassioned shrieks of Altar of Plagues. It's one of the darkest, well-written, and most unrelenting things I've heard this year, and if you have any affection for any of the styles represented therein you owe it to yourself to give Exile a chance.

**Unlike glacial till.



Recent reviews by this author
Entropia (PL) UfonautGolgatha Somnium Attacca
Strike to Survive Yesterday's NewsRosetta The Anaesthete
Palms PalmsEntropia (PL) Vesper
user ratings (39)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Asdfp277
September 15th 2015


15833 Comments


Have you already submitted the artwork? If you haven't I can do it for you if you don't feel like it

Ignimbrite
September 15th 2015


6227 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

the summary's stupid and the analogy is dumb and I namedrop way too much, but I haven't reviewed anything in over a year and I basically did this to put off studying for an exam so I'm gonna give myself a pass on this one





Digging: Converge - The Dusk in Us

Ignimbrite
September 15th 2015


6227 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@Asdfp I have a couple of times but it hasn't gone through. I just posted in the Meds thread about it, though, so hopefully it'll be fixed soon. Thanks, though!

Asdfp277
September 15th 2015


15833 Comments


You shouldn't try to upload it more than once, otherwise the white square / broken artwork thing appears

No worries >;] and good review, pos'd!

edit: show them this image better, high res pictures crash the system too! >:]
http://41.media.tumblr.com/c5c98591d234b5c7d8ab52b72a0bc25e/tumblr_nuqr52SBDK1s45zkko1_1280.jpg

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2015


6372 Comments


stream - https://rlht.bandcamp.com
also, album is out this year, not last

Ignimbrite
September 15th 2015


6227 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"stream - https://rlht.bandcamp.com

also, album is out this year, not last"



Yeah, I know. I've tried editing that and the tracklist as well. The system does not like me.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
September 15th 2015


6372 Comments


if you go to "edit review" i think you can at least have it show up correctly on the review itself

Ignimbrite
September 15th 2015


6227 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Hey, didn't know that. Thanks!

Ignimbrite
September 15th 2015


6227 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ac1cwWhy7Cw

listen to this song (it's the closer) because the riff that hits at 4:45 is the best thing I've heard this year



and yay, thanks mods

teamster
September 16th 2015


2048 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for the review man, didn't know about this. I really like their debut. Keep 'em coming!

wacknizzle
September 16th 2015


14517 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review, was hoping for metaphors to orogenesis or anthracite, rather than uh... rocks



Album rips doe, bm plus sludge equals hardened phallus

Digging: Tetragrammacide - Primal Incinerators of Moral Matrix

Ignimbrite
September 16th 2015


6227 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Cmon man, this is blackened as hell but it ain't anthracite black.

Actually, my thesis is on some basalts (nephelinites, to be exact) and I did some fieldwork gathering glacial deposit samples with a professor in August so those two things have been on my mind hardcore lately

wacknizzle
September 17th 2015


14517 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah, word





friwm
September 23rd 2015


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

FRIWMED: https://friwm.wordpress.com/2015/09/23/regarde-les-hommes-tomber-exile/

CrimsonLies
September 25th 2015


2575 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is awesome

TheBarber
November 14th 2015


3583 Comments


b-b-b-bump!

Digging: Mamaleek - Via Dolorosa

Ignimbrite
December 10th 2015


6227 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

bumpity bump because it's December and more people need to hear this

https://rlht.bandcamp.com

L4titudes
December 22nd 2015


3450 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this is great

SpiritCrusher2
January 25th 2016


5730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wow this is HUGE

Ignimbrite
January 25th 2016


6227 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeah this shit dope af



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy