Bring Me The Horizon
That's the Spirit


2.0
poor

Review

by Simon STAFF
September 14th, 2015 | 29 replies


Release Date: 09/11/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: That's the Spirit is too busy filling its bag with water, it doesn't notice the giant hole at the bottom.

In 2013 Bring Me the Horizon broke the collective consciousness of millions in the Rock and Metal community; Sempiternal was the band's biggest release to date, an album with solid structures, accessibly catchy choruses and generally a step closer to a sound that caters to a mainstream audience but also maintaining the bands core heavy sound. The band have since gone on to enjoy success from the positive consensus the album brought, selling out arenas like Wembley stadium. And if you look a these guy's from their early years and the divide they created in the metal underground, many wouldn't have bet money on them selling out arenas like Wembley stadium.

Love the band or loathe them, they certainly know how to experiment with their sound. Every album has always brought a different dimension to their sound, but, whatever your favourite album is from these guy's previously, the band's discography has generally always kept that same "something" in all their albums that makes you recognize it's them. Unfortunately That's the Spirit goes too far to the left and loses a lot of what makes BMTH, well, BMTH. This album is largely pop orientated, with Oli using his whiny, melodic singing, rather than his harsh vocals, as the guitars are overshadowed by Fish's keyboard throughout the entire album..

I personally have no issues with a band pushing the boat out and creating something completely different, as long as it's done right. With that said That's the Spirit's biggest problem is that it isn't done right, and suffers from being mundane, with songs feeling stretched a little too thin. The LP's 11 tracks only have a couple of tracks that manage to stand up and say what they need to in the right way: Oli manages to bring some genuinely nice and infectious melodies to first single "Drown" and the opening track "Doomed", while the music just so holds its weight in water. Musically, however, the album is rather boring and forgettable, with the exception of "Blasphemy" which has some really nice guitar sections, and brings some really nice experimentation to the song.

The biggest problems lie in the albums simplicity. As previously said, the guitar and drum heavy sound of the old days has well and truly sat at the back of the room. The album fires wave after wave of synth-pop, and the occasionally memorable ambient sprinkles to help link compositions and bring a certain mood to tracks -- again, "Doomed" and "Blasphemy" are the only two that successfully manage to bring the right ideas to the table with a pay off at the end of it. So what you're left with for the rest of the album is a record that lays to waste; rarely does anything jump out at you, and you're left looking at tracks like "Happy Song" and wondering why a 4 minute song feels like its 8 minutes. And it's basically down to its repetitive song structures that play over and over again. It's also worth mentioning Oli's lyrics this time round are awful: angst riddled dog sh*t that offers little for the band other than self-destruction. "True Friends" opening vomit inducing melody is further plagued by Oli pouring out lyrical garbage like:

"I wouldn’t hold my breath if I was you,
Cause' I’ll forget but I’ll never forgive you,
Don’t you know, don’t you know",
True friends stab you in the front."

And you'll find crap like this more often than not.

It's a shame to see where the band have shifted with this LP. Listening to the album is like ordering the Wagyu steak at a fancy restaurant, only to realise it's nothing more than well presented plate of spam. This album reminds me a lot of the problems that plagued 30 Seconds to Mars' 2013 album Love, Lust, Faith + Dreams, which had little to offer other than the hope of reaching a wider audience. And while That's the Spirit isn't pretentious like LLF+D, and has the odd rare moment of enjoyment here and there, it is ultimately the same shallow and contrived experience, with no intention other than drawing in a broader audience. And the sad thing is, BMTH will no doubt succeed in cashing in on this dull collection of songs.

Disappointing.



Recent reviews by this author
Joanne Shaw Taylor Reckless HeartSaver They Came with Sunlight
HEALTH GTA: Online Arena WarThe Claypool Lennon Delirium South of Reality
Rotting Christ The HereticsHEALTH VOL. 4 :: SLAVES OF FEAR
user ratings (1144)
Chart.
2.7
average
other reviews of this album
1 of


Comments:Add a Comment 
DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2015


15209 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I can't say I'm all that surprised with this album, after the singles, but it's still sad to see.



As always, constructive criticism welcome.

Toondude10
September 14th 2015


13740 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

stahp

eventheminions
September 14th 2015


37 Comments


Nice review man. You have quite a few typos in there though - loads of words need apostrophes ("the band's biggest release to date") and you've mixed up the formatting on your italics.

Keep it up!

Toondude10
September 14th 2015


13740 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

[i]That's the Spirit[i/]'s



speaks for itself

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2015


15209 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Aye, been a while since I've done a review, I'm a little rusty. haha

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
September 14th 2015


14175 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good review man, posd

Digging: Husker Du - New Day Rising

EvoHavok
September 14th 2015


7680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"the bands biggest", "the bands core " - band's

"they bands discography" - the band's

"[i]That's the Spirit[i/]'s" - coding.



Nice read. I enjoyed this more than you, though.

Digging: Children of Bodom - Hexed

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2015


15209 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

S'up mort? You enjoyed this then? haha

jmnewcomer18
September 14th 2015


3815 Comments


good review as always. have a pos

their weakest release yet

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
September 14th 2015


14175 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Not much bro just chilling with a week off work before i move to uni on saturday



Yeah i enjoyed this tbh, tho i can see myself bumping it down like i did with sempiternal

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2015


15209 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Cheers for the feedback ma' niggas.



Sweet mort, you looking forward to it?



Well, I'm glad you saw something to like with this, man.

Toondude10
September 14th 2015


13740 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"This album is largely pop orientated, harsh screams, or screams in general, aren't present; instead we get to hear Oli's whiny, melodic singing, while guitars step out of the spotlight as Fish's keyboard dominates most of this album."

the structure of this sentence is incredibly weird. "This album is largely pop orientated, with Oli using his whiny, melodic singing, rather than his harsh vocals, as the guitars are overshadowed by Fish's keyboard throughout the entire album." sounds much better.



"With that said That's the Spirit's biggest problem is that it isn't done right,"

You already said something similar in the previous sentence so it kinda sounds redundant.



that's all I got for now, good review otherwise

SweeneyTodd
September 14th 2015


2108 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

good review, I'm enjoying the album as much as Sempiternal in all honesty. Surprised no one has commented on the saxophone solo yet

Digging: GL?SS ?33?H - EP

Aerisavion
September 14th 2015


1533 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review - pos'd. I massively agree that Blasphemy was one of the albums highlights



@SweeneyTodd - I made a note of it in my review. I honestly really enjoyed its inclusion into Oh No. It was one of the albums better moments for me personally as it broke away from the formula most of the other songs were following

RadicalEd
September 14th 2015


9448 Comments


The most terribly average albums always get 7-8 identical reviews this year...

Digging: Maurice Louca - Elephantine

SweeneyTodd
September 14th 2015


2108 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

@Aerisavion I shall check out your review, Oh No is probably my favourite track on the album. The saxophone solo is a bit weird, genuinely made me laugh the first time I heard it, but it's kinda charming in it's own bizarre way

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
September 14th 2015


14175 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Sweet mort, you looking forward to it?







Well, I'm glad you saw something to like with this, man"



Yeah im looking forward to it, going to uea in norwich and norwich seems pretty nice. And yeah honestly ive never had an issue with olis vocals and still dont, only faults i have with this is the occasional poor lyric, generic song structures and i guess i do find it a bit lifeless



But at the same time i very much like the new direction, aesthetic and hooks so yeah decent album



ExhaleTheLight
September 14th 2015


877 Comments


This better not be another Three Days Grace review fest

MattTD
September 14th 2015


678 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Mort and I are going to be living like five minutes away from each other yikes



Good review btw, thought most of it was fair though I enjoyed it ever so slightly more than you did

Beetlebum95
September 14th 2015


39 Comments


@MattTD

Trust me, he's fucking insufferable in person. You'd do best to steer clear. Just some friendly advice.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy