Dark Sermon
The Oracle


4.0
excellent

Review

by Gameofmetal STAFF
September 10th, 2015 | 63 replies


Release Date: 08/21/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Gargantuan

It’s always interesting to hear the results of a band effectively overhauling their sound. Numerous bands have done this and succeeded (Dark Tranquillity, Bathory, for a recent and relevant example one could look at Job For A Cowboy). Likewise, numerous artists have failed utterly, proof that while this tactic can be a smart, creative move, it can also be a double-edged sword in the wrong hands. In the case of Dark Sermon, it’s unmistakably a success in every way, shape, and form. The band had a solid debut on their hands with In Tongues, but a case could be made that the band was just masking some high quality The Black Dahlia Murder worship with a deathcore tinted paint job. However, on The Oracle, Dark Sermon throw most of their old tricks out the window in favor of new ones that are simply more effective.

It’s safe to say that there is neither deathcore, nor TBDM influence to be found here. Instead “Ode to the Black Widow” greets the listener with dense, pounding blackened death metal fury. The tempos have been slowed down from the furious pacing of In Tongues in favor of slow, stomping ones that allow for Dark Sermon to work on the smaller details. That’s not to say that they don’t kick things up for a few blast beats here and there, but as a whole the album is much more spacious and measured. For the first time atmosphere is one of Dark Sermon’s greatest strengths. The instrumental layering screams density and the melodies bleed black metal (in all caps). Sure, the raucously heavy riffs and beats are entertaining, but half of the album’s effectiveness is the ominous atmosphere that permeates it. The ambient interlude in “Starve” and intro to closer “Gargantua” are shining examples. For a band rooted in deathcore and extreme metal, it’s nice to see that the delivery doesn’t wear thin across the increased run time (nearly an hour) either. Just about every minute of its length remains entertaining and fixating.

If there was a way for Dark Sermon to kick things up more on The Oracle, it’s not immediately obvious. Dropping all the things that didn’t quite work on their debut was certainly a good move for the young act. It feels almost like a new band, and a better one at that. For an outfit previously pigeonholed as deathcore, Dark Sermon did do quite a bit of growing up in that short period between albums and the effort paid off.



Recent reviews by this author
Born of Osiris The SimulationHate Eternal Upon Desolate Sands
Cultes Des Ghoules SinisterHorrendous Idol
Bosse-de-Nage Further StillThou Magus
user ratings (64)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Dmax28 (3)
Time to head bang....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2015


10467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

album rules, totally surprised me. please check

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
September 9th 2015


24656 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

been waiting for this to get reviewed. great stuff

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2015


10467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yea rules hard

TheGreatQ
September 9th 2015


2774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This has been my driving music for the past few weeks.



Great review too!

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
September 9th 2015


10467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

ty bro

PortalofPerfection
September 10th 2015


1991 Comments


This sounds like my cup of (black) tea

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
September 10th 2015


14138 Comments


good review soul brotha, posd

Digging: Jeremy Soule - Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Soundtrack

YuriZakhaev
September 10th 2015


442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Pos'erino'd.



Seriously, that riff in "Ode to the Black Widow" is gonna be my riff of the year. "Starve" just melts my face, too.

ShakeSoda
September 10th 2015


151 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice review dude. I dig it when "deathcore" bands stretch their sound a bit (JFAC, Fallujah, Chelsea Grin). It can lead to surprisingly good results!

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2015


10467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

m/



haven't had a feature in a minute or three, feels good

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
September 10th 2015


16065 Comments


sooooooooooo what's a good song to check out?

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2015


10467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

idk about standout tracks, it flows really well as a whole



rat king maybe, it has a music video for extra visual appeal

Metaltronic
September 10th 2015


29 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was pleasantly surprised by this. I've hated every band labeled deathcore on here but these guys are fantastic.

PortalofPerfection
September 11th 2015


1991 Comments


So yeah this is pretty b00tul

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
September 11th 2015


16065 Comments


I knew i wouldn't like this but i tried.....

Space Jester
September 11th 2015


5773 Comments


Sounds cool. I like the artwork too.

Keyblade
September 11th 2015


26593 Comments


art looks very similar to Tetsu Inoue's Ambiant Otaku

MO
September 11th 2015


22501 Comments


sweet i'll be playing with these guys at the end of the month pretty stoked

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2015


10467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

oh wow that's pretty sick

Beardog
September 11th 2015


2700 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album's aight



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy