Nile
What Should Not Be Unearthed


3.0
good

Review

by Hawks USER (96 Reviews)
September 8th, 2015 | 231 replies


Release Date: 08/28/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If you want a death metal album that pushes the boundaries, you might want to look elsewhere....

To be completely honest, I'm not a person who knows a lot about Nile. Prior to listening to this album, I've only ever heard Annhilation of the Wicked and it's a really great album considering a lot of tech death albums nowadays are average at best. The guys of Nile were always a bit unique because of their heavy Egyptian type influences that can clearly be picked out. Here with their newest album What Should Not Be Unearthed, Nile prove that they can still release semi-quality material without much progression.

If you've ever heard Nile before then you pretty much know what to expect. This album is full of solid riffs that are enough to keep you entertained, but they never really push any boundaries. Even so, there's still plenty of headbangable moments to be found on this album. You'll frequently find yourself nodding along to several tracks. The drumming has always been a highlight for Nile and it's no different here. George Kolias' variation is what keeps him interesting and that's without mentioning his exceptional double bass and technical skills behind the kit and the drumming is honestly the best aspect of this album. Vocally this isn't much to write home about. There very little variation the entire length of the album, and while the vocals aren't necessarily bad, they never really stand out either. The biggest negative about this album for me is the almost hour long length. Since there's very little variation throughout, it can be a tad bit much.

Basically, the drumming and enough solid riffs keep this from being an extremely average album. If you're a diehard death metal fan, you've heard this before. Although with that being said, if you're a fan of this type of thing then it's likely you'll find at least a few things you really dig on this album. Not essential by any means, but still worth some listens.



Recent reviews by this author
Judas Iscariot An Ancient Starry SkyGoatmoon Finnish Steel Storm
Bizzy Bone Heaven'z MovieSargeist Satanic Black Devotion
Desecresy Stoic DeathDrudkh/Hades Almighty One Who Walks.../Pyre Era, Black!
user ratings (185)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
September 7th 2015


61026 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't do a lot of reviews of album that I find average or slightly above average so I figured why not. m/

Digging: Marsh Dweller - Wanderer

emester
September 7th 2015


8249 Comments


Was gonna review dis. I actually enjoyed the album quite a bit so opinions I guess. Sweet review anyways man m/

Hawks
September 7th 2015


61026 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks bro, didn't mean to steal your thunder. ;]



But yeah the album is ok, but nothing here really stood out to me. Some good riffs here and there, but it's hit or miss for the most part.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
September 7th 2015


24611 Comments


""Epic" is a word not often associated with brutal death metal."

ugh worst band summary

nice straightforward review, hawks. never cared for this band but i may give it a listen

Digging: SikTh - The Trees Are Dead and Dried Out

Anthracks
September 7th 2015


6239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I mean, the album is constantly going back and forth in tempo and has Egyptian interludes. idk how much "variety" you're lookin' for in a dm album.

Digging: Deathhammer - Chained to Hell

emester
September 7th 2015


8249 Comments


Nah bro its chill, working on a review for Ellorsith as we speak.

Just realized the last 4 albums I've reviewed (including 1959) have black and white album art. I seriously didn't plan this :/

Hawks
September 7th 2015


61026 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's not even the lack of variety that makes it just above average, it's that nothing here really grabbed me and made me think "wow that blew me away."



Like I said I dig this to an extent, but it's not something that I'm gonna want to revisit a lot.

zaruyache
September 7th 2015


19737 Comments


If it shouldn't be unearthed THEN WHY ARE YOU WRITING ABOUT IT JESUS HAWKS YOU'VE DAMNED US ALL.

DAMNED! DAMNED!

Digging: Dakhma - Suna Kulto

MistaCrave
September 7th 2015


2487 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Awesome review. I agree for the most part, although I don't think that George's drumming is ever very interesting. Being a drummer myself, that's one reason why I'm not a huge fan.

Hawks
September 7th 2015


61026 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That's the m/ thing to do isn't it? ;]



Thanks Mista. But idk I really dig the drumming that's my fav part about this. I'm not a drummer though so I guess I can't see it from your point of view haha.

Anthracks
September 7th 2015


6239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The fact that Karl Sanders is 51 years old and still shredding your face off doesn't wow you?

zaruyache
September 7th 2015


19737 Comments


Ra have mercy on us

Anthracks
September 7th 2015


6239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Tracks 2, 4, and 6 are easily among Nile's best songs.

Hawks
September 7th 2015


61026 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm not saying they're not impressive bro, not like I think this is a terrible album.

Anthracks
September 7th 2015


6239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm just sayin' that's a "wow" for me. That the dude is getting pretty up there and still among the most intense and speedy bands in the world.

Hawks
September 7th 2015


61026 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I feel you. Yeah I think I just read he's 52, didn't know he was almost mid 50's. I know George is in his 30's still.

Anthracks
September 7th 2015


6239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Evil to Cast Out Evil has five of the best riffs that I've heard all year.

Hawks
September 7th 2015


61026 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah there's for sure some sweet riffs to be found here. m/

IHateRadiohead
September 7th 2015


342 Comments


"Prior to listening to this album, I've only ever heard Annhilation of the Wicked and it's a really great album"

Listen toIn Their Darkened Shrine right now.

Hawks
September 7th 2015


61026 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'll get on it soon. m/



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy