Hills
Frid


3.5
great

Review

by I II II L USER (37 Reviews)
September 2nd, 2015 | 30 replies


Release Date: 08/28/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: old-school psych done through a modern lens

One of the most recognizable times in modern history was the age of the hippie. The Vietnam war protests, uncontrolled drug usage, free love, and massive concerts like Woodstock are all major cultural milestones that came directly from this moment in history. Yet one of the things that really took off from that era was the birth of one of the greatest musical movements in rock-history: psychedelia. Now it has been half a century since the baby-boomers were, well, making babies, and many things have changed; psychedelic rock being one of those things. But even then, some modern bands have gone out of their way to make psychedelic rock the way Jimi Hendrix, The Beatles, and many others have made it: through the drug-infused combination of deep reverb, sparkling sitars, and enchanting atmospherics, and one of those bands goes by the name of “Hills”.

Hills is a relatively large Swedish psychedelic krautrock band which incorporates musical styles from across the map. But the most prevalent of those styles, other than the psychedelic rock of the late 60’s-early 70’s, is that of Indian classical folk-music. Sitars, hand cymbals, tabla-drums, harmoniums, and religious chanting come together and breathe life into songs like “National Drone”. Coupled with heavy reverb, they bring about a disorienting, but addictive experience that leaves the listener mentally trapped within the opaque hallucinations brought forth.
In a word, Hills’s latest album Frid is intoxicating. All 6 tracks are filled with mind-warping melodies that echo about as if they were played in a building made of marble. Multiple layers of instrumentation pile onto one-another create a dense feeling that rarely lets up while Hendrix-esque solos guide the instruments forward into the unknown like a wise leader guiding his men through a dark forest, which comes to life as illuminated by the light of his torch. Melodies morph and twist and blend into one another with every passing second, like a bright pool made up of the colorful blobs from lava-lamps.

In summation, Frid is perfectly suited to the aging baby-boomer in a need of a nostalgia-fix, while carrying enough diversity to keep it engaging for those less enamored with psychedelia. It has enough variation to keep all the songs fresh, but at the same time never lets go of that old-school psychedelic edge that Hills seemingly went into this project trying to replicate. This balance helps keep Frid sounding fresh and engaging throughout, placing it in contention for 2015's best psychedelic album.



Recent reviews by this author
Palm Desert Pearls From the Muddy HollowThe Haggis Horns What Comes To Mind
The Rolling Stones The Rolling Stones No.2Echo Tail King Defeatism
Masta Ace SlaughtahouseAll Them Witches A Sweet Release
user ratings (21)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
SharkTooth
September 2nd 2015


13794 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks to ComeToDaddy for proofreading this



http://hillsband.bandcamp.com/album/frid





stream's here



Any and all feedback appreciated

larrytheslug
September 2nd 2015


1587 Comments


This sounds cool, I'll check it out.

Nice review. Just a minor thing up to your own discernment, but you use the adjective "rampant" twice between your second and third sentences. Maybe use a different word for one case or the other?

POS :D

SharkTooth
September 2nd 2015


13794 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

fixed and thank you

ComeToDaddy
September 2nd 2015


1613 Comments


Damn fine job cleaning this up, pos'd. That bandcamp link is broken btw, you've added a "< / a >" into the URL code. Will check the album out some time tonight

SharkTooth
September 2nd 2015


13794 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

fixed that and thanks man, hope you dig

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2015


13359 Comments


good review, posd

Digging: Slint - Spiderland

TwigTW
September 3rd 2015


2856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Listening now, this sounds good.

Digging: Exquirla - Para Quienes An Viven

SharkTooth
September 3rd 2015


13794 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah this sounds like something you'd dig

TwigTW
September 3rd 2015


2856 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Och Solen Sänkte Sig Röd is great.

SharkTooth
September 3rd 2015


13794 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I know right? I almost 4.5'd this just based on that song alone

LordePots
September 3rd 2015


38568 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yet one of the things that really took off from that era(other than rampant STDs)




the idea of "hippie revivalism" alone is enough to warrant a neg but that sentence is really just the icing on the cake.



ftr im not actually gonna neg your review because i was so off-put by these two things that i couldnt even bother to read further but man that is some terrible shit right there. i assume by "hippie revivalism" (lmfao ugh) you are actually just referring to the resurgence of psychedelic rock (not that thats new at all)... which really has very little to do with your imagined revival of 70's hippy culture...



and also even if it were true that std's "took off" in the 70's that reference would still be toxic



ftr its not true. at all.

Digging: Blondes - Warmth

LordePots
September 3rd 2015


38568 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

for your edification and reading pleasure;



http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2598671/

SharkTooth
September 3rd 2015


13794 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

most of what I wrote in the 1st paragraph was not really serious tbh





for the "hippie revivalism" bullshit, I just wanted to put something up as a summary,



and for the rampant STD's, I just thought it would be kinda amusing to tag that in, but if it's really that bad, I'll edit those parts out



also I don't mind if you neg, 'cause at least you explained why, which is always a helpful

LordePots
September 4th 2015


38568 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh I didn't realize this was you shark tooth I take it back ur cool

SharkTooth
September 4th 2015


13794 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man

Emim
September 4th 2015


27546 Comments


I'm sure I would quite like this, but "hippie-revivalism" kill it with fire

SharkTooth
September 4th 2015


13794 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

okay so apparently it is that bad so I'll change it ty for telling me

SharkTooth
September 4th 2015


13794 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Changed it, is it better now?

LordePots
September 4th 2015


38568 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I still hate the std thing

SharkTooth
September 4th 2015


13794 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

took care of that as well



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy