Defeater
Abandoned


2.0
poor

Review

by Trebor. STAFF
September 1st, 2015 | 187 replies


Release Date: 08/28/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I was a good band once!

In retrospect Defeater were never very good. They're a slightly above average hardcore band with a smoke and mirrors gimmick that early on got them a lot of mileage disguising their repetitive songwriting and lyricism. Essentially Defeater writes ten to eleven (AKA a hardcore's dozen) eerily similar songs and then slaps together a narrative to tie them all together. This cunning trick conveniently deflects and criticism stating that the songs are samey because Defeater can just say "Oh they're supposed to be that way dummy, we're telling a story so like all the songs fit with the narrative. If the songs were too different they wouldn't go with the story right"" Well Defeater, that's fine and dandy if you want to structure one or two of your albums that way, but on your fifth release you sound like a broken record. Not only does this tired gimmick make for a boring 5th release, it retrospectively undervalues the first couple of records that seemed fresh at the time because the trick has been revealed and the gig is up. When you present the same ruse over and over again it becomes obvious, it gets stale, and it pisses people off. Fool me once, shame on me. Fool me five times, I'm fucking pissed Defeater.

The narrative Abandoned presents is from the family dog's point of view, or maybe it's the train tracks' point of view" Honestly I don't care because Defeater have never really been good lyrically. They covered the same topics and themes in every song, but used the narrative gimmick as a flimsy way to disguise blatant rehashing of ideas. "I was a good man once, but now I'm a sad man, and it's World War I, and somebody got abused, blah blah blah" We've heard it all before. The only difference on Abandoned is that the main character admits he's a bad man on track two, when usually that doesn't happen until track five! Ultimately the narrative well went dry two albums ago, and the lyrics aren't nearly good enough to elevate Defeater's brand of dark, but melodic hardcore music.

Abandoned is almost identical to Defeater's last record Letter's Home, but in all fairness I'll list out the things that are different. There's some really bad clean vocals on "Borrowed and Broken," the drum tone sounds really fake throughout the record, and that's pretty much it. The music is uninteresting, the lyrics are uninspired, and it's a chore to sit through despite its short length. In the end, Defeater were fresh out of ideas shortly after inception, and Abandoned continues their trend of treading water, but this time it's presented from the water's point of view!



Recent reviews by this author
Alkaline Trio Is This Thing Cursed?Mark Kozelek Mark Kozelek
Dr. Octagon MoosebumpsBlessthefall Hard Feelings
Moose Blood I Don't Think I Can Do This AnymorePianos Become the Teeth Wait For Love
user ratings (222)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
craigtotheposta (3)
Repetition to its center, but still good hardcore....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
September 1st 2015


56227 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This was fun to write, I'm sorry if it's bad

Hawks
September 1st 2015


63924 Comments


Well this review pretty much guarantees that I'm not gonna jam this. Nice work bud. m/

Digging: Funeral - In Fields of Pestilent Grief

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2015


24479 Comments


I've never listened this these guys but YES to the review

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Midian

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
September 1st 2015


56227 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Gonna rewrite this review from my computer's point of view



"Hey stop hitting my keys so hard"

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2015


24479 Comments


defeater moar like repeater amirite

DungeonBoy
September 1st 2015


5047 Comments


Spot on dude.

IHateRadiohead
September 1st 2015


342 Comments


"defeater moar like repeater amirite"

That would imply that they're on Fugazi-levels of good.

Ocean of Noise
September 1st 2015


10372 Comments


damn

Digging: Buckethead - Pepper's Ghost

JesusaurusRex
September 1st 2015


64 Comments


I Don't Mind was a neat song.

I hope they keep retelling the same story for no less than 15 albums and end it with a surprise twist where it turns out that it was a dream all along and the characters were actually figments of the imagination of a pretentious dude in a shitty hardcore band.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
September 1st 2015


14087 Comments


good review mind pos


Digging: Blur - Modern Life Is Rubbish

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
September 1st 2015


56227 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks fellers

Hawks
September 1st 2015


63924 Comments


I think Travels rules and I dig Empty Days pretty hard too, didn't bother with the one before this because of the general consensus on them and this one is no different.

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
September 1st 2015


56227 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Empty Days was a bit different musically, but everything else they've done is just Travels-lite

Funeralopolis
September 1st 2015


14181 Comments


If the band broke up after Travels and Lost Ground they could have been classic, sad.

Digging: Blood Orange - Negro Swan

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
September 1st 2015


56227 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Honestly if most of the emo bands I like had actually stayed together they probably would have ended up like Defeater

ShitsofRain
September 1st 2015


8098 Comments


first paragraph would have been sufficient

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
September 1st 2015


56227 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

basically

trackbytrackreviews
September 1st 2015


3369 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"In retrospect Defeater were never very good."



No they were neg

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
September 1st 2015


56227 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

should it be weren't or aren't? I wasn't sure



Relinquished
September 1st 2015


38530 Comments


weren't cuz this would be read past tense from now anyway



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy