Motorhead
Bad Magic


3.5
great

Review

by manosg STAFF
August 31st, 2015 | 143 replies


Release Date: 08/28/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: They say you can’t teach an old dog new tricks, but in Motorhead’s case you might as well try and this dog will bite you in the ass.

Motorhead have been doing the exact same thing for 40 years. Same solos, riffs, lyrics, ideas and albums. Their discography consists of 22 repetitions of the same music and the only parameter that changes is the cover art that every now and then, it suspiciously reminds a past one. They have found a formula that pleases their loyal fans who don’t know any other song than “Ace of Spades”. And what’s the big deal with Lemmy anyway" Even Hawkwind rejected him.

I say that’s bullsh*t. If it’s so easy, why don’t more bands do it" Unless they don’t need the money, fame and everything that comes with it. And of all the Motorhead/Venom clones that pop out every year, how many last in the long run" With the exception of a subpar period in the mid to late ‘90s and an unspectacular start at the beginning of 2000, Motorhead have been consistently solid. Inferno was a significant come back in 2004 and since then, Lemmy and Co. seem to have found the fountain of youth (consisting of bourbon). Nevertheless, the deterioration of Lemmy’s health, naturally (") raised some doubt regarding the quality of Motorhead’s new (") release.

However, the band’s stubbornness and immunity to change is the main reason for delivering, once more, a solid album. Bad Magic contains the usually loud and filthy rock-n’ roll-on-steroids formula that can be found on each and every release of the band. The furious drumming, the simple and memorable guitar riffing and the gritty vocals, form a constant that most of us take for granted. Of course, there are strong punk influences as well, such as on the album’s mission statement that is “Victory or Die” or “Electricity”. Moreover, the AC/DC-esque “Fire Storm Hotel”, “Tell Me Who to Kill” and “Till The End” provide a few welcome opportunities for listeners to catch their breath. Especially the latter, accompanied by an unusually emotional Motorhead solo, feels like a confession and a self-portrait of Lemmy. What’s more, there are your typical Motorhead speed metal tracks like “Thunder & Lightning” and “Teach Them How to Bleed” that feature Lemmy’s rhythm guitar bass approach.

Of course, as on every album there’s some filler which interestingly is the make or break point on some occasions. “The Devil”, “Evil Eye” and the Sacrifice reminiscent “Chocking On Your Screams”, are neither up to par with the rest of the album nor awful tracks. In addition, even though only 42 minutes long, the album feels a bit tiresome towards the end which might be due to the similarity among a couple of its songs. Lastly, the cover of “Sympathy for the Devil” might have been better off as a B-side such as in the case of “Louie Louie” but it’s not a bad closer.

Undoubtedly, Bad Magic doesn’t add anything significant to the legacy of the band. At the same time, it’s a statement that even though the landscape in music is changing, there are bands out there that are true to themselves and even health issues cannot derail them. Yes, Lemmy has lost a step or two and, if we want to be honest, Motorhead has been less than adept to change. But this is the charm of this band and a sign of resistance to modern times. So while in a purely musical approach, Bad Magic is an enjoyable release, add the mythos of the band and that’s what makes almost every Motorhead release special.

Ian Fraser "Lemmy" Kilmister: 24 December 1945 – 28 December 2015



Recent reviews by this author
Sacral Rage Beyond Celestial EchoesSlash Living the Dream
Friendship (NO) Ain't No Shame Paradise Lost Host
Survivor Vital SignsCarriage Visions
user ratings (171)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
manosg
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2015


11339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First couple of listens didn't do much for me but it's grown considerably since then.

tempest--
August 31st 2015


20626 Comments


Sounds good, I'll give it a few spins.

InFlamesWeThrash666
August 31st 2015


8527 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Why don't more bands do it*





second paragraph

Digging: Power Trip - Manifest Decimation

ComeToDaddy
August 31st 2015


1774 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album rules, sweet review too. I've listened to it like 5 times and I'll probably never come back to it, but that's just Motorhead I guess. Every album is just great

zakalwe
August 31st 2015


26036 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Nice one mano dude. Album is exceptional. I thought sympathy for the devil was iffy on first listen but it's fitting as hell (pun intended) with Lemmy growling out "Lucifers my name" to end the album....and career? Gulp.

Flugmorph
August 31st 2015


19940 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just bought this for my best friend who loves these guys. I'll say aftershock was better but this is still pure rock'n'roll

manosg
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2015


11339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks guys. Weird thing is that if I hadn't decided writing this review, I wouldn't have listened to this one as much but I'm glad I did. Having said that, I'm not sure if I'll jam this again in the future too.



Yeah, Lemmy sings like Mr. D himself on "Sympathy...".

danielcardoso
August 31st 2015


11770 Comments


"If it’s so easy, what don’t more bands do it?"
I think you mean "why don't more bands do it?"


Besides great review, don't know if I'll listen though since Motorhead ain't my taste.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2015


11339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oops, thanks Dan. I know you're not a big fan of the guys hehe. How about Overkill or Ace of Spades?

Tunaboy45
August 31st 2015


16597 Comments


Great review man, Motorhead is Motorhead (badass).

manosg
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2015


11339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks dude. Well put.

ksoflas
August 31st 2015


1249 Comments


Sweet review Mano.
Such as every Motorhead album.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2015


11339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Right on Nick.

Flugmorph
August 31st 2015


19940 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

motÖrhead

rockandmetaljunkie
August 31st 2015


7594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sweet :D

rockandmetaljunkie
August 31st 2015


7594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

haha, great summary Manos !!

manosg
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2015


11339 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

haha thanks John!

SharkTooth
August 31st 2015


13855 Comments


"seem to have found the fountain of youth (consisting of bourbon). Nevertheless, the deterioration of Lemmy’s health, naturally (?) raised some doubt regarding the quality of Motorhead’s new (?) release."
You shoulf prob delete the (?)s, as they are kinda distracting and serve no discernable purpose

Otherwise great job as usual

danielcardoso
August 31st 2015


11770 Comments


Never heard Overkill, as for Ace Of Spades I spun it once and it was okay. I guess I can only tolerate so much of Motorhead's formula, though.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2015


2571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Will undoubtedly listen to this (along with my dad, we're both fairly big fans) with no shame. Will undoubtedly like it too. Nice review manosg as always.

Digging: Cult Leader - A Patient Man



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy