Arizmenda
Stillbirth in the Temple of Venus


4.5
superb

Review

by TheSpirit CONTRIBUTOR (146 Reviews)
August 17th, 2015 | 157 replies


Release Date: 10/10/2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: "Arizmenda bleeds its third wound..."

Arizmenda is the sound of black metal losing its mind. That's what makes them so ***ING good; the trepidation you can't help but feel when listening to them. That spine-chilling sense of paranoia like something is creeping just behind you. When listening to Arizmenda, you don't feel safe. They wouldn't have it any other way.

For all the bands that deal with matters of mental torment, Arizmenda has, since their 2007 inception, been among the best. Their debut album Within the Vacuum of Infinity... was a harrowing experience of atmospheric black metal. Follow-up Without Circumference Nor Center emphasized the psychedelic subtleties of previous record, igniting that fervor into feverish delirium. After what seemed like an eternal three year wait, The Black Twilight Circle's most notorious band have dropped their most accomplished work to date, Stillbirth In The Temple of Venus.

Building on the foundation provided by 2013's glorious compilation Tliltic Tlapoyauak, Stillbirth In The Temple of Venus dispenses with the free-flowing songwriting of the band's previous full-lengths in favor of a style that's more deliberate and consciously structured. The brilliantly titled "Cum In Your Wound" contrasts blackened psychedelia with claustrophobic atmospheres to create a hallucinogenic effect, while "Innocence and Illness" opens with vibrant melodies before descending into a chasm of anxiety-filled darkness. As a whole, Stillbirth... thrives on the dichotomy between deranged melodies and the band's trademarked discordance. Though the album features much more of the former than ever before, tracks like "Satyriasis" proves its increased implementation only serves to accentuate the insanity of the latter.

It's so relieving to see Arizmenda diversify. For as good as their style was, it would have inevitably become stale. Here, we see them progress without losing the core elements that make them such a unique entity. Stillbirth In The Temple of Venus is a black metal album all fans of the genre absolutely must hear; you'd be crazy not to.



Recent reviews by this author
Nihil Invocation Furthering the Depth of Lucid MadnessUlver The Assassination of Julius Caesar
Counterparts You're Not You AnymoreBlood Incantation Starspawn
Paramore After LaughterConverge The Dusk in Us
user ratings (39)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Balerion
August 17th 2015


1032 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

This needed a review so bad. well done

BigPleb
August 17th 2015


57051 Comments


Sounds like an album for all the family!

Badass album title.

MoosechriS
August 17th 2015


6352 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Awesome review again dude pos'd, just curious about your plan. Have you got s specific order in mind with tackling the entire btc catalogue? Or are you acting on your own inspiration?

Asdfp277
August 17th 2015


19464 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The high, screechy guitar notes on the intro of "Rotted Seed...Poisoned Egg" reminds me of Power Electronics lol idk



EDIT: Actually, just Pure.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 17th 2015


24785 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

At first I was going to try to review them chronologically with some narrative about the btc running through each piece, but there really isn't that much info about it, so I gave that idea up. Now, it's pretty much whatever strikes me.

Digging: wellspring - iris's room

CaptainDooRight
August 17th 2015


2652 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice to see nigs still reviewing the gainez. And that art tho

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 17th 2015


24785 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

What did y'all think of the actual review doe

emester
August 17th 2015


8251 Comments


Great album but for quite a while the rip I had of this was garbage. New one I got tho is perfect. It isn't just a mess of fuzz yet it still maintains that BTC rawness I love.

About the album tho, I feel like this album is like a middle ground between the two previous records musically. You got the trance inducing psychedelic elements like you mention in your review and theres also that signature abyssal atmosphere that was present in their debut.

Reviews great too. :] Just curious what album is up next in your BTC thingy?

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 17th 2015


24785 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Either BHL's Bloodflower, Mata Mata, or the Acualli/The Haunting Presenxe split... I haven't decided yet haha.

Balerion
August 17th 2015


1032 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

@emster is that their bandcamp rip?

Archelirion
August 17th 2015


5639 Comments


Colour me interested. Your review was absolutely mint, 'The brilliantly titled "Cum In Your Wound" contrasts blackened psychedelia with claustrophobic atmospheres to create a hallucinogenic effect' pretty much makes me want to listen to this by itself.

LifeFeedsOnLife
August 17th 2015


467 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So what you're saying is, this isn't a 'shrooms-safe' album.. Good to know indeed. Still loving this so far..

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 17th 2015


24785 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks Aaron! Glad ppl are enjoying this

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 17th 2015


24785 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks Eli. You would definitely dig this.

Dryden
August 17th 2015


13551 Comments


rules

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
August 18th 2015


24785 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Let me know what you think when/if you listen to it

Ovrot
September 11th 2015


13304 Comments


sweet album

Hawks
January 4th 2016


67683 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Fuck this slays so hard, glad I finally got around to jamming it.

Digging: Wicca Phase Springs Eternal - Suffer On

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
January 4th 2016


24785 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

One of my all time favorites

Crysis
Emeritus
January 4th 2016


17368 Comments


still haven't listened to this, getting it now



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy