Neurotech
Stigma


4.0
excellent

Review

by Insurrection USER (113 Reviews)
August 16th, 2015 | 17 replies


Release Date: 2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Neurotech has never sounded better.

Songwriter/producer Wulf, under the moniker Neurotech, has had a fairly linear but fruitful career thus far. Since its inception, Neurotech kept a unique, focused vision – a fusion of catchy electronic and industrial metal favoring simple euphoric soundscapes over rabid complexity. Stigma is no different; in fact, the formula has never worked better. It’s primarily driven by atmosphere, which is set right away in the opening track and lingers until the very last moments of ‘To Theta State’. Radio-friendly endeavors such as ‘Fear the Fear’ and ‘Brighten’ fare just as well, their hypnotic choruses brightened by the encompassing sense of ethereal ataraxia, which helps bring legitimacy to their otherwise less than credible lyrical content (i.e. “Fear the fear / the sky becomes clear / there is no one / nobody coming to save you / save yourself”).

Wulf won’t be pumping out hit singles any time soon, but if there’s one thing to take away from Stigma it’s that there is a certain integrity in being consistent, and consistency can be progression in itself: Neurotech has never sounded better.



Recent reviews by this author
Between the Buried and Me Automata IIBetween the Buried and Me Automata I
Incubus (USA-CA) 8Metallica Hardwired... to Self-Destruct
Avenged Sevenfold The StagePeriphery Periphery III: Select Difficulty
user ratings (22)
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
August 16th 2015


24736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this deserved something



listen here:

https://neurotech.bandcamp.com/album/stigma

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2015


14664 Comments


are you able to write more than a paragraph or does your hand get cramp or something

Digging: Jeromes Dream - LP

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2015


14664 Comments


i like your paragraph review, but this one is a bit too short for my liking but fair enough

ive written a few one paragraph reviews but theyre all longer than this



Insurrection
August 16th 2015


24736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"This sounds atrocious."

based on my description or did you actually hear it?

and the music is pretty much the only thing i discuss in the review. there's no point drawing it out for the sake of having more words

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2015


14664 Comments


"and the music is pretty much the only thing i discuss in the review. "

tbh the only parts that actually tell me anything about the music are

"a fusion of catchy electronic and industrial metal favoring simple euphoric soundscapes over rabid complexity"

"primarily driven by atmosphere"

"Radio-friendly endeavors such as ‘Fear the Fear’ and ‘Brighten’ fare just as well, their hypnotic choruses brightened by the encompassing sense of ethereal ataraxia, which helps bring legitimacy to their otherwise less than credible lyrical content (i.e. “Fear the fear / the sky becomes clear / there is no one / nobody coming to save you / save yourself”)."

doesnt really tell me a lot tbh. fair enough if thats how you like your reviews tho

Insurrection
August 16th 2015


24736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what more do you need to know? you quoted practically the entire thing

nimb, don't worry black tongue has a 2015 release on the way

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2015


14664 Comments


how the fuck would i know? , i havent listened to this.

i just dont come away from this rev with any desire to listen to this or any strong concrete idea of what it sounds like (obvs i have some idea because you did describe the music at least a bit)

not saying the rev is badly written or anything cos it isnt, i guess i just desire more



Insurrection
August 16th 2015


24736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i mean the only way to know exactly what it sounds like is by listening to it. i didnt need to dissect the songs for nimb to know he'd hate it

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2015


14664 Comments


"i mean the only way to know exactly what it sounds like is by listening to it."

yeah and im not expecting to be able to exactly know what it sounds like from ur description, i just think i could know more from a review

thats all bruh

also nimb is a special case (im sure hed agree) the weird noise listening goober

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2015


14664 Comments


or severe mental retardation.

Insurrection
August 16th 2015


24736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well a neurotech thread was long overdue. plus it's an outlet for nimb to list all the reasons as to why this sucks

my feeble mind can't comprehend cephalotripsy therefore i need guidance

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2015


14664 Comments


your mind isnt feeble, its just not as degenerative as nimbs

Insurrection
August 16th 2015


24736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

graze

shouldve specified that there's no slam though

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2015


14664 Comments


that is where i was getting confused

Insurrection
August 16th 2015


24736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

im afraid so, and sadly there's no du hast on here either

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
August 16th 2015


14664 Comments


well this is exactly the sort of thing i was talking about a page ago

Insurrection
August 16th 2015


24736 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that sounds like the only logical thing to do



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy