Our Last Night
Younger Dreams


3.5
great

Review

by Alias USER (2 Reviews)
July 31st, 2015 | 32 replies


Release Date: 06/16/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: With a step in a right direction, even one away from their magnum opus The Ghosts Among Us, Our Last Night recapture some lost charisma

The Ghosts Among Us is an interesting piece of music in that it was not entirely well received by the more traditional scensters whom Our Last Night primarily market themselves towards, yet had all the right pieces to be, and is compositionally and tonally an outstanding album. This disinterest it seems was due primarily to the harsh vocal style that composed the record: a hardcore yell in essential terms, but with enough distortion behind it to expect that the general breakdown crowd would be satisfied. Front man Trevor Wentworth responded by changing to a more straight forward metalcore scream on OLN’s second release, which has stuck on every album since. The rest of the band, however, seemed to take similar cues, dropping other punk and progressive elements from their sound. Subsequent records have been more rigid structurally, sterile, perhaps, tonally, and a whole lot less gritty generally. While this isn't necessarily a problem, in this particular instance the changes essentially nerfed the band’s charm - for a few records at least. They maintained underground success through this period, however, by writing competent chorus’ and breakdowns.

Following, they regained some “magic” in a different form than that found on Ghosts. Covering massive pop numbers, their rather rugged, boyish appeal in the context of a sea of hooks was instantly apparent. Their fan base underwent a period of growth following, replicating that which accompanied their entrance into the scene with Ghosts. Logically, perhaps, their following release, Oak Island (ep) contained the vocal ranges, structures and general stylings of the songs they were covering, setting the stage for their vocal duo to shine in the same way their covers managed to. Maintaining a punk aesthetic, they seemed to be in their element again, albeit a new version of it.

Younger Dreams emerges via the expected trajectory their covers stint set them on. Gritty yet infectious singing from Trevor highlights the album. Seemingly finding his mojo performing their wildly successful covers, he is without question the number one vocalist in not only the harsh vocal section, but cleans as well. A first for an OLN full length. The more traditional singing was historically performed by Matt generally, but also more effectively. While good enough to front any band in the genre, with the new and improved Trevor on the team, Matt is simply outclassed in every facet. As a number two, though, he is as excellent of a fit as ever. Softer tonally, he contrasts and compliments the lead’s qualities. In this sense they now rival the best of these types of male vocal duos, referring but not limiting myself to Mayday Parade’s a Lesson in Romantics and Emery’s In Shallow Seas and the Question.

As a band, however, they fail to be as consistent. For Younger Dreams to be a truly outstanding record with the style they seem intent on writing, and capture the qualities found on their hugely popular covers, they need chorus’ that are as strong as the songs they cover, and only achieve this twice with White Tiger and A World Divided. The rest of the album is inoffensive, surely. Catchy, even. But larger than life" Firing on all cylinders" I don’t think so. Had this album been without either or both of these tracks it would be a 3 or even a less forgivable 2.5. An extra couple home runs would have earned them a 4.

The album still has some –core, to it. Screaming and heavier guitar sections are found. But, similar to their covers, their heavier elements are a step removed in their favour from shoe-horned. Take, even, album standout, A World Divided – it’s metal, screamed section may be well placed, but it’s short lived.

Understandably, they wish to be a band with balls. But if they’re not going to go all out pop-punk, they need to write a truly kickass breakdown again, which they haven’t done since The Ghost’s Among Us. Otherwise, they might consider simply writing the music they seem to be inspired playing.

Their only real attempt at progressive song writing is found in the closer, where they reference parts found earlier in the album, which turns out to be a great idea featuring the best employment of their heavier side on the album, but is interfered with tonally thanks to vocoded digital harmonies. It’s passable, but could have been more of an epic finishing blow had they cut back to organic singing sooner, almost instantly, specifically when distortion kicks back in. To avoid too detailed of a discussion, however, they could have just done without it altogether. A simple slip up the result of an enthusiasm for a poppier rapport.

Metalcore band or otherwise - If I knew the band were reading this, I would encourage them to ditch the falsetto sections – they don’t need them - and give er from the gut every time – I know they’ve got it. They can be a band with balls in more ways than one.

Overall, Our Last Night manage to move forward with a step in a right direction, even one away from their magnum opus, and recapture some lost charisma.


user ratings (86)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
cocopunk1486 (4)
Cohesive and catchy, doesn't get much better than this...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Alias
July 31st 2015


406 Comments


ending the review with the summary may not be the easiest thing to swallow but it sits well in my stomach

LoLifant
July 31st 2015


1505 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Totally disagree on almost everything in the review. Ghosts was their weakest imo. Also this is their first self-published album, so if anything, that is exactly the band they want to be.



Some of the heavier sections may feel out of place on the first listen but overall they have some nice heavy moments such as the awesome bridges on 'Road To The Throne' and 'Living Now'. The falcetto sections of Matt also give some songs an extra little touch I wouldn't want to miss and sometimes are essential (e.g. 'Home'). Also, while relying on traditional song structure most of the time, it offers enough variation to keep things interesting (violines on 'White Tiger', choir on 'Home', several electronic openings , changes in pace + closer track is unlike anything I've ever heard before).



They aren't failing in the attempt to get back to their roots, they just don't want to. And that's totally fine, since this is probably OLN's best record to date, even though Oak Island is very close second and could be 1st if it wasn't an EP.



P.S. 'Like Diamonds' totally reminds me of Rihanna however lol

Alias
July 31st 2015


406 Comments


im not saying they are trying to do anything they aren't doing.

LoLifant
July 31st 2015


1505 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well you say they can be a band "with balls" in more ways than one. Maybe they don't want to.

Alias
July 31st 2015


406 Comments


imo they are trying to be a band with balls by tacking on heavy parts that are "a step removed in their favour of shoe horned". otherwise they would just stick to writing the chorus' they sound and look like they seem to be into. in an interview i saw they jumped at the chance to express that they in fact are fans of pop music.

and their vocal change was definitely a response to ppl complaining about how dudes screams are too punk.

definitely dont think they are trying to emulate ghosts

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
July 31st 2015


14171 Comments


"and is objectively an excellent album"

stay away from statements like this

Digging: Dead Kennedys - Plastic Surgery Disasters

Ending
July 31st 2015


2178 Comments


"ending the review with the summary may not be the easiest thing to swallow but it sits well in my stomach"

Thanks for letting me know.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2015


10511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"With a step in a right direction, even one away from their magnum opus, Our Last Night recapture some lost charisma."



yea it would be better just ending with the paragraph before but the last paragraph actually is supposed to be a summary to an extent



"and is objectively an excellent album"



yea thats bad bad. it's impossible to prove for one



good album

Alias
July 31st 2015


406 Comments


Yeah but by nature of the trade reviewers use objectives literally all the time. When its blanketly stated though Ppl get uncomfortable about it I guess so w.e. Changed to something a bit more specific


Hahaha ending

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2015


10511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well the problem is that you're basically saying "this is indisputably an excellent album" when the truth is that subjectively speaking you think it's an excellent an album and this review is why I think so. you want to speak in opinions and not try to pass it as fact

Alias
July 31st 2015


406 Comments


Reviewing is an art in objectifying sir

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2015


10511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

a review is just an opinion

Alias
July 31st 2015


406 Comments


Whether or not what you're saying is tru, doesn't make what Im saying untrue

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
July 31st 2015


10511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

im just saying that your original statement doesn't really mean anything and people will question it's use, what you have now is fine though

Alias
July 31st 2015


406 Comments


I agree it doesn't expose how I came to my conclusion so it doesn't contain as much detail in that sense but it performs a different task in speaking to its quality overallso I would disagree its a throw away statement altogether. In this case, however, the change gives information that pertains to my reviews case more directly

BlueSwan
August 2nd 2015


564 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I thInk you are mixing up objective and subjective maybe? Anyways pos'd !

LoLifant
August 3rd 2015


1505 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Depending on what you expect from the band (early material vs further progression from their last records) this is easily a 4+. Maybe they could include a bit more heaviness again next time but so far this is their best.

Alias
August 3rd 2015


406 Comments


thanks for the pos blue. no i don't think i am. again, reviewers speak in objective terms and claims almost all the time. the main problem people seem to have is using the term itself to describe something.

BlueSwan
August 3rd 2015


564 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I will probably bump it at first I didn't like some tracks like white tiger but it's starting to really grow on me !

LoLifant
August 15th 2015


1505 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Relistening to this a lot to assure my rating is correct...and yup, this is at least a 4.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy