Phinehas
Till the End


3.5
great

Review

by Gameofmetal STAFF
July 24th, 2015 | 26 replies


Release Date: 07/10/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Blessing and the Curse.

In their own way, Phinehas do put a fresh spin on melodic metalcore. It’s remarkable how invigorated a modern metalcore album can sound just by adding a whole hell of a lot of shredding to the mix. At surface level, the band doesn’t seem to be doing much different. By ducking outside more modern trends (synths, breakdown abuse, etc.) and shooting for older ones Phinehas come off as trying something new. Sure, comparisons to August Burns Red are warranted between the hefty technicality and Christian subject matter, but Phinehas took it a step further at their inception and ended up with something all the more entertaining as a result. Their debut and sophomore records delivered a near-equal collection of well-written and exciting metalcore tracks, and by rights Till The End should’ve been the third strike on their way to success. What it did end up being was a bit less than expected, a near identical offering to its predecessors and lacking a good bit of the freshness those records held that made them work.

The problem at heart is that there’s nothing new here on display. The core of the album is full of vicious metallic riffs and flurries of melodic shredding, strong songwriting and fairly fleshed out ideas. However, after two whole albums of this, we’re left aching for a just a bit more. “White Livered” and “Truth Be Told” strike the right chords, just old ones. It doesn’t help that four tracks are nothing more than meandering interludes that do little to nothing for the album’s flow. “Seven” is a nice change of pace at least, with softer tones and a longer runtime, but “The Blessing And The Curse” hinted at this a bit on the last record, and the acoustic tracks from “The Bridge Between” EP exhibited the band’s softer side already. The band’s playing is wholly intact however, which is what keeps the album in working condition. Every full length track is entertaining and full of energy. There is a notable absence of great hooks in many of the choruses, the likes of which carries past hits like “Blood On My Knuckles” and “A Pattern In Pain”. Phinehas wasn’t that reliant on big chorus hooks in the first place though, so it’s not as much of a blow as it could’ve been.

Till The End mostly turns out to be a great retread. While it’s full of Phinehas’ best characteristics it does betray a bit of stale flavoring. Hopefully, it’ll be the hint that pushes the band towards trying something new with their sound. As it is, the album is still a great blend of modern and old school melodic metalcore that we’re not disappointed to see in 2015.



Recent reviews by this author
Morbid Angel Kingdoms DisdainedForteresse Thèmes pour la Rébellion
Battle Dagorath II - Frozen Light of Eternal DarknessWolves in the Throne Room Thrice Woven
Dayseeker Dreaming is Sinking /// Waking is RisingThe Acacia Strain Gravebloom
user ratings (133)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
pjquinones747 (4.5)
Spread the Shred: the journey of four of metal's faithfuls in preservation of an endangered dialect....

tshosp01 (4.5)
While they haven’t tried to expand their borders musically, Till the End is a fantastic record by ...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2015


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Kinda disappointed with this, still pretty great overall.



Stream is on spotify and other places I guess.

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2015


6446 Comments


(edit: fixed)

- - - - - - - -

just a couple nitpicks. didn't read super in depth tho.
one thing i'd like to see you try approaching when reviewing is how the album actually makes you feel. like, why would you listen to it, regardless of whether or not you happen to be a metalcore fan or not. that's how you get people to check out genres they might not bother with otherwise.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2015


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thx for catching those and ill keep your second piece of advice in mind for the next couple of reviews I have planned

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2015


24413 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good review. the only standouts for me are seven and the title track, both of which have amazing hooks and i actually think they're better than anything off found in far away places

but the rest of the tracks including the pointless interludes are forgettable and bring this down

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2015


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

have you listened to any of their old stuff ins?

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
July 24th 2015


24413 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i heard their debut the other day, great stuff

rocketsfall
July 24th 2015


631 Comments


ye their debut is ace

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2015


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not sure if I like their debut or followup better but they're very close



A pattern in pain is probably their best song

rocketsfall
July 24th 2015


631 Comments


either the blessing and the curse or i am the lion for me. really love their melodies.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2015


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yea Blessing is probably the best off TLWIYTS, Blood on my knuckles rules too

rocketsfall
July 24th 2015


631 Comments


have you heard the new haste the day album?

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2015


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yea it's tight, not exactly as good as I hoped but still good

rocketsfall
July 24th 2015


631 Comments


damn i guess im a massive htd fanboy but i thought it was amazing. pretty sweet to have my name is in the cd and the shirt with all the donators.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2015


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

all the different vocalists they used bothered me, made everything sound kinda inconsistent, maybe a little jarring between certain songs



how much did you have to donate get your name in the booklet? I donated, just cant remember which one I did

rocketsfall
July 24th 2015


631 Comments


i did $100 for the shirt vinyl and cd i think. see as a fan from the beginning of htd all of them playing together was like a dream of mine come true

rocketsfall
July 24th 2015


631 Comments


hey itchy whats up lol

rocketsfall
July 24th 2015


631 Comments


i mean alright i guess. im not working now because i have cancer.

nononsense
July 24th 2015


3509 Comments


Those guitar solo's tho.

TooLateToGoBack
July 24th 2015


1953 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Seven is an absolutely brilliant song.



Definitely hope they utilize cleans like that more often.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
July 24th 2015


10195 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i love the solos



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy