Deftones
Diamond Eyes


4.5
superb

Review

by Simon STAFF
July 21st, 2015 | 57 replies


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Deftones rise like the phoenix and create one of the best albums of their career.

Everybody loves a tale of disaster. You can sit there and deny that you don’t, but the truth is people love to read a story of someone who climbs to the top of the mountain, only to come crashing down it from life dealing them a sh*t hand. The golden stories are the ones where someone is brought down by a disaster but they rise back up to challenge what brought them down.

The making of Deftones fifth studio outing, Saturday Night Wrist, was a challenging one for the band, with tensions running high during its creation; the end result was an album met with a lukewarm reception from critics and fans as well as the band questioning if their hearts were in making music anymore as they tried to make a slightly less strenuous album in the form of the still unreleased Eros. But the members of Deftones and their fans were left at a standstill in November 2008 when bassist Chi Cheng became seriously injured in a car accident, resulted in him being in a coma for several years and ultimately leading to his passing in April 2013. The crushing news of Chi left the band devastated and unsure on whether they should continue finishing Eros without Chi, or to disband all together.

In 2009 the bands activities were sporadic, doing a couple of shows and festivals, but they ultimately came to the decision to put Eros on hold and make a new album with long-time friend Sergio Vega on bass. The bands sixth album, titled Diamond Eyes, has a lethal injection of energy, with a found sense of channelled inspiration; songs are air tight and everyone plays and sounds great. Chino is the best he’s sounded in years, evident at the end of “Royal” which has this ferocious scream at the end, or on the radio-friendly title-track that soars in its choruses. Stephen’s guitar sounds absolutely monstrous throughout, but it’s on songs like “CMND/CTRL” and “You’ve Seen the Butcher” where the fat riffs and distorted tones start to peel skin off.

It’s not all face-melting guitar chugs though; the glorious “Beauty School” and “Sextape” have some wonderfully spacey reverb guitar parts, while Abe pulls on the feeling and flow of the songs with his drum parts. But it’s ultimately Chino’s vocals that make songs go as far as they do; they create the otherworldly vibe the band is well known for at this point, as well as pushing the band further into their sonically spacey ventures. While tracks like “Prince” and “Risk” set to bring back the White Pony feelings; aiming at the more depressing atmospheric lathing’s of previous works, but with a tone that is as equally heavy as it is atmospheric.

The album holds a couple of niggles throughout however: the first is the lack of change in some songs; once you’ve heard the fantastic opening riff to “You've Seen the Butcher” you’re left waiting for a big change up riff at the end of the song, but alas there isn’t one. It isn’t something to take away from songs, or the album, but tracks would have benefitted more from a couple of riff changes at the end of songs to make them feel completely satisfying. The last problem falls on some minor dull or awkward melodies in specific songs: “CMND/CTRL” has a cool rap-like verse, but when the chorus comes in it just sounds a little odd in comparison, and makes compositions feel a little hammered headed overall.

Overall though, this is one of Deftones finest works to date. It’s a shame to see such a tragedy bestowed on the band, but these guys rose up to all the problems and created an album that brings fresh vibrancy and enthusiasm to their sound – a sound that could have ended up stagnant if they were to continue the path they were heading. Diamond Eyes is an album made with their brother in mind and is most definitely a record Chi would have been proud to hear.

Superb.



Recent reviews by this author
Joanne Shaw Taylor Reckless HeartSaver They Came with Sunlight
HEALTH GTA: Online Arena WarThe Claypool Lennon Delirium South of Reality
Rotting Christ The HereticsHEALTH VOL. 4 :: SLAVES OF FEAR
user ratings (4349)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of


Comments:Add a Comment 
DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2015


15203 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

As always constructive criticism welcome my friends.

BonJobey
July 21st 2015


33 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I thought SNW was actually getting largely positive reviews.



Good review though, love this album.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2015


15203 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

When it first came out it wasn't met with that great a reception. This site was the first place I saw it hailed with resounding praise. lol

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2015


15203 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

At least in the UK anyway.

Mongi123
July 21st 2015


20168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dude SNW was very acclaimed by critics.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2015


15203 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I can't find any archive reviews from the UK, but when it came out here it was the bands slump in quality. I'm going to keep looking though.



But before people start assuming I'm saying shit, I'm saying it dipped in quality from the rest of their discog, not that it's a "bad" record.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2015


15203 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There is actually no archive reviews from magazines in the UK for SNW anywhere! I had to use these as examples from old magazines I have at home.





(For the start of the review for KNY)



If the greatest trick the Deftones ever pulled was to wholly disassociate themselves from the nu metal scene they helped to instigate, then the second greatest was to rescue themselves from the creative slump the Sacramento quintet experienced back on 2006’s Saturday Night Wrist, wherein vagueness and an inexplicable debt to Coldplay threatened to undermine their seemingly unassailable status as untouchable masters of modern heaviness. -- Metal Hammer



(from a snippet off the 666 albums of all time in the diamond eyes review (SNW doesn't even get a mention on it)



The Kerrang! critics album of 2010, Diamond Eyes marked a triumphant return to form after the poorly recieved 2006 album Saturday Night Wrist. -- Kerrang!



Not exactly amazing magazines, but it backs my point up a little from the little material I can prove that it wasn't a massive success over here.

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
July 21st 2015


1336 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can confirm, SNW bombed UK-wise.

There seemed to be a little bit of a love-in for the 'Hole In The Earth' single, but after how much Kerrang, Scuzz etc were all over the 'Minerva' and 'Hexagram' videos, this just seemed to fall on it's arse.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2015


15203 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thank god someone else knows. lol Thought I was going crazy.

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
July 21st 2015


1336 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't know whether it affected my enjoyment of the album to be honest, I had only just gotten into them with the S/T - very late to the party, and then it just seemed to be swept under the carpet.

Then when the 'Rocket Skates' video dropped, shit got real again!

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2015


15203 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah Rocket Skates rules. I never enjoyed SNW when it first came out. It was only when people hammered on here about how great it was I put a little more graft into it. Pretty enjoyable for me to listen to these days.

Mongi123
July 21st 2015


20168 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well can't speak for the UK or fans, but critically in the US it got some love. Not bashing your review it was very good! Just wanted to point out that SNW easing as poorly received as you made it out to be.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
July 21st 2015


15203 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No, quite aware it did well in the US. But on the flip side, if you actually look at the consensus for SNW on a general internet search, it isn't as well recieved as it makes out. Because I couldn't find anything from European critics, it was all American. lol And you could say that Euro critics make it out to be more poorly recieved than it actually is.



Tunaboy45
July 21st 2015


16708 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review man, Deftones can do no wrong

LilLioness
July 21st 2015


2994 Comments


Except Koi no Yokan.

Ocean of Noise
July 21st 2015


10529 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Koi no Yokan rules wtf



This is their best album

Digging: Agalloch - The White

LilLioness
July 21st 2015


2994 Comments


Hated it.

Ocean of Noise
July 21st 2015


10529 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's got some pretty amazing songs dude. Leathers, Entombed and What Happened To You? are some of my favourite Deftones songs ever

LilLioness
July 21st 2015


2994 Comments


Leathers is one of my least faves.

I am a Saturday gal.

cagedbutterfly
July 21st 2015


582 Comments


What a coincidence. Spotted this review while jammimg to white pony 0_0



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy