Ratatat
Magnifique


3.5
great

Review

by MercuryToHell CONTRIBUTOR (40 Reviews)
July 20th, 2015 | 33 replies


Release Date: 07/17/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Like Daft Punk and The Strokes having hip, metrosexual babies.

This record is not life-changing.
This record is not deep.
This record is damn good fun.

Ratatat don't write songs, they write fun little ideas that transform into earworms.
A quick flick through the duo's previous records shows that 'Magnifique' doesn't reinvent their own wheel, let alone challenge elsewhere on the electronica spectrum, but one doesn't get the feeling that's the intention of this album.

Combining tight, tinny, squealing leads and stomping, simplistic, almost glam-dance percussion, the vast majority of the tracks on offer here glide and bounce, staying just interesting enough to transcend pleasant background music.
Tracks like 'Primetime' and 'Abrasive' are frankly akin to melting a Brian May solo over the top of a Daft Punk instrumental.

The main criticism of this album may come in that plain lack of variance in the tracks - if the lead singles 'Cream on Chrome' and the aforementioned 'Abrasive' don't do much for you, this album as a whole assuredly won't.
And there's something frustrating in this, as when they do drop the odd curveball, such as the I-Monster-esque dreamy zombie plod of 'Drift', or the AIR-meets-Beatles bliss of 'I Will Return' - the feeling lingers that they're capable of painting from a much wider palette.

But honestly, when the bulk of the tracks on show are just so damn danceable, who cares about depth"



Recent reviews by this author
Foo Fighters Concrete and GoldBlack Malachite We All Come To An End
Calvin Harris Funk Wav Bounces, Vol. 1Stevens / Dessner / Muhly / McAlister Planetarium
Maximo Park Risk To ExistVirtual Blaze Terminal
user ratings (50)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2015


1255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Band I'd never heard before, thought I'd dive straight in.

Constructive criticism always welcome!

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2015


1255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thankyou!

I think I've just made more of a sustained effort to trim the rambling - I guess that's easier to do when you just plunge into something new rather than going over something you know massively well, or have a vested interest in the artist.



Will definitely try and move this on to future reviews!

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2015


1255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Formatting has never been my strong suit, will try and chalk it up to lack of experience, but I know it's been an issue in previous reviews as well - just a touch difficult to iron out!

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2015


1255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Will definitely work on it, thankyou!

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2015


1255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm not gonna poke the bee hive by asking how that happened, but glad to see you back!

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2015


1255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ouch man, does sound like a bit of a dick move, but I've wanted to throw everything back at people who've continually rubbed me up the wrong way, I just try and divert my attentions.

Gaming helps!

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2015


13300 Comments


good review, posd


Digging: Polvo - Cor-Crane Secret

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2015


1255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Cheers Mort - the actual album your type of thing?

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2015


1255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

FUCK ME this made front page.

I'm genuinely quite emotional!

barcafan21
July 20th 2015


2761 Comments


good review, pos'd

how does this stack up to their previous stuff?

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2015


1255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

In truth this was the first album of theirs I've listened to in full, I've taken a stab at a few tracks off their previous efforts...

The style hasn't changed much, I think they're a bit tighter than before, and I don't think it would be unfair to say that Random Access Memories was a big influence on this, but it stands alone marvellously.

barcafan21
July 20th 2015


2761 Comments


cool cool, thanks man!

WatchItExplode
July 20th 2015


5002 Comments


Now that's how you utilize the review summary feature.

dbizzles
July 20th 2015


10408 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Holy smokes, I didn't know this was out. Kind of sounds uninteresting in the review, but I think I'm picking up what you're putting down and hopefully this will be as good as LP4.

Digging: Summoning - Oath Bound

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2015


1255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I wouldn't go into this album expecting anything groundbreaking at all - I just think it's a nice sound that's been done really well over a full-length - and that's ultimately all I really want from an electronic album.

I don't always wanna be pushed!

klap
Staff Reviewer
July 20th 2015


11757 Comments


good review. you could literally copy this review until all of their albums bc the differences are almost nil. 2006's Classics remains the standard tho

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2015


13300 Comments


"the actual album your type of thing?"

No im not a fan of these guys at all, just not my thing

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2015


1255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Probably fair enough - I'm noticing it's interesting that the things I like about this album are the same things I found very disappointing in 'Human After All' - I think it's just down to better performance - that and a bit more variety.

Cygnatti
July 20th 2015


32025 Comments


daft punx is swee but strokes are meh. i'll give it a shot sometime.

MercuryToHell
Contributing Reviewer
July 20th 2015


1255 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Structurally this is nothing like Strokes - I just find a lot of the time, the dual guitar leads are very reminiscent of 'Under Cover of Darkness'

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_l09H-3zzgA



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy