Pity Sex
Dark World


3.5
great

Review

by BigHans USER (118 Reviews)
July 9th, 2015 | 58 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: “Dark World” sounds more "90s" than 90% of the punk/emo/shoe-gaze albums recorded in the actual decade, and that is a damn achievement.

Let’s start with a simple fact that will simultaneously either enthrall or horrify potential listeners: “Dark World” sounds like it was recorded in a Goddamn tin shed. This is lo-fi noise pop that makes the first Japandroids album sound like it was produced by a combination of Phil Spector, late 80s Mutt Lange, and black album era Bob Rock in a glorious orgy of coke, guns, and Rick Allen’s right arm. It’s disjointed, self-loathing, and ferociously sloppy, unquestionably what some might call beauty and others call B-sides Thurston Moore wouldn’t wipe his ass with.

Here’s the thing though. “Dark World” starts to grab you after a few listens. Beneath the fuzz and lyrics that sound like they were written by a 25 year old virgin lies an almost savant-like knack for melody. Opener “When You’re Around” is the noisiest ode to millennial depression here, but like almost every other track, is interlaced with a jangly, melodic guitar that sounds like they just took pieces of American Football’s “Never Meant” and sporadically threw it around the record. This co-mingling of sonic oxy-morons channels an engrossing power-fuzz/melody trade off that works tremendously. Album highlights “Dogwalk” and “Glue” abandon the noise almost entirely, relying on those mid 90s hooks that would have qualified it for bonus track status on the “Reality Bites” and “Empire Records” soundtracks. Even weaker points like “Coca-Cola,” which quite frankly contains utterly atrocious lyrics, and “Hole Away” are still redeemable because of the trenchant melodic undertone. Pity Sex seem to understand that opposites attract.

In the end, “Dark World” sounds more "90s" than 90% of the punk/emo/shoe-gaze albums recorded in the actual decade, and that is a damn achievement. Pity Sex’s approach might sadly relegate them to only being legends among hipsters who refuse to listen to anything that isn’t exclusively available on Bandcamp, but that would be a slight injustice. Any serious fan of underground 90s rock can find a way to appreciate this.



Recent reviews by this author
Judas Priest FirepowerGang of Youths Go Farther in Lightness
Metallica Master of PuppetsCaptain Beyond Sufficiently Breathless
Motorhead Ace of SpadesHighly Suspect Mister Asylum
user ratings (172)
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
BigHans
July 9th 2015


30957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Did this for the "Review a random album" game. Ended up liking this a lot more than I thought.

Snake.
July 9th 2015


22894 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ty hans

BigHans
July 9th 2015


30957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

NP man, had never heard of this. Hated it hard at first listen, grew on me.

AmericanFlagAsh
July 9th 2015


10159 Comments


Saw these guys Monday night super up close
My ears were ringing until yesterday

Digging: St. Vincent - Daddy's Home

BigHans
July 9th 2015


30957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Was it emotional man?

Snake.
July 9th 2015


22894 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

when i went to see these guys live the crowd was totally dead :/

MO
July 9th 2015


23262 Comments


fucking BigHans m/

always loved your writing style bro

Hurricanslash
July 9th 2015


1831 Comments


You are fast, man. So fast. Might check this.

BigHans
July 9th 2015


30957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, its a 24 minute EP, so didn't take long to jam it a few times.



M/ MO

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
July 9th 2015


19348 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The opener is so good

Digging: Sweet Trip - Walkers Beware! We Drive Into The Sun / Stab/Slow

Nagrarok
July 9th 2015


8645 Comments


This is lo-fi noise pop that makes the first Japandroids album sound like it was produced by a combination of Phil Spector, late 80s Mutt Lange, and black album era Bob Rock in a glorious orgy of coke, guns, and Rick Allen’s right arm.


I am very happy to see you haven't lost your touch. Have a pos on me.

GmemberKills
July 9th 2015


3776 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah this is a fun little ep. nice review too, surprised it didn't already have one

Digging: RA MU - Thanks Giving

Snake.
July 9th 2015


22894 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

flower girl is best

BigHans
July 9th 2015


30957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I liked Dogwalk a lot more than any other cut here. Probably cause its the least emo

BigHans
July 9th 2015


30957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Its a quick jam, even if you end up hating it lol

Snake.
July 9th 2015


22894 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dogwalk has that tropical twang to it that makes me wag my hips like

BigHans
July 9th 2015


30957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I haven't heard Feast of Love, but being that is a full length and this is a debut EP, I have a feeling this one is a lot messier.

Snake.
July 9th 2015


22894 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i spy with my little eye FoL in hans' ratings

BigHans
July 9th 2015


30957 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That was a mistake, meant to rate this one

Snake.
July 9th 2015


22894 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well FoL is gazier and noisier than this so you'd probably like that better



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy