Shamir
Ratchet


2.5
average

Review

by apokolypz USER (25 Reviews)
July 7th, 2015 | 39 replies


Release Date: 2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Funky R&B with a healthy mix of house music is just barely enough to keep Shamir's delivery appetizing.

Firstly I'd like to say that this is one of the most successful attempts at being influenced by LCD Soundsystem and putting it to good albeit, copycat use. Now if you take the instrumentals that made LCD Soundsystem so interesting and popular and imagine the nasally, timid, yet catchy vocalist from Hot Chip, Alexis Taylor, was into hip hop - you've got an accurate sound description as to what can be found on the debut album, Ratchet.

However, Ratchet is littered with slow songs where Shamir wants to get passionate and showcase an elegant vocal emphasis. Key word there - 'wants', because every time Shamir wants the down-tempo sap in replace for his bubbly, fun, and chaotic electronics blending in with his polarizing voice (to some) his voice becomes just that - even more polarizing in a boring display of ballads. In the major contrast, take a listen to "Call it Off" or "Make a Scene" which are two of the grooviest and dance-able tracks on the album. You can tell Shamir has much more confidence and willingness to have fun when he is actually put in front of the urban-geeky barrage of bass blasting glitches and house beats. When you listen to "Vegas" or "Demon" it is so off putting to have to come down from the great club tracks paired with Shamir's silly and likable lyrics you'd see on a 15 year old's Tumblr quote thread ("Guess I'm never-ending, you could call me pi. But really, how long till the world realize. Yes, yes I'm the best, *** what you heard. Anything less is obviously absurd.") and then have to be greeted by Shamir's longwinded attempts at being serious. It's a back and forth game of hard hitting dance tracks rubbing off of annoying electronic ballads. You'll probably be cherry picking this album a good bit.



Recent reviews by this author
Iceage BeyondlessScHoolboy Q Blank Face LP
White Reaper White Reaper Does it AgainThe Strokes Comedown Machine
Wolf Alice My Love Is CoolPortugal. The Man Evil Friends
user ratings (81)
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
wtferrothorn
July 7th 2015


5844 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Just a heads up, the band you were talking about isn't called LSD Soundsystem, it's LCD Soundsytem. Other than that, pretty good review

Rev
July 7th 2015


9881 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeah this sucks

apokolypz
July 7th 2015


491 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lmao, lsd. Had a whole conversation about that today, so I can see how I messed that up XD



Fixed thanks. Although lsd soundsystem sounds better to me

Lord(e)Po)))ts
July 7th 2015


46193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album Rating: 2.0



yeah this sucks



Digging: Slime Girls - YUMEMI/LONELY PLANET GIR




lmao rev u are easily one of the biggest knobs on this entire site. go listen to some more stereotypical regressive weeaboo offensively aggressive cultural appropriation bullshit akira inspired ~dreamwave~ and have a fap about it



album is rad love Shamirs whole androgynous thing goin on this is good educational music for people that leave their house and know whats going on in the world





Lord(e)Po)))ts
July 7th 2015


46193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

also lmao at the lsd soundsystem thing thats hilarious have a pos

Rev
July 7th 2015


9881 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

whatever dude

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
July 7th 2015


4483 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

album's all right but I loved the first few seconds of the first track and got super excited and then it kinda flattened out and got a lot less interesting pretty quickly. might try it again soon though

AmericanFlagAsh
July 7th 2015


8923 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

On The Regular rules

Digging: Kim Petras - TURN OFF THE LIGHT

apokolypz
July 7th 2015


491 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@Brostep, yeah Vegas was kinda floppy, but then the next few tracks after it are quite a bit of fun.

ShitsofRain
July 7th 2015


8162 Comments


potsy so mad lmao

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
July 8th 2015


4483 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

welp this just clicked and it's killer

sportsboy
July 12th 2015


695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

shamir needs that BIG hit cause i would love his ass to blow up

Digging: Pacific Yew - (?(?(?( Maidenhair )?)?)?)

CusmanX1
October 10th 2015


375 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm digging this in these days, and it doesn't seems so bad as you write.

AmericanFlagAsh
November 9th 2015


8923 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ok so finally listened to this. It's pretty good. On the Regular still rules. The first two tracks I don't care for. Hot Mess is annoying af. I really like Call It Off, Demon, and In For the Kill. The last three tracks are alright. KC, the bonus song, is a nice little ballad.

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2015


16313 Comments


is this the really feminine guy?

Digging: Fleshworld - The Essence Has Changed, but the Details Remain

Ryus
November 23rd 2015


17824 Comments




Calc
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2015


16313 Comments


is calling a man feminine blacklisted now too? gah dammit i can't keep up. I think this is the guy i saw in the music video where he's in a clothes store or something. I remember liking it.

Ryus
November 23rd 2015


17824 Comments


it's just kind of a weird thing to say when shamir doesn't identify as male or female



Calc
Contributing Reviewer
November 23rd 2015


16313 Comments


of course (pronoun) doesn't. am i thinking of the right human though? with the music video?

Ryus
November 23rd 2015


17824 Comments


yeah



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy