Thy Art Is Murder
Holy War


4.0
excellent

Review

by Gameofmetal STAFF
July 5th, 2015 | 134 replies


Release Date: 06/30/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The deathcore game is getting stronger.

Thy Art Is Murder’s Holy War pretty much refines every single aspect of their previous release, Hate. There are more death metal riffs and blast beats, the breakdowns are toned down in number but not intensity, the vocals are as commanding as ever, and the concept is edgier (though whether in a juvenile or impactful way remains to be decided by the listener). The Australian outfit excels at pummeling their fans and building ominous soundscapes, and Holy War does just that. The majority of the album’s aspects strike the right notes, and proves once again that Thy Art Is Murder are one of the style’s modern masters.

“Light Bearer” is the perfect example of the alterations in the band’s musical formula. Sure there’s still some chugging patterns in the mix, but it takes most of the track’s runtime to reach an actual breakdown. Most of the extended buildup is spent on doomy riffs and ominous leads while vocalist CJ McMahon roars over the tumult. Of course, there are plenty of breakdowns to get the pits going, but it’s great to see Thy Art Is Murder build more on their death metal influences. At the very least, it makes for a less monotonous listen. Most of the tracks follow in the same vein as “Light Bearer” in an appropriately effective way, if an unsurprising one, though “Child of Sorrow” takes these features and pushes them to the max. As always with the band, the true standout performances go to McMahon’s always impressive vocals and Lee Stanton’s fluid drumming. Stanton in particular completely wows with the cleanliness of his blast beats and carries the songs to new heights.

Thy Art Is Murder craft an impressive follow-up to arguably one of the best deathcore releases in recent years by focusing on building up their strengths. It’s a wise band that knows that if they can’t change the game, they can focus on making the old one stronger.



Recent reviews by this author
Vimur Triumphant Master of FatesBorn of Osiris The Simulation
Hate Eternal Upon Desolate SandsCultes Des Ghoules Sinister
Horrendous IdolBosse-de-Nage Further Still
user ratings (383)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
fuckgrant (4)
Holy War; an Unholy Masterpiece of Metal...

ADV123 (2)
Thy Fart Is Murder *slaps knee*...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
July 5th 2015


10548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

ugh this was kinda hard to write just because I'm hitting some writers block and it was hard to come up with something to say about this that I haven't said about some of the other recent awesome deathcore releases



whatever, tell me what you think, just glad i got this done

Gestapo
July 5th 2015


1378 Comments


BRING US REBIRTH

Digging: Dido - No Angel

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
July 5th 2015


10548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oooo dat red font

cmaitland421
July 5th 2015


407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This is seriously great man. You summarized the album's sound and strengths very concisely and smartly didn't rehash points from your other recent deathcore reviews.

Tunaboy45
July 5th 2015


16734 Comments


Great review for an album I'll almost certainly never listen to, have a pos.

Digging: PUP - Morbid Stuff

cmaitland421
July 5th 2015


407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Also my review for this was so short that I couldn't even post it here.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
July 5th 2015


10548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"This is seriously great man. You summarized the album's sound and strengths very concisely and smartly didn't rehash points from your other recent deathcore reviews."



this is some praise I didnt see coming considering how far from motivated I was to write this today lol



thx guise

FearThyEvil
July 5th 2015


16782 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is such a step back from Hate

erizen826
July 5th 2015


855 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I didn't dig this so much the first time through but it's growing on me. I don't think it's as hard hitting or memorable as Hate.

Dryden
July 5th 2015


13551 Comments


this sucks

ElegantElephant
July 5th 2015


1391 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeah this is pretty much no fun. deathcore being "srs" rarely works...light bearer's last minute or so is pretty sick though

Tunaboy45
July 5th 2015


16734 Comments


agreed, deathcore needs to take itself less seriously

MattTD
July 5th 2015


678 Comments


SPINELESS FOLLOWERS


dundundundundundun

Dryden
July 5th 2015


13551 Comments


open stringz

Tunaboy45
July 5th 2015


16734 Comments


God that album art is just hilarious.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
July 5th 2015


10548 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm pretty sure that's the opposite of what they're going for actually

Dryden
July 5th 2015


13551 Comments


its just shit

Nocturnalize
July 5th 2015


2463 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thank you Gamebby





titanslayer
July 5th 2015


2713 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

This could have maybe been a 2.5 or a 3 if it had more low end. It's hard to be hard hitting when you don't have any oomph

emester
July 5th 2015


8252 Comments


Feel like I say this to you on all of your reviews, Game; Great review, shit band



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy