Drudkh
A Furrow Cut Short


2.0
poor

Review

by Kyle Ward EMERITUS
July 3rd, 2015 | 78 replies


Release Date: 04/20/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Forgotten legends

The main argument against Drudkh as of late has not been that of execution, but rather imagination. There is not really a whole lot going on within A Furrow Cut Short’s 59 minutes to pull a listener in, and that is not even comparing it to the daunting array of weapons produced on Roman Saenko’s past work. Rather than an arsenal, we have a small cache of riffs that whip about in the normal cyclical Drudkh fashion that up until recently has been used for transition among and between the more bombastic arrangements that would flair up and steal the show. These monumentally depressing dirges run ceaselessly from track to track, conjuring up an atmosphere that is not so much inspiring awe in the Eastern European soundscapes as it is highlighting just how dreary life there can be sometimes.

A Furrow Cut Short is merely passable in some regards, with the heavy production lifting the wailing tremolos up along with the chords that provide some crunch to keep it all in check. Saenko’s screams are visceral and lasting, having an edge to them that seems more natural and less otherworldly. Strangely enough, though, it comes together in a fashion that reveals just how much Drudkh have deviated from what they do best. Long gone are the flashy bass licks or the crisp acoustic guitars, and instead we have an approach that is more in line with a wall of noise rather than a deliberate attempt to create atmosphere. It doesn’t help that the actual content of the record is almost entirely forgettable, with only one riff that deviates from the norm enough to pique your interest. That norm, though, that represents the meat and potatoes of A Furrow Cut Short is more famine than feast, running its course with little emotion relative to what we know the band to be capable of.

For that I am a bit disheartened, because even comparing A Furrow Cut Short to the band’s next weakest effort A Handful of Stars, it still falls far short. Unlike their bizarre 2010 aside, this album tries nothing brazen or inherently interesting, it just sort of goes with the motions that Eternal Turn of the Wheel got rolling. Friction within the barren atmospheres is grinding that motion to a halt, because without continued effort in the songwriting department there is little hope. Being aurally assaulted for an hour with a near-ceaseless barrage of up-tempo black metal is not what a Drudkh record should be – leave that to the second-wave bands. Drudkh are about motion, about a fluidity the likes of which their counterparts don’t really understand. The black metal scene in Eastern Europe has long been a favorite of mine for these distinctive qualities, but seeing a leader of that scene devolve into run-of-the-mill black metal is nothing short of an affront to what they once represented. This is not the Drudkh we all know.



Recent reviews by this author
Kauan KaihoInsomnium Winter's Gate
Be'lakor VesselsNovembre Ursa
Swallow the Sun Songs From The North I, II & IIIKauan Sorni Nai

user ratings (101)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crysis
Emeritus
July 3rd 2015


17288 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

This is over 2 months late but here it is

Hawks
July 3rd 2015


51902 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Sweet review as always.



I don't think this is that bad at all though tbh.

Digging: Swallow the Sun - The Morning Never Came

Crysis
Emeritus
July 3rd 2015


17288 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

The songwriting is just so ridiculously lazy.



Nothing happens the entire record.

Hawks
July 3rd 2015


51902 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

It's certainly not on the level of everything up to Microcosmos that's for sure.

Cygnatti
July 3rd 2015


31987 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

by my count, about 50-60 good releases and ~100 enjoyable ones out of almost 200 i've heard. ^_^

FlyheadMetal
July 3rd 2015


2422 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I forgot this happened

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
July 3rd 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

bout time



need to bump this down, a 3's kinda generous

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
July 3rd 2015


21997 Comments


I refuse to listen to this

Cygnatti
July 3rd 2015


31987 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I should probably emphasise that I mean 4.0 and up
maybe like 5 or so :/



Wizard
July 3rd 2015


20124 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

I thought you liked this album Kyle?



It was shit the first spin, really fucking boring the second time, absolute waste of anyone's time the third.



For that I am a bit disheartened, because even comparing A Furrow Cut Short to the band’s next weakest effort A Handful of Stars, it still falls far short.



At least they tried something different on A Handful of Stars and I personally thought it beat everyone to the shoegaze/ bm trend. There's no excuse for this, it's just plain rotten by black metal standards.



One of the worst years for metal might I add, nothing truly memorable. Gonna go back to new Prurient and tell metal, "See ya in 2016".

Cygnatti
July 3rd 2015


31987 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Exactly.... Shit year tbh.
i mean last year had like 10, but honestly most years have only about 5-10 4.0/5+ a year

Valkyrion
July 3rd 2015


1161 Comments


glad to see I'm not the only one struggling to find great releases this year, I've only given two low 4.0s so far...

FlyheadMetal
July 3rd 2015


2422 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

why is this bad?

Crysis
Emeritus
July 3rd 2015


17288 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

It's bad because the songwriting is lazy to the point of being offensive. There is literally zero variety here. The riffs all just mash together with little to no differentiation and the production is far too loud.



@Karl- I remember us discussing how we both disliked this when it first came out.



Agreed about this being a poor year for metal.

Relinquished
July 3rd 2015


36585 Comments


keep searching LT

Cygnatti
July 3rd 2015


31987 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah I found a few cool metal albums.

But I think we can all agree that it's been an awful year for prog.

Wizard
July 3rd 2015


20124 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

@Karl- I remember us discussing how we both disliked this when it first came out.



Ahhh we probably did but because I'm such an old geezer now and I forget how to use this internet thingy, I'm not on here as much : (.



We need Neurosis to release something this year.



Yeah I found a few cool metal albums.

But I think we can all agree that it's been an awful year for prog.




Besides new Prurient, electronic and noise is plentiful and very much alive.

DarkNoctus
July 3rd 2015


10068 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i've only REALLY liked one metal album this year



it sure as shit isn't this one

Cygnatti
July 3rd 2015


31987 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Nah wiz, believe me, noise, PE and the like are dying a slow painful death... This year is the best evidence of it. PE is on life support at this stage.
if it's any consolation, as the years go by, more and more people (proportionally) are becoming aware of these genres...still too many don't even know they ever existed.



Irving
Staff Reviewer
July 4th 2015


7503 Comments


Haven't listened to this yet, but this sounds sad-making =(



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy