Main Attrakionz
808s and Dark Grapes III


4.0
excellent

Review

by Trebor. STAFF
July 2nd, 2015 | 81 replies


Release Date: 06/30/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Green OVA is all I know

Main Attrakionz's rise to prominence is a hazy, yet heartwarming story. Squadda B and MondreM.A.N. cut their teeth in Oakland California (AKA San Francisco's drunk and disorderly roommate) releasing a mass of cloud rap tracks that was only eclipsed by Lil B's freak output. Listening to Main Attrakionz was like being a teenager and hanging out with your friend: it's chill, it's a good time like 75% of the time, but occasionally said friends would peer pressure you into smoking weed and your mom would get pissed. Fortunately with 808s & Dark Grapes III, Main Attrakionz are mature adults making less hazy, more grown up music that is 100% mom approved.

Much of MA's lyrical content in the past dealt with personal and social struggles, and the pressures that come with being on the border of good and evil. On Dark Grapes III, Main Attrakionz stand firmly on the side of good as the lyrics and flow are much more optimistic and confident. The music (produced entirely by Friendzone) certainly reflects this change, as its clear and full sound is like a beam of light piercing through the hazy vibe MA used to display. Squadda B and MondreM.A.N. no longer sound amateur and thus no longer need their vocals to hang back in the mix. This change allows the production to be bright and bombastic resulting in a summer approved vibe that permeates the mix. Friendzone are no longer the main attraction as Squadda B and MondreM.A.N.'s vast improvement result in an album that is as strong vocally as it is musically.

808s & Dark Grapes III isn't a game-changer, it isn't even cloud rap, but it's 12 tracks of all killer no filler and a blissful soundtrack to summer and all things good.



Recent reviews by this author
Bring Me The Horizon AmoAlkaline Trio Is This Thing Cursed?
Mark Kozelek Mark KozelekDr. Octagon Moosebumps
Blessthefall Hard FeelingsMoose Blood I Don't Think I Can Do This Anymore
user ratings (58)
Chart.
3.5
great
related reviews

808s and Dark Grapes II

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2015


56349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not my 100th review, I've had a couple deleted



good album

Gyromania
July 2nd 2015


26502 Comments


good shit rob. been waiting a while for this one, glad to hear it's good

PappyMason
July 2nd 2015


5702 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah but still, it's your current 100th review so congrats.



Review needs a tiny tidy up, like you've spelt Main Attrakionz wrong twice in the first paragraph, and there is a stray coma by the colon.



This was a decent listen for me, but didn't really make much of an impression (unfortunately). Still, there's plenty of time for that.

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2015


56349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks fellas



Fuck I always think there's a T in Main Attrakionz

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2015


56349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't really think there is much to say tbh

Wadlez
July 2nd 2015


4917 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I just get dey money.

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2015


56349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't really care either tbh this might be my last

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2015


56349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've been screenwriting more full time now and that's the writing I actually want to do and I just have no interest in describing songs and shit anymore



I'll probably only write a review if I really have something to say about an album, like more than just hey this is good I like it or hey this is bad I don't like it



Also Potsy shitting on my personal reviews kind of got to me I don't know I'm just not as comfortable bearing my soul on here anymore

Lord(e)Po)))ts
July 2nd 2015


40977 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Also Potsy shitting on my personal reviews kind of got to me I don't know I'm just not as comfortable bearing my soul on here anymore





get a tumblr or a diary then

Digging: Amon Tobin - Fear In A Handful Of Dust

Lord(e)Po)))ts
July 2nd 2015


40977 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

the "getting caught by your mom smoking weed with ur budz" analogy takes up like 45% of the review and is also whack af



second paragraph is better

Tunaboy45
July 2nd 2015


16702 Comments


Ooh

impoppy
July 2nd 2015


2133 Comments


Didn't find out about him til this album but this is really good stuff.

Pajolero
July 2nd 2015


1043 Comments


Treb's doing a hip-hop review whaaaaaaaaaaaat.

Digging: Malibu Ken - Malibu Ken

dimsim3478
July 2nd 2015


8086 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Also Potsy shitting on my personal reviews kind of got to me I don't know I'm just not as comfortable bearing my soul on here anymore


fuck thaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat who cares if your lame personal writing is good or not, just post it here anyway if you think it's good

Treb's doing a hip-hop review whaaaaaaaaaaaat.


Treb's known quite well for his affinity for hip hop, especially meme rap

Lord(e)Po)))ts
July 3rd 2015


40977 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5



Treb's known quite well for his affinity for hip hop, especially meme rap





tha fuck are u on about

impoppy
July 3rd 2015


2133 Comments


wut wut?

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 3rd 2015


29585 Comments


If I quit writing every time someone bitched about me bearing my soul on Sputnik I wouldn't have made it past 2010. Just move along and tune out the negative voices.

Digging: Copeland - Blushing

indigonowhere
Emeritus
July 3rd 2015


10727 Comments


i like your reviews rob

i like this album too

oltnabrick
July 3rd 2015


36324 Comments


friendzone yurrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrp

Digging: Nivhek - After Its own Death/ Walking in a Spiral

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
July 3rd 2015


16069 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

review and album are no good honestly. I'll come out and say it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy