Vince Staples
Summertime '06


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jordan M. STAFF
July 2nd, 2015 | 483 replies


Release Date: 2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A world gripped in perpetual misery and suffering.

In a year where To Pimp a Butterfly is hyperbolically heralded as a clarion call for racial awareness and uprising, Vince Staples comes as a threatening, terse, Beanie Man-free reminder that us white people can't really cope with race if it's not romanticized with hooks and guest features. Spread across 2-discs and clocking in at under an hour, Summertime '06 is expansive yet constrained in delivery; Staples has a lot of truths to tell, and he knows how to deliver them with striking brevity.

In that sense, the stark minimalism of Staples' prose and delivery recall the transgressive literacy of Burroughs, traces of whom can be found on Odd Future alum Earl Sweatshirt's I Don't Like Shit, I Don't Go Outside. Lead single "SeƱorita" wallops with violent impact thanks to a masterfully placed Future guest spot and horrifically tense accompanying music video. While Kendrick Lamar did his best to push the realities of gang banging on "The Blacker the Berry", Staples resorts to a harsh confrontation of his past when he admits that, 'That's somebody's son but [there's] a war to be won/Baby either go hunt or be hunted'. On Hell Can Wait and Stolen Youth, he came through as a tiring, if not needlessly vicious ruminator for Odd Future's juvenile anthems. Here, he confronts the realities of a black Californian upbringing and refuses to make concessions in the form of high power guest spots or accessible trap beats. Clams Casino and No I.D. turn in grim backdrops for Staples to paint his frustrations upon, with "Summertime" and "Surf" best highlighting the subtle nuances of the aforementioned producers' capabilities. The sparing use of guests works in Staples' favour- as a narrative, this is refreshingly singular in its vision when compared with A$AP Rocky or Big Sean's recent major label releases.

Summertime '06 is as bleak as mainstream hip-hop will allow for in 2015. It's not overtly enjoyable to experience because this is a reality that does not call for glamour. An apt comparison for Summertime '06 comes in Larry Clark's Kids: unsettling because, deep down, you know the experiences are true to something outside of a sheltered upbringing. Summertime '06 is, among others, an illumination on a world gripped in perpetual misery and suffering, delivered in all its relevant parts for a socially ignorant audience.



Recent reviews by this author
Sheck Wes MudboyTravis Scott Astroworld
Denzel Curry TA13OOPusha T DAYTONA
Post Malone beerbongs and bentleysJ. Cole K.O.D.
user ratings (605)
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
AsimovsGhost (3)
Some impressive bars and excellent production can't save this album from being tedious at times...



Comments:Add a Comment 
Hurricanslash
July 2nd 2015


1831 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like this album.

RadicalEd
July 2nd 2015


9546 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Review is good... But I really don't like the production on this thing.

He's fine as a MC and I heard some interesting lyrics, but overall this album was a slog to sit through. I know it's kind of the point of the album, but it still means I don't really enjoy my time with it.

RadicalEd
July 2nd 2015


9546 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah I wouldn't say it's bad, it's just not my cup of tea. I'm usually more into more organic production anyway (think "Undun" or "How I got over" or and I hate to bring it up on the first page "TPAB").

PappyMason
July 2nd 2015


5702 Comments


Nice review, a good read. I haven't heard this yet, I need to get on it.

klap
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2015


12326 Comments


i dig the beats on this but i can't stand his voice

Yuli
Emeritus
July 2nd 2015


10743 Comments


i need to check this out

that first sentence throws me off, i don't see what's hyperbolic about TPAB being a big album in terms of racial awareness and uprising. rest of the review looks solid tho

DropdeadWHA
July 2nd 2015


1396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is seriously good, Vince bringing it back.

Veldin
July 2nd 2015


3982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I seriously love every song on this (albeit maybe not Street Punks)

Veldin
July 2nd 2015


3982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review, by the way! I really enjoy all the beats, is Staples the producer?

adr
July 2nd 2015


12095 Comments


http://www.sputnikmusic.com/forums/image.php?u=304979&dateline=1435856303

http://www.sputnikmusic.com/forums/image.php?u=432232&dateline=1435856303

Yuli
Emeritus
July 2nd 2015


10743 Comments


hi adtr

aaanndyy
July 2nd 2015


25 Comments


sorry, but dude can't write good hooks for shit. repeating a phrase over and over doesn't count unless it's badass or catchy enough (i.e. the only thing i ever ran from is the police) but they're almost never badass or catchy at all.. i had the same gripe with hell can wait too. that said, album's really dope in most other respects

Guzzo10
July 2nd 2015


1276 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agree with Omaha x100 with that opening sentence

ParanoidAndroid96
July 2nd 2015


1393 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice review, I've been jamming this a lot recently. the beats bang and vince is cold as hell all over this



@veldin no I.D. executive produced this album and made a vast majority of the beats I believe

RadicalEd
July 2nd 2015


9546 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Agree with arcade x100 regarding that opening sentence. And i like tpab way better than this

DropdeadWHA
July 2nd 2015


1396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Vince doesn't even strike me as someone who cares about hooks, hooks help but they're not essential.

ILoveRadiohead
July 2nd 2015


46 Comments


epic review tbh

kris.
July 2nd 2015


15506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gave this a run through the other day and yea its great

PaddyPooHead
July 3rd 2015


394 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

He was never part of Odd Future so you might wana change that.

PaddyPooHead
July 3rd 2015


394 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"fellow Odd Future alum Earl Sweatshirt"



Yes, you did.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy