Fronzilla
Party People's Anthem


1.5
very poor

Review

by ASnideReturns USER (26 Reviews)
June 30th, 2015 | 180 replies


Release Date: 06/30/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Partying harder than a funeral ceremony

In the world of Metalcore, Fronz and his ragtag bunch of partying band members from "Attila" have always been able to scruff off criticism of their music for a multitude of reasons; for every person saying that their music is "irritating, generic and crass" there's another person saying that it's "not meant to be taken seriously, they're just having fun, it's meant to be party music." Putting Attila as a whole aside, there's no doubt that Fronz is a solid technician behind the microphone; so when I heard that he was making a solo album, I expected at the very least a catchy distraction that I could listen to a few times then completely forget about. Unfortunately this is not the case, as Fronz's debut solo album takes every bad aspect about his vocal style, lyricism and influences to an almost comically exaggerated level with only a few saving graces along the way.

Fronz's vocals have decidedly taken a turn for the worse here as a multitude of the tracks see him utilizing weird annunciations, feigned accents and occasionally some barbaric tapir grunts straight out of Far Cry 3; this is presumably to make up for the lack of variety that the mix of screams, shouts and rapping brought forth in Attila's music (which was arguably limited). While his speed can be impressive at times and his flow is acceptable, he never truly hones in on his potential. The lyricism is the same as ever, intoxicated rabble-rousing, high octane, low safety antics, and shout outs to gentlemen and ladies who feel the music is disreputable. The only time a hook ever draws you in is during Tyler Carter's cameo in the song "They Still Talk."

What truly surprised me as well was how boring the backing beats and musical arrangements were; Scout from Issues produced them, and barely any of his influence even seems to be remotely present. While cleanly produced, the produced material is loud, grating and doesn't sit well with the vocals. Some songs attempt to go somewhere with novel sounds and the like, but it builds up frustratingly only to fall flat on its face.

Fronz more than likely won't care, as day one sales probably recouped the production costs four times over (as he owns his own label, he retains all of his own profits bar the money he most likely had to pay to Scout, Tyler, etc). What is shown here is a money-making machine with a lot of business potency, but no musical substance.



Recent reviews by this author
Neurotic November Fighting WordsThe Illustrator A Tale of Modern Theatrics
Mayday Parade Black LinesJayyVon 10CMD
The Glitch Mob Piece of the IndestructibleBlood on the Dance Floor Blood Unplugged
user ratings (41)
Chart.
1.2
awful
recommended by reviewer
Attila About That Life

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
June 30th 2015


14139 Comments


"Putting Attila as a whole aside, there's no doubt that Fronz is a solid technician behind the microphone"

Theres actually a shit ton of doubt, hes a fucking awful musician and vocalist

Digging: Paddy McAloon - I Trawl The Megahertz

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
June 30th 2015


14139 Comments


"strongest gutterals in mainstream metalcore"

So what hes king of genericore still means hes shit by any significant standard

His gutturals are lol worthy

Angelboros
June 30th 2015


1357 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

The growls and howls that my butthole can unleash are relatively better. Granted, there actually was a time when Fronz didn't sound all that horrific, but right at this moment... ugh.



On the other hand, good review. Those have got to be the douchiest shades known to man.

Judio!
June 30th 2015


8434 Comments


Nice review, although to be perfectly honest I wouldn't have set my hopes so high for this to be anything above a 1.5.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
June 30th 2015


4455 Comments


one of the worst covers I have ever seen

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
June 30th 2015


14139 Comments


oh and good review snide, posd

Spec
June 30th 2015


35633 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I hate how all his fans defend this guy by saying "well it's his image, look how much money it's gotten him."

betray
June 30th 2015


9387 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

enter shikari is literally morts favorite band so dont take anything he has to say about vocalists seriously





MattTD
June 30th 2015


678 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Fronz's rapping is hilariously bad, all the shite bits of your typical trap rapper without any of the flow or swagger



His screams are alright but I'm not so sure on his live performance, watched some videos from this year's Warped and it's not up to standard tbh

MattTD
June 30th 2015


678 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Also Rou is sick don't h8

betray
June 30th 2015


9387 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

fronz vocals are more shit live than they are on record



he can't even come remotely close to how he sounds in the studio

botb
June 30th 2015


12472 Comments


Fronz is bad period why did you even bother to review this

MattTD
June 30th 2015


678 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I'd expect Attila to at least be so bad it was actually banter live, but nope they're just an awful live band

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
June 30th 2015


14139 Comments


Betray parrin me hard fam

Nocturnalize
June 30th 2015


2463 Comments


This is dope guess you guys just aren't party people

zaruyache
June 30th 2015


20382 Comments


snide i can't make fun of you if you write decent reviews with adequate opinions pls stop.

Digging: Forest - Like a Blaze Above the Ashes

JasonCarne
June 30th 2015


1019 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Cool, I always love a nice little objectivity booster. This may be the worst thing to happen to music since Lulu.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
June 30th 2015


24657 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

attila is horrendous, i cant imagine how bad this is

nice to see ya reviewing again bro, pos

deathschool
June 30th 2015


23269 Comments


Fronzilla is the solo rap project of Metalcore superstar and clothing brand owner "Fronz" from the band "Attila."

Why the fuck..

Digging: The Spirit Of The Beehive - Pleasure Suck

Thealwaysopenedmind
July 1st 2015


698 Comments


Can somebody please give Fronz that f*cking Newport he asked for on Rage so he can shut the hell up? Haha.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy