NYVES
Anxiety


3.0
good

Review

by Christopher Geriak USER (69 Reviews)
June 26th, 2015 | 21 replies


Release Date: 06/23/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An unfortunate lack of emotion and variety prevent NYVES' debut album from being as good as it should've been.

The electronic genre never really made much impact in the Christian music industry as few projects have made waves since its inception in the early '90s. However, it might be making a slight comeback now with Demon Hunter’s Ryan Clark and ex-Project 86 member Randy Torres’ new project, NYVES. It may not come as a surprise considering that Demon Hunter’s last album, Extremist, delivered a more unique experience compared to the band’s earlier material, so it’s most likely that Clark would be more than willing to try out a different musical experience. Hence NYVES was created, and at first it seems as though the potential was there.

Anxiety is certainly a more unique record than most would think. Despite the fact that Ryan Clark is the vocalist for a heavy metal band, and Randy Torres was of a similar outfit, Anxiety is more of a calmer, moody album rather than aggressive. ‘Return’ sets up that mood as the opener, and it works decently as the atmospheric sound along with its slow pace create that calming presence. However, while delivering the aggressive approach would’ve most likely made the album more predictable, the calmer sound ends up being Anxiety’s downfall as the album goes on. The first half of the album feels monotonous, as the songs slip in one ear and out the other due to often-lazy production. One example is ‘Something Divine’ as there isn’t enough energy and emotion to keep the listeners interested.

Another main problem within the first half is Clark’s vocals. Now by all means, he does a decent job as his voice flows through the music well, but the emotional aspect throughout the first half of Anxiety is devoid of interest due to his lack of variety. It feels as though he’s holding back, as if there’s something that is preventing him from delivering what could’ve been an excellent performance. ‘Smoking Gun’ and ‘Just Give Up’ suffer from this especially as both songs are supposedly the more upbeat pieces, but Clark delivers a rather uncanny and lackluster performance. Even though the idea of this record is a more moody and relaxed sound, it feels as though Ryan is too comfortable, or that he doesn’t want to perform at all. It’s unfortunate as his talent as a vocalist is wasted.

However, it’s during the second half of the record when everything finally comes into place. ‘Fool’ manages to deliver a powerful and beautiful sound with the piano ballad soaring through the song’s melodic grace while Ryan finally manages to deliver an emotional performance, and it works incredibly well. ‘The Exit’, ‘Fall Behind’ and ‘Idle Thoughts’ are also some of the best moments on the album as the beats are energetic and the choruses are well-executed. The aggressive tone in ‘Idle Thoughts’ is catchy and incredibly memorable while Clark delivers arguably his best performance in the album. ‘Parasites’ is also a slight change in tone with a more poppy structure rather than a darker tone compared to the rest of the album. It’s a nice change of pace considering the first half of the album seems to meander through the production and lack of emotion.

What Anxiety delivers is potential, and while much of that potential seems to result in disappointment, there’s still something to be found here. Sure there are quite a few bland moments, but the energy and the emotion in the second half of the album really get going and prevent the album from being a waste of time. For those wanting a more unique album compared to recent releases this year, this isn’t a bad album to listen to. Let’s just hope that whatever Clark and Torres have in store for the future, they’ll fix up their mistakes and create something even better.



Recent reviews by this author
Evanescence SynthesisRed Gone
August Burns Red Phantom AnthemStarset Vessels
In Flames BattlesToo Close to Touch Haven't Been Myself
user ratings (16)
Chart.
2.9
good


Comments:Add a Comment 
Toondude10
June 26th 2015


11605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

thanks to JOTS for proofreading



6 months in and I still haven't reviewed an album that's over a 3.5 rating :P



This is probably going to be my last review for a little while as I will be on vacation throughout the whole month of July.

Digging: Face The King - Once More Is All I Am

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2015


13292 Comments


Good review toon, posd

Honestly ive only ever heard clarks work in Training For Utopia, their 2nd album is a favourite of mine for being one of the first to mix electronic genres and metalcore together well, you might find it an interesting album

Digging: The Body and Full Of Hell - Ascending a Mountain of Heavy Light

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2015


13292 Comments


Oh and most of the electronic work on that album is industrial in nature, i just saw the industrial tag on this and thought it was worth mentioning

Toondude10
June 26th 2015


11605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I'm not too fond of Training for Utopia, I've been meaning to listen to them at some point.



"Oh and most of the electronic work on that album is industrial in nature, i just saw the industrial tag on this and thought it was worth mentioning"



That's what I thought too, but I stuck with the electronic tag because not everyone is going to see this as industrial.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2015


13292 Comments


I was saying the tfu album is industrial in nature

Ur confusing me man

Toondude10
June 26th 2015


11605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

ooooh nvm then :P

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2015


13292 Comments


Oh and i think tfus first album is overated as fuck and thats probably the one youve heard some of, if you havent heard their second then check that, you may find it more to your likeint

Toondude10
June 26th 2015


11605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

well if I remember within the next two months I'll be certain to try

Beardog
June 26th 2015


1600 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Album is reaaally boring... Expected a lot more

Toondude10
June 26th 2015


11605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

The first half of the album is just so meh. Same thing with the last song too, pretty disappointing closer if you ask me.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2015


18884 Comments


Nice work dude pos

Toondude10
June 26th 2015


11605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

cheers! :-)

Metaltronic
June 27th 2015


29 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I like the production, not SUPER impressed by it but it's good. Vocals remind me of '90s and '00s radio metal like Staind or Disturbed (not specifically those bands, just examples of what I mean by radio metal) for some reason though, really unfitting for the music.

TwigTW
June 27th 2015


2787 Comments


Interesting cover of the Psych Furs' "Love My Way".

PunchedPeach72
June 27th 2015


377 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I was really psyched to hear about this project considering Demon Hunter got me into metal back in late middle school, and I was excited to hear what Clark could do in a complete opposite genre, but I was pretty disappointed with the singles. Prolly still gonna jam regardless

Mrjohnsini
June 27th 2015


20 Comments


Randy Torres was the coolest dude in Project 86. It's a shame he stopped working with them. His electronic/industrial talents could have been explored there further, and better.

Toondude10
June 27th 2015


11605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I honestly really enjoyed the first two songs they first put out. They're some of the best tracks on the album for sure.

TooManyFriends
June 27th 2015


2529 Comments


good review, pretty boring album. Ryan clark usually makes great stuff so idk what happened

Toondude10
June 27th 2015


11605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

well hopefully if there's another NYVES album, it'll be better than this.

Toondude10
September 22nd 2015


11605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Clark announced a new project with Jason Martin http://store.northernrecords.com/album/uppers



sounds interesting to say the least, hopefully it'll be better than this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy