ASAP Rocky
At.Long.Last.A$AP


3.0
good

Review

by Jordan M. STAFF
June 26th, 2015 | 108 replies


Release Date: 05/26/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Mindless fun at best.

For an artist whose biggest criticism comes down to a lack of substance in the face of glitzy guest features and world-class beats, At.Long.Last.A$AP. goes a long way towards proving A$AP Rocky is worth the guests he's flanked by. The problem inherent in that is that Rocky doesn't need to prove himself to anyone, delivering some of the best pop rap bangers of the last few years regardless of innovation or incite. What results in his second major label effort is simply unremarkable, a questionable descriptor when considering the context of A$AP Yams' recent death and the evident wider ambition on display.

At.Long.Last.A$AP. is enjoyable enough, but it rarely shakes the looming shadow of its far superior predecessors. Some risks are taken- to great effect, no less, on the drugged up drift of "L.$.D."- but for the most part the beats play up to expected Rocky fare. Rocky's dependence on guests works to his advantage yet prove that his skills can be mediocre at times; as a result, most of At.Long.Last.A$AP. is buoyed by features, with Rocky's few lone moments ("Excuse Me" and "Better Things" most notably) serving as filler. The likes of "Fuckin' Problems" and "1 Train" that made for Long.Live.A$AP's highlights feel repeated here, as "Jukebox Joints", "Everyday", and numerous tracks featuring singer-songwriter Joe Fox delivering the better and far more hallucinatory moments of the album. It doesn't wallop with bangers quite like its predecessor nor does it seem as revolutionary as Live.Love.A$AP's careless haze. Instead, At.Long.Last.A$AP is mindless fun at best, perfunctory at worst.



Recent reviews by this author
Travis Scott AstroworldDenzel Curry TA13OO
Pusha T DAYTONAPost Malone beerbongs and bentleys
J. Cole K.O.D.Manic Street Preachers Resistance Is Futile
user ratings (535)
Chart.
3.4
great
other reviews of this album
cmaitland421 (3.5)
A$AP Rocky's trippy, bleak second LP is his most polished work to-date....

RaymondPelayo (4)
Psychedelia With A$AP Rocky...

nickswandotcom (4)
For all the hype, it's...really good...

jessedeal (4)
An impressive progression for the Harlem rapper....


Comments:Add a Comment 
breakingthefragile
June 26th 2015


3104 Comments


I really appreciate the concise reviewing style that you've been going for lately. I personally think capsule reviews need to make a comeback in the internet age. Invisible pos from me.

trackbytrackreviews
June 26th 2015


3361 Comments


A 3? Damn that's harsh

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2015


15979 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

and generous.

SonofSnow
June 26th 2015


1724 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah it's boring

Tunaboy45
June 26th 2015


16205 Comments


I've heard it's a dull album

Digging: Ghost (SWE) - Prequelle

Gyromania
June 26th 2015


25507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

definitely don't agree with this review. really enjoying this atm

DrJohn
June 26th 2015


1041 Comments


The short route can be quite effective and tbh more inviting to read through. nice going arcade.

trackbytrackreviews
June 26th 2015


3361 Comments


Nope what we need is more MM8 reviews

GnarlyShillelagh
Emeritus
June 26th 2015


6385 Comments


Good write up, think I enjoyed this just a bit more than you did. Agreed about joe fox giving this album life it really wouldn't have had without him; his inclusion on this album really did a lot for it. Also agree about rocky being a kind of ehh rapper, that's really my biggest complaint about the album, that once you get past the glitzy flows there's no content and no real bars. Not that one listens to rocky for lyricism, but a few clever lines here and there would really help to break the monotony that sets in after a while. I do think he makes up for it with great songwriting across the board though, only a couple joints on here that I felt were subpar.

Gyromania
June 27th 2015


25507 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'm very into the sound on this, maybe more so than his last album. it's ambient, atmospheric, sort of melancholic at times (canal), and somewhat darker [musically] than his previous stuff. all that considered, i still think live.love. is my favourite. the production is so good, even if the melodies on this are arguably better

ParanoidAndroid96
June 27th 2015


1391 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah I like the direction he's going in with the sound on the album, but I don't think Rocky executes it all that well. I hope he continues to explore this particular sound tho

ShakeSoda
July 5th 2015


151 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, surprising to say the least. I thought that this was his best work yet. It is a bit long, though.

PistolPete
July 8th 2015


4751 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like how much more mature this record sounds, I kinda liked the more laid back vibe of it, didn't really need the bangers. I did find though that after "Wavybone", the last third of the album is pretty weak. That's what really held it back for me in terms of rating.

Digging: Denzel Curry - TA13OO

deadcrown
July 13th 2015


803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

some cringeworthy moments on here

Gestapo
July 13th 2015


1334 Comments


bangers [∞]

jmh886
July 14th 2015


2066 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Kanye's verse is easily the worst thing on this album.

PistolPete
July 14th 2015


4751 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I GAT one child...ONE CHIIIILLD

iamamanfromspace
July 20th 2015


1030 Comments


don't rate albums here anymore but this is a 2.5 at best

guitarded_chuck
July 20th 2015


15409 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

p much agreed with the review



live love is one of my favorite releases this decade and i continue to be disappointed with rocky since, though he's more so a pop rapper now so i can't blame him

Skoj
July 22nd 2015


1608 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nailed the review. perfectly said.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy