Tyler, the Creator
Cherry Bomb


3.0
good

Review

by Jordan M. STAFF
June 24th, 2015 | 41 replies


Release Date: 2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Business as usual for Tyler, the Creator.

As per usual, Tyler, the Creator has managed to disappoint by falling short of his own hype. On Wolf, that came through as "Domo23", a nasty red herring that was little representative of its dour parent album. With Cherry Bomb, it came in the form of "Deathcamp", 3-minutes of signature Tyler vitriol punctuated by Cole Alexander's razor sharp guitar riff. In contrast with Earl Sweatshirt's I Don't Like Shit, I Don't Go Outside, an album in pursuit of a mature, unified, and succinct vision, Tyler's youthful abandon shines through in those 3-minutes when recklessly declaring that, 'Who I are really isn't important!'.

It's a shame then that the rest of Cherry Bomb doesn't follow suit. Wandering a miasma of subpar In Search Of... and No Love Deep Web clichés, Tyler refuses to create any cohesive material. When he's not doing his best to channel Pharell, such as on the rather lousy likes of "Fucking Young / Perfect" or "Find Your Wings", he's doing his best to smear his compositions with scratchy noise. That approach is significantly an issue on the title track, where most of the tune is lost under a forced sense of abrasiveness. The problem isn't that the material is outright poor, but that underneath all the heavy-handed experimentation and boring attempts at subtlety there's the hint that substance could exist. It doesn't, and so the infuriatingly fist-pumping "Deathcamp" and Yeezy and Weezy flaunting "Smuckers" are left to show that Tyler probably could create a masterpiece if he so chose to do so. Instead, Cherry Bomb exists as an album of sporadic highs and middling variety. In essence, it's business as usual for Tyler, the Creator.



Recent reviews by this author
Sheck Wes MudboyTravis Scott Astroworld
Denzel Curry TA13OOPusha T DAYTONA
Post Malone beerbongs and bentleysJ. Cole K.O.D.
user ratings (593)
2.6
average
other reviews of this album
RaymondPelayo (3)
The experimental vibes of Tyler, the Creator...

Mutantsnowstorm (3)
Despite a good amount of fun and interesting tracks, an abundance of ambition and vision creates one...

PistolPete (3.5)
As exciting as it is bizarre, it won’t win “Album of the Year”...but it could make a good hard...


Comments:Add a Comment 
GnarlyShillelagh
Emeritus
June 24th 2015


6385 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"recent release schedule has been pedestrian at best, so i'm revisiting some albums from throughout the year that haven't received a contributor/staff review and giving them one."



if you liked asap rocky you should do that one too then cause i'm a pos slacker

Judio!
June 24th 2015


8453 Comments


Nice soundoff

Tunaboy45
June 24th 2015


16784 Comments


Short, sweet and well written. Have a mind pos.

guitarded_chuck
June 24th 2015


18034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wolf was so much better than this, and I really don't agree with the idea that Domo23 gave false hope/expectations for that album as a whole. It wasn't even close to the best song.

guitarded_chuck
June 24th 2015


18034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Honestly I suggest going back and listening to it again.



There is nothing on here close to songs like 48, Answer, Awkward, IFHY, PIO/C/B, Treehome, Lone.

WatchItExplode
June 24th 2015


7100 Comments


The problem isn't that the material is outright poor, but that underneath all the heavy-handed experimentation and boring attempts at subtlety there's the hint that substance could exist.

This is my issue with Tyler. There is no point to what he does.

guitarded_chuck
June 24th 2015


18034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well before he put out better quality but it was always a little scattered and chaotic but the free-form was intentional. Think of it similar to punk.





guitarded_chuck
June 24th 2015


18034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

He never had their potential. He was originally the better producer is all.

guitarded_chuck
June 24th 2015


18034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You haven't rated Wolf. Be honest, have you even listened to it?

Son of Mr. Pain
June 24th 2015


24855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Good review

Son of Mr. Pain
June 24th 2015


24855 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

If you've heard it, then you are required by law to rate it

Relinquished
June 24th 2015


41097 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

as part of the staff you gotta back up your stances

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Birth of Violence

WatchItExplode
June 24th 2015


7100 Comments


hep no likey

guitarded_chuck
June 24th 2015


18034 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

dont so sarcastic i was just asking, because the introduction to your review just seems so off it's hard to believe it comes from someone familiar with Wolf

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
June 24th 2015


10642 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

thought it read like less than a 3 but cool review

IcelandRevel
August 19th 2015


943 Comments


You've heard of Tyler, The Creator now get ready for...Tyler, The Curator.

I just posted this because I thought of it today and it made me laugh.

Supercoolguy64
December 29th 2015


8997 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is odd, to say the least

i wonder what the future holds for tyler now

wtferrothorn
December 29th 2015


5827 Comments


I have a feeling that it's gonna be an...odd future

Supercoolguy64
December 29th 2015


8997 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this album makes the past seem quite normal

hortanz
June 23rd 2016


806 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

he did a remix of pillow talk and it's awesome



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BFLP9XzFrq0



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy