Everything Everything
Get to Heaven


4.5
superb

Review

by dogsarefriendly USER (15 Reviews)
June 23rd, 2015 | 465 replies


Release Date: 2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: placing art-pop's flag on the face of mainstream success

Everything Everything continue their trend of growing exponentially between releases with their best yet, “Get To Heaven”. The band build upon their 2013 album “Arc” by somehow managing to write songs that are even catchier than previous crowd pleasers “Kemosabe” and “Cough Cough”. New singles “Regret” and “Distant Past” trump the aforementioned with regard to catchiness and overall craftsmanship and both showcase the step-up in quality on album 3 “Get To Heaven”.

Although catchy, the songs do not lack depth. Heavy subject matter is paired with catchy hooks from the very beginning, with harrowing subjects like Ebola, the missing Malaysian aeroplane and the rise of racist political party UKIP disguised by the upbeat nature Jonathon Higg’s vocal delivery. It’s only later that you realise that you were unknowingly dancing along to a song about an ISIS beheading, (track 1, To The Blade). Or when you catch yourself singing the lyric “I’m going to kill a stranger, so don’t be a stranger” (track 10, No Reptiles).

The album has the polished sheen of pop production thanks to Stuart Price, who is also responsible for material by The Killers and Madonna. This is no bad thing however, as the cleanliness of the production allows for each of the bands much-loved quirks and intricacies to be heard. There is always a worry that a band will need to forfeit their individuality in order to continue progression however, Everything Everything’s weird side has in no way been suppressed in order to gain more mainstream success.

Frontman Jonathon Higgs is without a doubt the bands key contributor, with his lyrical skill and of course, his impressive falsetto and vocal range. However it is important to mention bassist Jeremy Pritchard who underpins the entire album with innovative bass lines that make the album as “danceable” as it is. Both Higgs and Pritchard are the main reason that “Regret” is such a brilliant single and that “The Wheel” and “Spring / Sun / Winter / Dread” are album highlights.

This album builds on the previous success of Everything Everything’s current discography and sets to place art-pop’s flag on the face of mainstream success by skilfully balancing lyrical depth, catchy music and a healthy amount of weird.



Recent reviews by this author
Low Totem SleuthRun Forever Run Forever
The Japanese House Pools To Bathe InCirca Waves Young Chasers
Jonny Craig The Le Cube SessionsTitle Fight Hyperview
user ratings (374)
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
JJKeys (4)
'Did you think that Everything, Everything would change?'...

eventheminions (4.5)
With their third record, Manchester quartet Everything Everything find the perfect balance of infect...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Tunaboy45
June 23rd 2015


16788 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Good review, have a pos. Regret is an absolute tune.

dogsarefriendly
June 23rd 2015


48 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks man, have you heard the album?

JJKeys
June 23rd 2015


1087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

God damn it, I'm just in the middle of writing a review for this - gg on being first to the post



I find the singles to be the weakest songs on the album, and I was expecting to really not enjoy this after hearing them - but damn it grows on you.

Grizzlypyro
June 23rd 2015


272 Comments


Album is so tight, pretty much all I've been listening to all week

JJKeys
June 23rd 2015


1087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Kinda bummed Hapsburg Lippp didn't make it onto the base LP

dogsarefriendly
June 23rd 2015


48 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, me too. The bonus tracks are all so good

JJKeys
June 23rd 2015


1087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Btw I just put up my review for this just now, cough cough shameless plug cough

apokolypz
June 24th 2015


491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Is there a stream?

dogsarefriendly
June 24th 2015


48 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Don't think so dude.

LotusFlower
June 26th 2015


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fucking Sony wont sell this America.

LotusFlower
June 30th 2015


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

If it wasn't for like, one track this album would be a 5/5. Way too good.

JJKeys
June 30th 2015


1087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Which track?

LotusFlower
June 30th 2015


12000 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yuppie Summer and Fortune 500

DoofusWainwright
June 30th 2015


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just listening to this for the first time - very very interesting.



There are enough nods to Radiohead and Talking Heads on this album to curry a lot of favour on this site you'd guess?

DoofusWainwright
July 1st 2015


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

- fit out a padded room with speakers and clear away any sharp objects

- sedate Matt Bellamy and strap him into a seat in the middle of the room

- play Muse 'Drones' in its entirety

-play 'Get to Heaven' in its entirety

- provide copious tissues for mopping up tears



Also might bump my rating soon

JJKeys
July 1st 2015


1087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I am very close to bumping mine too - and aha that is brilliant, Doofus



Fortune 500 is fast becoming one of my favs, tbh

DoofusWainwright
July 2nd 2015


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

F*ck it, life's too short - for now I'm 5'ing this.



First 5 since 'Trouble Will Find Me' and yeah it means this is a top 20 album of all time...for now.



Let's see how long it can stay up there. Just love the way this combines the catchiest elements of Talking Heads, Wild Beasts and Radiohead with a singer who's just as interesting as those band's lead singers.



If this stays a 5 and album of the year I'll review it too come January.

zakalwe
July 2nd 2015


29090 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Niven has described the band's naming process as follows: "The idea as I saw it was to try to take contemporary R&B pop music and fashion a vaguely Futurist project out of it, and between the two of us we chose the name Everything Everything, a détournement of sorts of an over-saturated media culture into something idealistic and expansive"



Eject. Bin

DoofusWainwright
July 2nd 2015


19991 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lol Zak that being as it is this album is genius.



Niven has left the band now and you know we've all talked bollocks in the past



The Farage baiting 'the Wheel is turning now' buys my loyalty straight off the bat, the opening 3 minutes of that song is just perfect

zakalwe
July 2nd 2015


29090 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

5s of the last few years ranked.



1. King Creosote - From Scotland with Love

2. Boards of Canada - Tomorrow's Harvest

3. National - Trouble Will Find Me

4. Bill Wells and Aidan Moffat - The Most Important Place in the World.

5. PJ Harvey - Let England Shake

6. Calexico - Algiers





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy