Breaking Benjamin
Dark Before Dawn


4.5
superb

Review

by hobblepot USER (16 Reviews)
June 22nd, 2015 | 49 replies


Release Date: 2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This album is likely to be the 'dark' before the 'dawn'

It has been a grueling 6 years for Breaking Benjamin. Since the release of Dear Agony, the band has gone through what would honestly tear most groups apart. Benjamin Burnley's recurring illnesses forcing the band to cancel many many shows, then there was the lawsuit between Ben and his ex-bandmates. It felt unlikely we would hear from the group again. However, Breaking Benjamin have survived despite the turmoil, and have returned with an album that is far better than most would expect considering the circumstances.

Dark Before Dawn marks a departure for the band, despite the album sticking to the formulaic lyrical content and production values of prior albums. But bare in mind, this entire album was written before the band's current lineup was brought in. Ben has always been the bands primary composer and songwriter, so this album was bound to stay close to the band's roots. However, now that the band has four new members, it is likely we will see more experimentation in future.

The album has its highs and lows, as does any album. But in this case, the highs outweigh the lows. By far the album's standout track is 'Ashes of Eden', a slow, soft ballad that truly stands apart from the rest of the albums heavy chugging alt rock sound. Lyrically, it is nothing new. Burnley, while certainly talented, isn't the best when it comes to the songwriting. His lyrics aren't terrible, but they are often recycled album to album. The instrumentation is something to behold however, with every instrument playing its part and creating a soundscape of soft guitars, with Bens soft singing layered on top. The song is easily the most beautiful and elegant Ben has written, and is going to be the song the album is noted for.

The rest of the album is what you would expect from Breaking Benjamin; Heavy alt rock with chugging guitars, pounding drums and Burnleys vocals. Some songs like 'Failure' and 'Defeated' are so similar to songs we've had in the past (So Cold and Had Enough respectively) that it feels as though Ben didn't put much effort in. However, the songs are decent, and worth listening to for longtime fans. Tracks like 'Bury Me Alive' and 'Hollow' go for more of an alt metal sound, with heavier breakdowns, and some screamed vocals.

Dark Before Dawn will please fans of Breaking Benjamin, and is definitely worth listening to. For anyone else, there is likely to be something here for you to enjoy, but it will not change how you feel about the band. Hopefully, with the next release, we'll get something a bit more experimental.

[It is worth noting the chord progression in 'Bury me Alive' sounds similar to that in Korn's 'Justin', and with Korn being one of Benjamins influences, it is entirely possible 'Justin' was the inspiration for this track.]



Recent reviews by this author
Crim3s CRIM3SCrown the Empire Sudden Sky
Twenty One Pilots TrenchFalling in Reverse Coming Home
Death Spells Nothing Above, Nothing BelowDefeat The Low A Nervous Smile
user ratings (514)
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
hobblepot
June 22nd 2015


2326 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Review wasn't needed, but as a huge Breaking Benjamin fan, I had to. Any typo's are due to my laptops malfunctioning keyboard. Constructive criticism please, this review isn't my best I'll admit, but tips on how I can improve would be great, thanks

Digging: Starset - Divisions

Toondude10
June 22nd 2015


14038 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"It has been a grueling 6 years for Breaking Benjamin."

5 years actually



"Ben, whilst quite a talented song writer, has never really had a way with lyrics."

poor sentence structure here and it's also kind of contradictory as well. "Burnley, while certainly talented, isn't the best when it comes to the songwriting." sounds much better.



"The rest of the album is what you would expect from Breaking Benjamin. Heavy alt rock, with chugging guitars, pounding drums and Burnleys vocals."

this should be one sentence. replace the period at the first sentence with a semicolon.



"songs we've had in the past (So Cold and Had Enough respectively) that it does feels as though Ben didn't put in much effort

made some small edits there



"It is worth noting the chord progression in 'Bury Me Alive' sounds similar to that in Korn's 'Justin', and with Korn being one of Benjamins influences, it is entirely possible 'Justin' was the inspiration for this track."

while it is interesting to know, this isn't really necessary. you could just make it a little blurb or something within the paragraph.



Review reads out more like a 3.5 or maybe a 4 imo.



Make sure you italicize albums as well. I'll give out some more feedback later.

Tunaboy45
June 22nd 2015


16784 Comments


By far the albums standout track is 'Ashes of Eden'

'albums' needs an apostrophe

review needs some proofreading

hobblepot
June 22nd 2015


2326 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Thankyou for the feedback I'll get on those edits now

Snake.
June 22nd 2015


21793 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

stop hating on it before its released, ignorant twats. I will be reviewing this as soon as it comes out, Breaking Benjamin are one of my favourite bands, and I have been waiting 6 years for this. I've pre-ordered it and everything

Digging: American Football - American Football (LP3)

hobblepot
June 22nd 2015


2326 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

you suck to read

hobblepot
June 23rd 2015


2326 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I know I just read it myself, any idea how I could change it?

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
June 23rd 2015


18922 Comments


[It is worth noting the chord progression in 'Bury me Alive' sounds similar to that in Korn's 'Justin', and with Korn being one of Benjamins influences, it is entirely possible 'Justin' was the inspiration for this track.]

remove that, it's unnecessary to have at the end of the review. find a way to implement it into the review, or drop it altogether

Otherwise, talk more about the album, and fix up the spacing issues - those paragraphs are lacking to be honest.

Digging: Doopees - Doopee Time

hobblepot
June 24th 2015


2326 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Thanks for the help I will be sure to do that next time :D

strawberriesandgravy
August 8th 2015


39 Comments


Great review, made me want to check this album out. However I feel like the review content doesn't match the rating.

Toondude10
August 11th 2015


14038 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

how did this one get flagged?



system must've went apeshit again

hobblepot
August 27th 2015


2326 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Maybe I am the system

DaveyBoy
Emeritus
September 29th 2015


22486 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

It may be 6 years since their last album & they may have 4 new members, but Pennsylvanian rockers Breaking Benjamin sound pretty much the same as ever on 5th LP 'Dark Before Dawn'. The distinctive vocals of the sole remaining founding member Benjamin Burnley return (he also produces), as does the radio-friendly post-grunge that backs him. As consistent as ever, the record is disconcertingly familiar, with recycled riffs, melodies, song structures & even lyrics apparent. Safe & formulaic it may be, but the album is practically without filler & will undoubtedly satisfy long-time fans. Recommended Tracks: Failure, Never Again, Defeated & Bury Me Alive.

hobblepot
October 1st 2015


2326 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

DaveyBoy very true, I didn't expect anything 'groundbreaking' with this album, and to be honest as a fan I didn't want anything 'groundbreaking', I wanted a Breaking Benjamin album, and that's what I got. Now the band has new members, hopefully we'll get more variation in sound on the next LP

CMX97
October 16th 2015


17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

*Whistle* good comeback!

lordsonam
December 13th 2015


4 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

What the fuck

Cryptkeeper
January 18th 2016


1897 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I wanted to like this more, but then they stopped chugging

Toondude10
February 4th 2016


14038 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

so a bunch of 1's for this just came out of nowhere

Satellite
February 4th 2016


25867 Comments


someone's alting hard

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
February 4th 2016


25948 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i guess the stuff you resort to when you grow up without the love of your parents and need attention any way you can get

Digging: Arnaut Pavle - Arnaut Pavle



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy