Summer Fiction
Himalaya


3.0
good

Review

by SowingSeason STAFF
June 18th, 2015 | 30 replies


Release Date: 06/16/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Breezy, whimsical pop just in time for summer.

Straight out of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Bill Ricchini feels like a soul misplaced. Here’s a man who has Brian Wilson and the Beach Boys written all over him, and his sunny brand of pop music beckons the mind towards beach fronts – not traffic jams. Nevertheless, he sounds like he’s lived his entire life catching waves and making footprints in the sand. His eponymous debut garnered plenty of praise for its lush ‘60s-era arrangements, and he’s chosen to pursue that path as far as it will take him. With Summer Fiction’s sophomore release Himalaya, the melodies flow even more effortlessly, proving that Ricchini’s natural west coast vibe flows from an intrinsic pool of talent that surely won’t expire any time soon.

Himalaya does not deliver anything surprising. It’s breezy, whimsical pop music just in time for summer. With that said, it wastes little time attempting to overstep its bounds. ‘Dirty Blonde’ and ‘Perfume Paper’ afford Himalaya a rather grand entrance, with the former bouncing atop upbeat piano notes akin to Jack’s Mannequin’s Everything In Transit while the latter flows effortlessly between crystalline guitar chords that echo with the free air of a summer drive spent with the car roof down. ‘Lauren Lorraine’ is a quaint little cut, featuring the album’s most memorable chorus – even if it becomes a tad repetitive after the first few renditions. As the album commences without a hitch, it’s pleasantly surprising how it continues to roll along smoothly even after the best tracks are out of the way. ‘Genevieve’ thrives on its lax, inner peace-inducing verses, harkening back to Frankie Valli’s 1967 staple ‘Can’t Take My Eyes Off You’, and the piano instrumental ‘Manchester’ serves as a shady reprieve from the midday heat. Himalaya may indeed be a simple album, but it’s devoid of filler.

Summer Fiction’s second release is one of those albums that marks a pleasant, if unchallenging, listen. However, that’s the point – no one is going to fault Ricchini for delivering exactly what he intends to. It’s lazy, pretty pop that sounds best with a margarita in your cup holder in front of a sky blue ocean. With predictably romantic lyrics and the wrenching sting of unrequited love, this is an album that would make any fan of ‘60s surf pop proud. So grab a beach towel and head for salty air. With a copy of Himalaya in your hand, the experience couldn’t feel any more authentic.




Recent reviews by this author
Silversun Pickups Widow's WeedsKishi Bashi Omoiyari
Plastic Mermaids Suddenly Everyone ExplodesToth Practice Magic and Seek Professional Help
Matt Kivel last night in americaQueens of the Stone Age ...Like Clockwork
user ratings (10)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
June 18th 2015


31068 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Reppin' Philly mad hard lately.

A short and sweet review for a short and sweet album. A nice break from my typical 5 page endeavors ; )

Digging: Kishi Bashi - Omoiyari

ComeToDaddy
June 18th 2015


1795 Comments


I should probably give this a miss since we're going into winter here, but mentioning Everything in Transit has me very intrigued. Damn fine review too, nice breezy read.

ProjectFreak
June 18th 2015


3679 Comments


Sowing have you always lived in Philly? I grew up in Souderton and still visit on occasion

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 18th 2015


31068 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@ComeToDaddy: It's way more like the Beach Boys. I just mentioned JM because the piano drives that song and it reminded me of it. And thanks, I decided to make this one concise.



@Project: Used to live in Philly, but not anymore.

VengeanceCactus
June 18th 2015


19 Comments


Damn Sowing, you've been going so hard with the reviews lately. Your vocabulary has been noticeably improving with time, great review!

psandy
June 18th 2015


280 Comments


You rec'd smile and I love you for that. Also your review output quality and quantity has been very impressive. Keep it up :-)

psandy
June 18th 2015


280 Comments


Also the record is workin so far for me

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 18th 2015


31068 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks fellas. This is a strong 3, very enjoyable all around. Not all albums needs to be profound, some just exist in a pleasant little niche. This is proof of that.

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 19th 2015


31068 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

He seems to have a solid grasp on his vocals and that's like 80 percent of his musical appeal...I'd bet he's at least decent live.

RadicalEd
June 19th 2015


9546 Comments


lol. I could tell by looking at the cover, that this was a sowing review =D.

Nice review as usual, embedded song is a jam actually.

danielito19
June 19th 2015


12075 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this was cool but the whole time i just thought "damn i wish i were listening to pet sounds instead" so

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 19th 2015


31068 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've become predictable, eh? I'll have to review some shitty dubstep album next just to throw people off their tracks.



And yeah this is basically Pet Sounds lite.

ZackSh33
June 20th 2015


681 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This sounds like it'd be right up my alley gonna give it a shot



Great review as always Sowing!

Lord(e)Po)))ts
June 20th 2015


43287 Comments


is this

full of whimsy?

Digging: A l l i e - Nightshade

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 20th 2015


31068 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Zack!



And yes Potsy, ever so whimsical.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
June 20th 2015


43287 Comments


oh lordie!

theNateman
June 21st 2015


3649 Comments


I love me some whimsy.

JamieTwort
June 22nd 2015


26988 Comments


60's influenced pop eh? I could potentially like this. Would hope it's not a complete throwback and has at least something in the way of a modern touch to make it interesting though.

Great review, Sowing.

danielito19
June 22nd 2015


12075 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

the production job is pretty modern. melodically it's very very 60s though

JamieTwort
June 23rd 2015


26988 Comments


Right, will prob give it a listen regardless anyway.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy