Gorgoroth
Instinctus Bestialis


2.5
average

Review

by Hawks USER (100 Reviews)
June 16th, 2015 | 31 replies


Release Date: 06/08/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Gorgoroth at their weakest point....

There's no denying that Gorgoroth made a huge splash in the early Norwegian black metal scene. Their first 3 albums, Pentagram, Antichrist, and Under the Sign of Hell are all classic type albums throughout the 90's. They lost a little steam after that with Destroyer and Incipit Satan, but then redeemed themselves with Twilight of the Idols and Ad Majorem Sathanas Gloriam, which was their best album since Under the Sign of Hell by far. But sadly after Gaahl left the band, it's been all downhill ever since.

Much like the previous album, Gorgoroth fall into the same traps a lot of modern black metal bands fall into. Boring riffs, constant blast beating, and no passion in the music whatsoever. The passion and emotion from their early albums is completely absent. Not even that they haven't released great albums since the first 3 because they have, but this just lacks anything worth coming back to. Don't get me wrong, there's some decent riffs scattered throughout the album, but not enough to keep it interesting. And while the vocals aren't too bad, there's nothing special about them. No variety, just a decent scream that manages to get the job done.

Instinctus Bestialis isn't an awful album, it's really not. There's just nothing that's interesting about these guys anymore and nothing that hasn't been heard hundreds of times before. And don't get me wrong, some of the Norwegian bands can still pull off this same exact sound to this day, most notably 1349 and Mayhem, but Gorgoroth is pretty much a gimmick at this point. Infernus seems to just be content with putting out mediocre music while still using the Gorgoroth moniker. So my main point is, if you're an established black metal fan you should stay away from this. New black metal listeners, this could be a decent starting point because it's accessible, but just know there's much better albums out there that the genre has to offer.



Recent reviews by this author
Uada Cult of a Dying SunDeamon Descend Dethrone
Slow (BE) V - OceansEvoken Hypnagogia
Judas Iscariot An Ancient Starry SkyGoatmoon Finnish Steel Storm
user ratings (102)
Chart.
2.8
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
June 16th 2015


64566 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Wrote this on my iPhone so there could be spelling errors, just point them out if you find any.



Figured I'd give this one a write up. m/

Flugmorph
June 16th 2015


20099 Comments


wont bother with this, good review though, especially for the writing conditions. Pos'd

Hawks
June 16th 2015


64566 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks bro, I'm pretty happy with this one actually.

Hawks
June 16th 2015


64566 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

They're pretty much dead at this point my man.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
June 16th 2015


11342 Comments


Good review, pos.

Not even gonna bother with this one.

Hawks
June 16th 2015


64566 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks dude. Yeah it might be worth one listen, but that would be about it.

Totengott
June 16th 2015


4222 Comments


Nice review, I completely agree anyways. Pos.

Digging: Intronaut - The Direction of Last Things

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
June 16th 2015


24500 Comments


This review reads like a summation of the band's career... they've always been pretty average. But fuck yes a Hawks review. It's short, but informative enough.

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Midian

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
June 16th 2015


17866 Comments


Never could get into these guys, this sounds like every other album I've heard by them

hansoloshotfirst
June 16th 2015


1131 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

review is spot on. boring album.

Digging: Solstice (UK) - White Horse Hill

DungeonBoy
June 16th 2015


5089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

whelp.

Hawks
June 16th 2015


64566 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Thanks bros. m/



Brandon they have 5 albums that I would really consider great, the others are average as fuck.

Wizard
June 17th 2015


20204 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

If you weren't going to do this review, I was because Gorgoroth is basically a joke bm band.

hansoloshotfirst
June 17th 2015


1131 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

nah pentagram, antichrist and under the sign of hell arenĀ“t essential bm albums but are still p cool and even ad majorem.. and twilight of the idols are decent.

the rest sucks though.

Hawks
June 17th 2015


64566 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

At this point yeah I'd agree hard Wiz. First 3 are essential imo which is why I said it, I'd consider Ad Majorem pretty essential for modern bm as well and yeah Twilight rules too.

Vetimus
June 25th 2015


809 Comments


Problem with alot of modern black metal is its to clean sounding, bland guitar playing, annoying triggered sounding drums and cheesy vocals with corny gimmicky music videos.

Yes Carach Angren im looking at you.

Hawks
June 25th 2015


64566 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Carach Angren rules though....

Vetimus
June 27th 2015


809 Comments


Well their new album is pretty bad, they started out good but now their incredibly cheesy and lame.

Hawks
June 27th 2015


64566 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Disagreed hard, but whatever. m/

Vetimus
June 27th 2015


809 Comments


Lol check their new music video for the new album, you would have to be blind to not see how corny they have become.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy