Violet Cold
Desperate Dreams


4.0
excellent

Review

by BallsToTheWall USER (225 Reviews)
June 14th, 2015 | 28 replies


Release Date: 04/11/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Let this heavy storm of euphoria wash away your sins. United we stand.

I have a delicious treat for all the sorry ingrates out there who dared ruffle the feathers of the almighty Deafheaven. Solemn judgment for the damned, a magic jammer for the wicked souled hostility goblins that defied the new guard of black metal, swords of revealing light for those pure at heart. A change of heart for those willing to open their once heavily guarded hearts. A treat for the guardians of the trve who rose above from the sorry depths of hell to hate, hate, hate on the delicate emotional colonialism of the new wave of sensitive black metal. A treat that will have you trading out your smouldering, fire-breathing asshole for a lavender garden filled with butterflies and inner peace. MWHUAHHHHH!!!!!!

The treat I have for you all is a band called Violet Cold. A band so radiant and celestial, a band so purple hued that the members of Darkthrone would choke on their breath and turn into catmint if their grim ears were unfortunate enough to witness and absorb their pleiadian, space ambient blackened pop metal sound. Violet Cold was born in the majestic depths of Azerbaijan in the year 2013 through the radiant eyes, heart, hands and soul of one incredulous man named He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named. Desperate Dreams is the latest release by the band. It's sound can be described as sugar, spice and everything nice. Like a Golden Corrall stocked with new age books, heart chakra paintings, herbs, yoga selfies, flower gardens and colorful pastels instead of their traditional icky, Satanic affair. The album is an amalgamation of electronic pop, space ambient and black metal with knee-buckling piano instrumentals thrown in for the good measure of helping you perfectly align your chakras. You only live once so why be a buffoon with bad morals and hygiene"

The album starts as beautifully it finishes. With piano flourishes so captivating it's almost a shame that the album can't be like that forever. Nonetheless, the show must go on. "La Petite Mort" is the first proper track on the album and it immediately swarms you with unrepentant beauty. Driving keyboards that must have been inspired by the indigo children themselves provide the foundation for the record. Synths beamed down from the heavens that sound so delicate and divine. There is no darkness to be found. There is no battle with the draconians today. Today they've had a change of heart. There is only love and light. Feel your soul begin to release the toxins that lie within. The guitar patterns are simplistic and complimentary towards the dense spellbinding circle of angel synth that encloses this record. Although playing second fiddle the guitar provides some nice heartfelt melodies and tremolo picked sweetness. Percussion is subdued as well but once more it's not a bad thing. There is no pot of greed here. Only unity and divine spirit. The drumming patterns are relaxed but efficient in providing a positive surge of intensity for the record's celestial atmosphere. The vocals are harsh but expressive and provide a nice injection fairy lily-esque dynamic to the synth, guitars and rhythm section. They're not too grim but not too delicate either.

To me, Violet Cold has the potential to be the gate guardian to this new realm of emotionally expressive black metal. By going softer and being more delicate than anybody else Violet Cold is beginning to traverse away from familiar waters and starting to head into the unknown. The old ethos has clearly been relinquished, now I'm excited to see what this band can do next. Life used to be black for this genre, why continue this path when you can do so periwinkle, lilac and turquoise"



Recent reviews by this author
Arckanum KostogherConfrontational Kingdom of Night
Black Magic Fools Soul CollecterViolent Rain Demo I
September Death MasqueradeBone Fragments Phantom Wound
user ratings (30)
Chart.
3.6
great


Comments:Add a Comment 
Brostep
Emeritus
June 14th 2015


4313 Comments


magic jammer


http://img4.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20140711052554/yugioh/images/0/08/MagicJammer-YS14-EN-C-1E.png

YakNips
June 14th 2015


18944 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

great album

BallsToTheWall
June 14th 2015


48152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed to both. I know I'm greedy, I know I'm gluttonous, but I want a another new V.C album.

Digging: Vreid - I Krig

YakNips
June 14th 2015


18944 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

also great review

BallsToTheWall
June 14th 2015


48152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great soundoff. That is perfect.

zaruyache
June 14th 2015


17914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

all those yugioh references in the first paragraph.. I just can't





Also album is good, but it seems a bit too samey throughout. Just about every song opens with dancey keys and then hits you with black metal, which gets pretty annoying. This guy basically took basic black metal tremolo picking and chord progressions and added some dancey synths/keyboards overtop. I think he could've gone a lot farther with the dance/bm styles and created a more dancey vibe to make this much more unique, but here's hoping he does that in the future. Still a good album, though.

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
June 14th 2015


21997 Comments


Dancey black metal?

zaruyache
June 14th 2015


17914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

it has those cheesy 80's synth lines and blast beats. It's kinda like Germ only more focused on the black metal. There are points where the drums do a 1-2 dancy beat and the synths come in hard to make it really dancy, and I wish he'd done more stuff like that instead of just slapping synth lines overtop basic tremolos and blasts.

BallsToTheWall
June 14th 2015


48152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This guy basically took basic black metal tremolo picking and chord progressions and added some dancey synths/keyboards overtop. I think he could've gone a lot farther with the dance/bm styles and created a more dancey vibe to make this much more unique, but here's hoping he does that in the future. Still a good album, though. (2)





This hard.

zaruyache
June 15th 2015


17914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

he posted a fb status asking what style he should do next, so I really doubt he'll do another kvlt dance album when he seems to be open to a large range of styles, but here's hoping. A bm downtempo record could be sweet tho too.

BallsToTheWall
June 15th 2015


48152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If I wasn't so spaced out and sleepy I'd throw down some stylish recommendations. If he did something like this but more space disco and/or downtempo that wouuld be the shit.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 15th 2015


7605 Comments


Glad to see this reviewed.

Digging: Fleurety - The White Death

PortalofPerfection
July 2nd 2015


1991 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ya this is super fun. Fun. Black metal.

BallsToTheWall
July 2nd 2015


48152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album makes me want to drink Steel Reserve and play Mario Kart 64 until I die.

Ouphe
August 18th 2015


20 Comments


Pvre cheese.

Serenityinaz12
September 10th 2015


134 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The black metal purists who get up in arms about anything not second wave such as post-black or "Cascadian black metal" are going to riot after listening to this.

FLCL
September 21st 2015


64 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Second track came on and I literally said wtf just happened I was so surprised by that synth line

zaruyache
September 21st 2015


17914 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

the whole album's hilarious. *dancey synth* *tremolo riff* *unearthly wails*

FLCL
September 23rd 2015


64 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hilariously good

Archelirion
Contributing Reviewer
January 29th 2016


5447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is so strange. Kinda like it, but the combination of dancey synths and black metal takes some getting used to.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy