Tank
Filth Hounds of Hades


4.0
excellent

Review

by DrJohn USER (47 Reviews)
June 12th, 2015 | 19 replies


Release Date: 1982 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Take it or send us upstairs.

Cast in the same mould of Motorhead and Girlschool, Tank's debut, produced by "Fast" Eddie Clarke, is an album that wouldn't go amiss in your NWOBHM collection. You see, the vast majority of their contemporaries was at the time starting to draw distance from the loose, 'punk-ish' approach that defined the early days of the movement and went for more polished productions, higher vocal range or more serpentine compositions. On the contrary, the power trio chose to embrace the low "mutt" pedigree that brought countless lads--before or since Tank--to pick up an instrument. To put it differently, they were already wasting countless hours in 'n 'round the pub doing what lads or mutts do; so, they could as well pick up the axes and write some tunes, touring around more pubs and doing more of what lads or mutts do. Once in a while some of these crowds would prove to be more witted than the rest, barking that it's not just "Blood, Guts & Beer" inside 'em. Indeed, on Filth Hounds of Hades, Tank showcases a knack for disguising sarcasm under 'geezer worthy' semantics and unpretentious, "raw" instrumentation. They mashed it --bass, guitar n drums-- live in studio or all in their mouth without much effort; they marked their territory in 1982, priding their anthem "Turn Your Head Around"... and while no one dared to look, they started diggin' all around to find a good spot for a single bone they chose to save. Granted, this is a filthy bunch or a breed that won't sit still to get bathed... it's not that they crave dirt, but time is finite and what's the point spending it in something that won't last? For they were gonna get messed up again, as soon as they'd hit the road, opening for Lemmy & Co. or... "since our trip bellow is predetermined after all the mess we've caused, why waste our time on the meanwhile you dry ***e?"

I reckon the old boatman fancies the coin, but I'd bet that when the time comes he'll let the pack in for free - being flattered 'n' all by the "dedication" and the bone they've saved for toll. Ye, at the end of the day, I doubt that Tank will have put aside a single quid for him.



Recent reviews by this author
World's End Girlfriend Last WaltzTestament Brotherhood of the Snake
Metallica Hardwired... to Self-DestructScandroid Scandroid
Jess Williamson Heart SongAaron Lee Tasjan Silver Tears
user ratings (60)
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
DrJohn
June 12th 2015


1041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Turn Your Head Around : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zVPD9HHwyhE

Shellshock: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BVF66HV0Djw



zakalwe
June 12th 2015


29369 Comments


It's all tied in.
Amazing boatman spiel.
One Doc John! There's only one Doc John! Onnnne Doooccc Joooohhhnnnnn!!! There's only one Doc John.

DrJohn
June 12th 2015


1041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

: D

bnelso55
June 12th 2015


1338 Comments


Top notch as usual, Doc. Enjoyed the read. I'll give this a listen. It sounds like a perfect fit for those days when I'm in the mood for some sleazy NWOBHM (today).

manosg
Staff Reviewer
June 12th 2015


11745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

How this didn't have a review already is beyond me. Great write up as always Doc, pos.



For some reason I never managed to enjoyed this one as most people. Instead or raw, I always perceived it as somewhat sloppy. Anyway, rock on m/

Digging: Fief - V

DrJohn
June 12th 2015


1041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@bnelso55



Ye mate, if you dig the likes of Motorhead or Girlschool you might find some enjoyment here.



@manosg



Thnx! Idkw but I love Tank's approach (this particular album, to be exact)... TURN YOUR HEAD AROUND TURN YOUR HEAD AROUND! /m



BigHans
June 12th 2015


30515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

POS hard

DrJohn
June 12th 2015


1041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

m/ BigHANS

pissbore
June 12th 2015


12739 Comments


hans livez??!?!!??

DrJohn
June 12th 2015


1041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

He came back from the dead to pay his respects to Tank.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
June 13th 2015


2622 Comments


On the contrary, the power trio chose to embraced the low "mutt" pedigree

*embrace*

Apart from that, awesome review man. Haven't heard that much of Tank but I undertand the first few albums are pretty great stuff.

DrJohn
June 13th 2015


1041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hehe... "chose to" has been added at a later stage. the original read "the power trio embraced" >>> nice catch Linguist! thnx!



This is by far the best Tank. Imho the next releases don't even come close.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
June 13th 2015


11745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Honour and Blood is pretty good from what I can remember.

DrJohn
June 13th 2015


1041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ They were a different band at that point. It's an ok release for what it is; a more conventional metal album. I personally consider their debut's 'attitude' unique.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
June 13th 2015


11745 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh yeah it's definitely different. This one's more wild.

DikkoZinner
July 24th 2015


5340 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Blood, Guts and Beer m/

bloc
January 31st 2017


58899 Comments


I'd say Honour and Blood is better than this

Digging: The Cleaners From Venus - Midnight Cleaners

Inveigh
June 28th 2017


26640 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

All time great album here

VincenzoAureo
November 8th 2019


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wish this was more well known, so good

Digging: Wax Fang - La La Land



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy