Make Them Suffer
Old Souls


4.0
excellent

Review

by Gameofmetal STAFF
June 5th, 2015 | 282 replies


Release Date: 05/29/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A little bit of Neverbloom, a touch of "Let Me In", and a whole lot of awesome.

It couldn’t have been totally surprising to see the backlash from some fans when Make Them Suffer dropped the single “Let Me In” last year. The track was a noticeable, if not night and day, departure from the flashy symphonic deathcore that was Neverbloom and Lord of Woe before it. Instead of rampaging blast beats, there were simplified riffs and a greater emphasis on melody. Some greeted the shift with open arms, but others worried about what it would bring when album number two rolled around. Well, now that it’s arrived, it’s clear to see that Make Them Suffer have balanced Old Souls between the sound they started with and the direction of “Let Me In”. While it’s not surprising that the new sounds were explored, it is a pleasant surprise to see how well it works out for them.

Intro “Foreward” and follow up “Requiem” begin the record in a fashion not altogether alien to Neverbloom. The former mostly serves as a symphonic introduction to the album, rather than a full track, but it is a bit more fleshed out than its counterpart on the previous album. Requiem by comparison is like throwing a bone to the audience that brought the band into the spotlight, with death metal riffs, blasting beats, and balls to the wall breakdowns. While other tracks like “Threads” also keep the Neverbloom sound alive, it’s the newly trodden musical ground that really impresses. “Let Me In”, despite its history, is the best incarnation of this sound by far. The melodic passages are a welcome reprieve from the aggressive attitudes Make Them Suffer usually peddle, and the clean singing from keyboardist Louisa Burton absolutely soars. Elsewhere, album closer, and title track, “Old Souls” is almost punky in some of its pacing, but full to the brim with emotional energy rarely, if ever, found in deathcore. The vast majority of the tracks impress, but there are a few duds (“Fake”, and “Blood Moon”) that chug their way to nothingness. Both tracks are bland and uninspired enough to make the album feel just a bit inconsistent overall.

While there’s not much wrong with the band instrumentally, absenting a bit of emphasis on bland breakdowns at times, it’s the vocal performance that truly stands out. Sean Harmanis absolutely destroys with his scathing vocals. Both high screams and guttural growls are present, and performed extremely well, along with a newly implemented mid-range that he prefers to utilize on the more melodic tracks. It’s a rare thing to find a vocalist in deathcore that brings emotion, variation, and both intelligible and well written lyrics to the table. The album is less conceptually themed than Neverbloom, but that’s been traded for more personal and tragic storytelling that works just as well. The aforementioned Louisa Burton’s singing is far more present than the occasional background detail she was relegated to on past releases, and adds just that much more color to Make Them Suffer’s palette. Her symphonic arrangements have likewise evolved further, with quite a few memorable piano melodies to be found.

With Old Souls, Make Them Suffer have harmonized the two sides of their sound in a fairly cohesive package. While some tracks crack the façade, their melodic side impresses enough that maybe, just maybe, fans will be clamoring for an expansion of that aspect rather than a continuation of Neverbloom. In any case, it at least proves that Make Them Suffer aren’t afraid to expand their sound, and that adventurous attitude at such an early stage in their career has got to earn them something. It simply remains to see what that turns out to be.



Recent reviews by this author
Forteresse Thèmes pour la RébellionBattle Dagorath II - Frozen Light of Eternal Darkness
Wolves in the Throne Room Thrice WovenDayseeker Dreaming is Sinking /// Waking is Rising
The Acacia Strain GravebloomTwilight Fauna The Year the Stars Fell

user ratings (257)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
end0fthew0rldparty (4)
Make Them Suffer - the only people suffering are the people who haven't yet listened to this album!...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

Album's pretty tight, let me know how I did.



Can stream on spotify or youtube at the moment.



Edit: Not sure about my summary, let me know if shit or no and I'll change



suggestions welcome

Artuma
June 5th 2015


29119 Comments


i hate this band name

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

eh I don't think it's so bad, least not as bad as a lot of other core bands

Artuma
June 5th 2015


29119 Comments


well they are all basically the same so

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

the names or the sound?

Artuma
June 5th 2015


29119 Comments


the names. the sound probably as well, i don't really listen to those bands

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

lol aight

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

Anyone care that I wrote a thing



anyone plz

Angelboros
June 5th 2015


1346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'm surprised at how damn enjoyable the record is. I probably wasn't missing out on much when I skipped Neverbloom, and I opted to check this one out against my better judgment. Suffice it to say, this is how bands should twinklecore. What Old Souls lacks in creativity, it more than makes up for that regarding atmosphere, vocals, and overall craftsmanship. Pretty good stuff, in all honesty.



"The aforementioned Louisa Burton’s singing is far more present that the occasional"



You could replace "that" with "than", but aside from this, nice job on the review.

Digging: Shiina Ringo - Sanmon Gossip

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

Thx for catching that and the kind words. I think I have Neverbloom rated higher but it's worn off a tad over the years and I suspect I'll decide I like this better with a bit of time.

ComeToDaddy
June 5th 2015


1611 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review man, pos'd. I enjoyed the album, despite a few particularly bland songs and a bit too much cheese in segments. You're definitely right on the vocals, that was my favorite change from the last album. He'd always just switch gears from high to low in Neverbloom with nothing in the middle, so I'm glad they've worked on that.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

Yeah dude, I thought he was a standout vocalist on neverbloom but here he really outdid himself

Devastator
June 5th 2015


3440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

So is that Trevor from TBDM on marionette or not? I've heard that is Sean and I've heard Trevor.

Digging: Zao - Pyrrhic Victory

Durrzo
June 6th 2015


1475 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I'm pretty certain the track would have a "feat" included if Trevor was doing a guest spot. And considering the fact that that high pitched vocal style is used for most of the song I would say it's probably Sean. That dude has some pretty wild range on his vocals.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

Sick if it is, sick if it aint. Imma have to listen again to find out.

HeroIsTea
June 6th 2015


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review, the vocals are way too good.

Asmodeuss1990
June 6th 2015


367 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album and great review.



I love how even though they've been able to make some rather /emotive/ metalcore/deathcore. Not too many bands can pull that off however these guys have the fucking knack for it.

zaruyache
June 6th 2015


17903 Comments


i hate this band name


Eh, this one at least makes me think of a real dm band--Cannibal Corpse. Idk if Corpsegrinder ever actually utters the phrase, but I can just imaging him growling "Make. Them. Suh-FAAAAH!"

HisBelovedMaker
June 6th 2015


137 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

*yawn*

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
June 6th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

yeah they probably named themselves after that song tbh zaru



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy