Algiers
Algiers


4.5
superb

Review

by DrJohn USER (47 Reviews)
June 2nd, 2015 | 57 replies


Release Date: 06/02/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A primordial decree.

Industrial aesthetics in the groove, cold synth tapestry, guitars weaving the post punk edge staccato with amp feedback; these are the frames surrounding Franklin James Fisher, who adopts the call and response approach of countless southern sermons and their popular music sublimate. In truth, this is mere texture or pretext for what truly lies beyond the fuse.

The crux of Fisher's gospel, calls upon a mode of delivery preceding the ramifications of the great awakening, or the Baptist pastor emeritus, or institutions. It mimics the highest rank of prelacy in its oldest format--a different brand of frontmanship. There's a progenitorial figure leading the groove around the fire, clapping feet and claves, while the tribe integrates and responds to its call. The posterior manifestation of this modus found its way 'cross the Haitian chain and the south states without consent. It got infused with the turmoil on the cotton fields and adapted crucifixes in lieu of talismans; it got educated and politicised, and then it instigated uprisings; it got modernised and post-modernised, and then it fused high with low art. It came to realise irony.

"We’ll put our faith into Afro Pop
in a decolonized context
Espouse the aesthetes’
contempt for ethos
Irony. Utility. Pretext.

Embrace primitive man
(La-la-la-la-la, you say)
Destroy primitive man
(La-la-la-la-la, you say)

With our art
we’ll transcend again"
*

Adaptation is the primordial defence mechanism and rhythm is a primal mean of communique. For to gather the congregation, awaken and protect the tribe against the wilderness--for to provoke and exorcise the malevolent surroundings. Whatever it is (being called upon), let us utilise any means available to keep it alive... so, for the time being, let our medium be Algiers' debut.



Recent reviews by this author
World's End Girlfriend Last WaltzTestament Brotherhood of the Snake
Metallica Hardwired... to Self-DestructScandroid Scandroid
Jess Williamson Heart SongAaron Lee Tasjan Silver Tears
user ratings (174)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
DrJohn
June 2nd 2015


1041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It has been streaming for a week, but the link might be removed soon : http://www.npr.org/player/v2/mediaPlayer.html?action=1&t=1&islist=false&id=408296125&m=408531464



Blood: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g3L0NI8vcMg

But She Was Not Flying: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y2WptJ2nPkA

*Irony. Utility. Pretext: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bpLMc6nWtJw

Black Eunuch: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZiBlH8YZyIA

Live Deezer Session: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rag6eWVXylk



Voivod
Staff Reviewer
June 2nd 2015


7605 Comments


Thanks for the review and the stream, I will read and jam when I get home from work.

Album stream: http://www.npr.org/2015/05/24/408296125/first-listen-algiers-algiers




Edit:

Great review, pos, I'm jamming the album right now and it sounds very interesting and fresh.

With all analogies accounted for, Algiers remind me of TV On The Radio.

Digging: Fleurety - The White Death

Eggvander
June 2nd 2015


206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Normally not reall my kind of music, but I am digging this so far, Thanks for the Review.

PappyMason
June 2nd 2015


5702 Comments


Been meaning to check this out.

argonaut
June 2nd 2015


818 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Listening to this now. Definitely an interesting album.

clander270
June 2nd 2015


381 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Really digging this album, instrumentals are always very interesting, singer has a killer voice, and there's enough variety in style to make each and every song interesting on their own.

LordePots
June 2nd 2015


38265 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm supposed to check this

Digging: Blondes - Warmth

TheBarber
June 3rd 2015


3585 Comments


cool cool review gonna check this out

Digging: Mamaleek - Via Dolorosa

manosg
Staff Reviewer
June 3rd 2015


10587 Comments


Typical great write up by the doc, pos.

Listened to Blood and it's very interesting, powerful stuff.

Digging: Travelin Jack - Commencing Countdown

DrJohn
June 3rd 2015


1041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Indeed, powerful stuff... More people should check.

zakalwe
June 3rd 2015


23434 Comments


Review is out and out Doc. Read it and weep you pretenders.

DrJohn
June 3rd 2015


1041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Zak! thnx mate

danielito19
June 3rd 2015


11929 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

rules

InfamousGrouse
June 3rd 2015


4276 Comments


Sounds like I need this.

TheBarber
June 3rd 2015


3585 Comments


pumpin' stuff

Gmork89
June 3rd 2015


7353 Comments


Damn these vocals are the shit.

TheWrenKing
June 4th 2015


1547 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Potential AOTY

Digging: Griffin McElroy - The Suffering Game

DrJohn
June 4th 2015


1041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That's the spirit!

manosg
Staff Reviewer
June 5th 2015


10587 Comments


But She Was Not Flying is sweet as well. Probably gonna check the whole thing.

DrJohn
June 5th 2015


1041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^ If I were to make an educated guess (as regards your taste), I'd pick "Claudette", "And When You Fall", "Old Girl" and maybe "Games".



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy