Silverstein
I Am Alive In Everything I Touch


4.0
excellent

Review

by paradox1216 EMERITUS
May 24th, 2015 | 77 replies


Release Date: 05/19/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Seven albums and over ten years into their career, Silverstein show us that they are very much alive.

Silverstein’s longevity is not something I myself can honestly claim to be surprised by – after all, when the seminal screamo band first released their renowned masterpiece Discovering the Waterfront in 2005, I was too busy listening to Fall Out Boy and My Chemical Romance to notice their existence (wonderful bands, but they were about the extension of my musical palate as a 5th grader). But it’s something that I can be amazed by in retrospect, especially when nearly all of their former peers have either broken up or are already on their reunion tours. The band has not been blessed by musical diversity; ten years later, they’re still peddling the same aggressive verses and catchy choruses as they always have over three labels and seven albums. But a lack of change means the group has had much time to perfect the formula, and perfect it they have – the band found on I Am Alive In Everything I Touch is the most mature and focused iteration of Silverstein we’ve seen yet.

IAAIEIT is the band’s third concept album, and the second of those albums to reject the idea of a conventional story. Based around the idea of the band touring North America, the album is divided into four parts: Borealis, Austeralis, Zephyrus, and Eurus (basically more pretentious names for North, South, West, and East), and each song represents a city in either Canada or the United States. The band goes so far as to add in field recordings and sounds from each location into the songs, and references to landmarks are often included to more clearly identify the city in question. They range from the whole concept of the song (“Heaven, Hell, and Purgatory” clearly references and identifies The Masquerade venue in Atlanta, GA) to just mainly serving as Easter eggs for people who are familiar with the town. But they never seem like afterthoughts and they’re often very cleverly integrated into the lyrics. Concept albums are usually more daunting than regular affairs, but like the parallel tales of its predecessor, I Am Alive has a simple idea that’s executed well and requires little extra effort to enjoy.

Musically, the record is a straight continuation of This Is How The Wind Shifts. Lead guitarist Paul Marc Rousseau is on his second release with the band, and he continues to excel at writing fun and sometimes brilliantly catchy melodies. You won’t find many dynamics the group hasn’t previously explored – it’s all a refinement of past ideas and principals – but that doesn’t mean the record isn’t varied and interesting. “Late on 6th” takes influence from post-rock, merging the band’s verse/chorus approach with echo-drenched guitars and an overall build throughout the song that pays off in a massive, earth-shattering climax. Addictive pop punk numbers like “Desert Nights” temper explosive bits of hardcore like “Milestone”, with the album heavily leaning towards melody. Even the heavier parts are sickeningly catchy, showing off Silverstein’s sincere desire to cling to you as hard as vocalist Shane Told does to all of the girls featured in his songs.

Silverstein does a remarkable job of hiding their age. They feel every bit as vital to the genre they helped popularize as new musicians over ten years ago. But new bands don’t release albums like I Am Alive In Everything I Touch – they need that ten years of maturation and songwriting experience to even come close to the level of refinement on display. Some might consider it disappointing that the band never branched out into headier territory, but great poppy music is just as hard to craft as more complicated forms, and Silverstein continue to prove that they’re some of the most qualified people out there to bring it to us.



Recent reviews by this author
Between the Buried and Me Coma EclipticI the Mighty Connector
Veil of Maya MatriarchAnd So I Watch You From Afar Heirs
Dance Gavin Dance Instant GratificationCHON Grow
user ratings (284)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
SaturdayNightWrist1 (4.5)
Silverstein pours their energy and creativity into yet another album...

Masthews (3.5)
Silverstein doing what Silverstein does...

SnoopiestGraph (4.5)
Well, kids, when you assume you "make an ass out of me and u." I was wrong....


Comments:Add a Comment 
paradox1216
Emeritus
May 24th 2015


730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've had a lot of fun with this album. I wasn't introduced to these guys until their last one, and they're both just great. Most of the band's other stuff is too (with exceptions), but I really feel like they've shined on these past two.



Album stream is here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cq5jcZG79Kg&list=PLKcGEIO7V0rXgN_Pcva8YsxsDUqBxB_B0





beachdude
Contributing Reviewer
May 24th 2015


842 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review man... the album is very solid.

"Even the heavier parts are sickeningly catchy, showing off Silverstein’s sincere desire to never leave you like all of those girls you think of when you hear the songs did."

This sentence reads pretty awkwardly.

paradox1216
Emeritus
May 24th 2015


730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It does haha, thanks for the compliment/pointing that out. I changed it to something with the same idea but hopefully better

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
May 24th 2015


13296 Comments


I feel the opposite to your opening sentence, how the fuck are these guys still going?

Good review btw

Digging: Bauhaus - In the Flat Field

DyingAtheist
May 24th 2015


184 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This Is How The Wind Shifts is still a phenomenal album that I regularly listen to, but I had no idea this was coming out. If it sounds similar I'm all in.

SirDazza28
May 24th 2015


461 Comments


Woah I did not expect this, nice! Yeah I'm all in too if it's similar

Comatorium.
May 24th 2015


4794 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This album is a direct continuation of This is How, soundwise. It's absolutely great. I'm so happy with this and Coward, now I need Freedom and Pull the Thorns from your Heart

paradox1216
Emeritus
May 24th 2015


730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh believe me mort I am. I was just saying that I dont feel like I have the qualifications to be like "oh wow X band from my childhood is still going" because i never grew up with them even though thats exactly how I feel XD

beachdude
Contributing Reviewer
May 24th 2015


842 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"I changed it to something with the same idea but hopefully better"

Yeah it reads a lot better now. Keep up the good work man, I always like your reviews.

trackbytrackreviews
May 24th 2015


3339 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still can't decide on a rating but this is amzing



inb4 trebor

Acanthus
May 24th 2015


9812 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This doesn't grab me as immediately as This Is How The Wind Shifts, but it gets better towards the second half.





paradox1216
Emeritus
May 25th 2015


730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think the second half is better, but those earlier songs do grow on you, "Face of the Earth" in particular. Dat chorus

TooManyFriends
May 25th 2015


2529 Comments


i actually think this tails off a bit as you realize the songs follow pretty much the same formula. luckily the songs are well written

Atari
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2015


22705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review man. Decided to grab this on vinyl cause I love Toronto (unabridged) so much. Am I the only one who loves the hell out of that song?

Digging: Langhorne Slim - Lost At Last, Vol 1

Hawks
May 25th 2015


51983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is a really good album, but probably their weakest since the debut.



Haven't heard Arrivals and Departures yet though.

Digging: Gamma Ray - Land of the Free

paradox1216
Emeritus
May 26th 2015


730 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@atari def not, toronto unabridged is probably the best song on the record. But I didn't really have much to say about it. It's just simply really well done



Atari
Staff Reviewer
May 26th 2015


22705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah i know what you mean. it's nothing they haven't done before, just really well executed. i love how there's no screaming in that song at all yet it still brings more of an emotional punch than the other tracks.





Danred97
May 26th 2015


1490 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This album is good, but it musically feels like a bunch of TIHTWS b-sides. Also, I feel like some of the songs were kinda whiny. We get it Shane, it's hard to be on tour, but we don't wanna hear you sing songs about it. I like the slower songs though, Silverstein has always been good at kinda sappy love songs. Really though, nothing is gonna top Shipwreck.

Digging: Tigers Jaw - spin

Hawks
May 27th 2015


51983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Discovering the Waterfront is by far the best so they topped Shipwreck before Shipwreck even came out.



That one rules too though so m/.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
May 27th 2015


22705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i've never thought DTW was their best, but i can't deny it brings the nostalgia. I think arrivals and departures is pretty underrated too



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy