Zedd
True Colors


1.0
awful

Review

by facetheslayer666 USER (32 Reviews)
May 24th, 2015 | 13 replies


Release Date: 05/19/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Do your worst.

Still, house music continues to entertain the more fun side of the mainstream. Played everywhere from the club to the radio, bringing with it many forms of remixes and provocative dances, this musical style is extremely prevalent today -- thus, born in a time when twerking and grinding are the obvious clichés, producers like Madeon, Big Data and especially Zedd scramble to produce something cutting-edge. Do most of them fail"

Miserably. Here, something about Anton Zaslavski’s sophomore full-length under the alias Zedd, True Colors, remains extremely generic. He borrows ideas from a lot of modern EDM (along with vocalists). Diabetically sweet complextro melodies and a melodramatic aesthetic (“Straight Into the Fire”) makes for an album that, while listening to it, these ears could’ve sworn they’ve heard time and time before. In 2015, where the whiniest lyrics and perseverance lead the way, True Colors has the ambition of Katy Perry’s “Firework” (and, unfortunately, qualitatively similar to the latter). This album is about as impersonal as it is overproduced.

The hilarious thing about this LP is that it isn’t vaguely catchy (“Papercut”, “Daisy”); no, instead, Zedd begs to create something more progressive, as displayed by tracks such as “Bumble Bee” and “I Want You to Know.” As alternative an idea as it is a plain bad one, it prevails as the main hindrance that Colors audibly emits, because catchiness, a vital characteristic of the genre he attempts, is painfully sacrificed. Consequently, the scene that Zedd immerses himself in suddenly becomes clear on “Beautiful Now”, where the opening lines are “I see what you’re wearing / There’s nothing beneath it / Forgive me for staring.” The subsequent track shows a similar lack of talent when the rapping remains extremely sedentary and tamed, making it very hard not to get bored for the four-minute duration. The lyrics don’t emerge as any consolation either: “Feeling outdated, everybody inebriated / Feel like I'm automated, / I'm automated, I'm automated”, exhibit my sentiments for Colors at whole.

However progressive, this album sees some major trendy aesthetics. Juvenility is recalled on track 5, “Done With Love”, as the artist proclaims the melodrama and insecurities the typical teenager faces. While this auditor did enjoy this song at a sonic level, it seems like the composition is over-complexified (although all of these songs feature a similar drum beat at similar tempos). Most songs feature repetitive bridges and extremely similar structures, which are akin to a much lower enjoyment than possible. Disney clichés and one-hit wonders appear on “I Want You to Know” (why the hell is Selena Gomez still alive") and “Illusion” (Echosmith has other songs") which become the worst songs on the album.

Whether or not Zedd will stay a major icon in the EDM industry is beyond me -- I see no potential on True Colors. Instead, I see a good musician who has submitted himself to trendy sounds and has completely ruined an already bad idea with bad singers and lyrics. Impersonal and, at times, too complex, Zedd is a good example of a typical house music artist.

I’m sure the radio stations and club DJs will eat it right up.

1.8/10




Recent reviews by this author
Years and Years CommunionNate Ruess Grand Romantic
Death Grips No Love Deep WebAdventure Time Dreams of Water Themes
Sleep Party People FloatingBoston Boston
user ratings (63)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
Peter Meister (2)
An artistic disappointment, if not worse....

related reviews

Clarity
recommended by reviewer
Madeon Adventure
New Order Brotherhood

Comments:Add a Comment 
LotusFlower
May 23rd 2015


12002 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Zedd is horrible.

facetheslayer666
May 23rd 2015


117 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

ikr xD

LotusFlower
May 23rd 2015


12002 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Though to be honest, Done With Love, Transmission and Straight Into the Fire are absolute jams.

facetheslayer666
May 23rd 2015


117 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i think the opener and bumble bee are the best haha

LotusFlower
May 24th 2015


12002 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Bumblebee's buzzing is really grating and the drop is just way too idiotic for me.

facetheslayer666
May 24th 2015


117 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

meh lol good rev tho?

LotusFlower
May 24th 2015


12002 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

You have a very sharp personality in your review which is a good thing to have. Though I do feel as though you could kinda explain some of the flaws this album has a little better. Like what you mean by "overly complexified" or the fact you mention the album has "major trendy aesthetics" and then immediately drop that thought to poke fun at Selena Gomez and Echosmith (which is kinda unnecessary)



It's a decent review id say. It needs a grammar sweep and some more explanation in some of your statements. But ill still give it a pos.

facetheslayer666
May 24th 2015


117 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

thanks bud i'll work on that

RadicalEd
May 24th 2015


8745 Comments


easy target. Decent review though.

Digging: Onra - Nobody Has To Know

facetheslayer666
May 24th 2015


117 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

thanks @scrp ill work on all that. i'm not extremely familiar with house music but i think calling a modern house music artist electro house is like calling most contemporary metal acts power metal. its almost a given cuz lets face it LMFAO doesnt sound like joe smooth in the same way that mystic prophecy doesnt sound like iron maiden. but i guess ur more savvy in this

Sinternet
September 14th 2015


15710 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is among the better EDM albums so far this year. Bumble Bee also rules, but that's mainly because of Botnek.

Digging: Pianos Become the Teeth - Wait For Love

LotusFlower
September 14th 2015


12002 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

A lot of the songs on this album just sound really forced to me. Like, Zedd is trying to make everything sound heavy and complex while trying to be basic and fun at the same time and it just sounds ugly. It does have some good cuts, but theyre the vast minority.

Sinternet
September 14th 2015


15710 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is a huge problem with a lot of EDM producers at the moment. They want to be as creative as possible (because people complain about it being too generic) but they're just forcing ideas out there which don't go down well. They lack the fun of a lot of tracks that came out around 2013 (Animals, Tsunami, Mammoth, etc.) because they're trying to be too different. Most EDM fans, at least in the electro house/progressive house/big room scenes just want tracks with a lot of energy that will go down well at festivals. Zedd is definitely a talented producer but I always feel disappointed with his stuff because he's trying to be more creative than fun.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy