Envy
Atheist's Cornea


2.2
poor

Review

by Xenophanes STAFF
May 18th, 2015 | 284 replies


Release Date: 07/10/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Envy are a dead sinking story.

When was the last time you actually thought about Envy" I don’t mean that as in the last time you listened to their music, but rather, when you remembered that they were an actual band. If you’re like me it’s been, well, five years. Which of course was when their last album, Recitation dropped to lukewarm reception. Yet this has always been the case with Envy, a band consistently on the back burner. Sure there’s been acclaim, but the band has been miles away from being a household name. They’re like that band you love to rep when you’ve got nothing else to talk about; a tertiary bullet point whenever the one talks about emo or post hardcore or whatever.

That was Envy then and this is Envy now.

Atheist’s Cornea is an album to be immediately forgotten. It’s decidedly Envy, albeit with a little more panache than their 2010 effort. The emo-cum-post rock band have “found their roots” so to speak and returned with the more aggressive and straight forward style that defined their early years. But the problem here is that their early stuff wasn’t very…well, good. What it accomplished, however, was the creation of a powerful and affecting sound that really stirred some emotions. It was messy and juvenile but ultimately really fun and genuine. This has been lost for years.

Envy are really, really dull.

All the Footprints… exists as a pinnacle to the band’s career; a perfect, if accidental, melding of the emotive hardcore sound with stirring post rock flourishes. It worked despite the band’s iffy track record regarding both disparaging sounds Atheist’s Cornea attempts to capture this feeling once more by placing emphasis on cathartic anger and pain but without the immediacy or passion. Tetsuya Fukagawa sounds more vanilla than ever which makes everything so placid that the entire album sloughs off the ears. With only two levels -- yelling and talking (which must make for some interesting conversation in real life), Fukagawa never portrays the music as anything other than banal noise.

Atheist’s Cornea is largely nice. It’s predictable and easy, but that’s what makes it nice. Even a five year break cannot change what Envy is, which should come as a comfort. The song structures have been mixed up just a tad, with “Blue Moonlight” standing out as a very straight forward post hardcore track that blazes on by with little pretense. “Ignorant Rain and the End of the World” and “An Insignificant Poem” follow suit with a couple of blistering moments that offer up a little excitement as well. These are sprinkled around Envy’s old bag of tricks that include long, ethereal post-rock tracks. Like before, these offer little in the way of emotional profundity. The strings and lush arrangements could not be more phoned in as the band masturbates Mono’s later discography. These tracks of moderate length are dull and lack any sort of imagination or emotional intensity. Each one stands as a stark metaphor for Envy as a whole.

I could prattle on about how awkward the mixing is or how choppy the tracklist has been set up, but none of that really matters when the music that was written is so painfully uninspired. Envy are a dead sinking story. No more, no less.



Recent reviews by this author
Bell Witch Mirror ReaperBlut Aus Nord Deus Salutis Meae
Acephalix DecreationMiley Cyrus Younger Now
Cannabis Corpse Left Hand PassCormorant Diaspora

user ratings (109)
Chart.
3.3
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
SnakeDelilah
May 18th 2015


19929 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

first

Digging: Julien Baker - Turn Out The Lights

YakNips
May 18th 2015


18942 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

last time i thought about envy was when i listened to them about 4 days ago thanks

SnakeDelilah
May 18th 2015


19929 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

i'm jamming a dead sinking story for the first time rn

YakNips
May 18th 2015


18942 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

also you used the words cum and masturbate in this review is something on your mind

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
May 18th 2015


13290 Comments


Good review. Very concise


Envy being Envy is no surprise



Digging: Cara Neir - Perpetual Despair is the Human Condition

Brostep
Emeritus
May 18th 2015


4313 Comments


some weird unicode shit in this review (my guess is you used an em dash when the review engine only reads hyphens), might want to fix. otherwise excellent work as always

johnnydeking29
May 18th 2015


11424 Comments


last time i thought about envy was when i listened to them about 4 days ago thanks [2]

IntriguingSergei
May 18th 2015


170 Comments


Your review is overly opinionated and comes across as bigotry. Protest this bullshit.

johnnydeking29
May 18th 2015


11424 Comments


'as a stark metaphor for Envy as a whole.'

The technical term for this is synecdoche

'They’re like that band you love to rep when you’ve got nothing else to talk about; a tertiary bullet point whenever the one talks about emo or post hardcore or whatever.'

'All the Footprints… exists as a pinnacle to the band’s career; a perfect, IF ACCIDENTAL, melding of the emotive hardcore sound with stirring post rock flourishes.'

Get lost.

deadcrown
May 18th 2015


733 Comments


only listened to these guys once cos they were on a split with Thursday. Any stuff worth checking out?

Digging: Big K.R.I.T. - 4eva Is a Mighty Long Time

johnnydeking29
May 18th 2015


11424 Comments


All the Footprints... is a near masterpiece and A Dead Sinking Story is epic.

Brostep
Emeritus
May 18th 2015


4313 Comments


def worth protesting bigotry when a staff writer for the esteemed sputnikmusic dot com disagrees with your opinion of an album

IntriguingSergei
May 18th 2015


170 Comments


I couldn't give less of a shit about whether he's staff; all I see here are a load of opinions with very few convincing arguments behind them. This is a half-arsed review and can be poignantly summarised as "Envy. Meh." without losing any of the sophistication or persuasion within it.

Brostep
Emeritus
May 18th 2015


4313 Comments


I mean isn't his entire argument that this album is unexciting, bland, and just overall kind of "meh"? Like, Eli could have dropped most of the review and the summary would still be the same, but he does go into some detail as to why he feels this album is unexciting

RustCohle
May 18th 2015


193 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

One of the worst reviews I ever read on this site, seems this guy knows nothing about this type of music at all.



I should have stopped reading at this part of the review "But the problem here is that their early stuff wasn’t very…well".....



This album is a true gem like all the other albums they made in their long history. Good that the band is big enough nowadays to give a shit about what a kid writes on sputnik about them....

Digging: Amenra - Mass VI

jmh886
May 18th 2015


1858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea I've been listening to a bunch of Envy lately. I also in fact have loved their later material. Can't wait to spin this.

IntriguingSergei
May 18th 2015


170 Comments


"I mean isn't his entire argument that this album is unexciting, bland, and just overall kind of "meh"? Like, Eli could have dropped most of the review and the summary would still be the same, but he does go into some detail as to why he feels this album is unexciting"


Yes, but that detail is both poorly articulated and ends up recycling the same opinion again and again without ever making it convincing. As a journalist, I would be ashamed to hand in a piece of this standard to my boss and surprised if it was published.

BMDrummer
May 18th 2015


14027 Comments


never jammed envy, maybe i should

zaruyache
May 18th 2015


17903 Comments


Occupy Sputnik protest!

Good review ghost pos'd. This album wasn't really gripping me much but I definitely think it's a bit better than a 2.2. Also lol Envy fanboys.

chinesewhispers
May 18th 2015


4719 Comments


Whoa this thread got shitty fast



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy