Haste the Day
Coward


4.5
superb

Review

by TooManyFriends USER (20 Reviews)
May 17th, 2015 | 172 replies


Release Date: 05/19/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Haste the Day seem determined to go out in bombastic fashion, on their terms only.

Haste the Day went out on top of the game. Fresh off the release of their stellar concept album Attack of the Wolf King, it felt like they had finally discovered a sound of their own, a perfect balance of melody and aggression that many could imitate but few could match. And just like that, less than a year later, they were gone. With them went the opportunity to build on something special. And while many were appreciative of the time Haste the Day had and the songs and memories they shared, it was hard not to wonder what could have been.

Coward is what could have been. There is no mincing of words. There is no sappy reintroduction. Coward strikes hard, and it strikes fast. It takes approximately 3 seconds for the opening riff of “Begin” to melt the skin off your bones and eliminate any fear that the band may have lost their edge in the last five years. It’s established immediately that Haste the Day has arrived, which leads to the next important question; WHICH Haste the Day has arrived"

Well, all of them, really. Essentially every past member of the band is featured on Coward in some way, most notably ex-vocalist Jimmy Ryan. His throaty, shredding screams have not been heard in the context of a Haste the Day song in almost 10 years, and despite the layoff, he destroys everything in his path. While bandmate Stephen Keech features predominantly on this record with his more accessible “core”-ish scream, Ryan absolutely steals the show when given the opportunity. His maniacal howl soaks the relentless “Take” and “Fail” with hardcore influence in the style of Converge, sounding as frantic and urgent as he ever has. Keech’s vocals are equally stunning, most vividly on the title track. He screams lyrics like “DON’T SHOW ME WHO YOU ARE, ‘CAUSE I AM A COWARD” with the same intensity that carried albums like Pressure the Hinges and Wolf King.

Musically, Coward takes a little bit from every era of Haste the Day as well. The aforementioned title track sounds like a direct continuation of Wolf King. “Accept” is pure, unadulterated metalcore fun ripped straight from the mid-2000s (it’s even performed by the band’s formative lineup). “Reconcile” dabbles in post rock as it builds towards a breathtaking conclusion. “Shadow” is the most sinister song Haste the Day have ever written, lurching and slogging forward as Ryan and Keech trade screams. And the riffs. Oh man, the riffs. As melodic as they are abrasive, they’re about as good as it gets in the genre.

In some ways, Coward feels like the next step forward for the band, and in others, it feels like a look into the past. Listening to any given song, however, there’s no escaping the sense of finality on this record. Instead of disappearing without a trace this time, Haste the Day seem determined to go out in bombastic fashion, on their terms only. And damn, if that doesn’t feel pretty awesome.



Recent reviews by this author
Hundred Suns The PrestaliisWage War Deadweight
Rise Against WolvesBryson Tiller True To Self
The Smith Street Band More Scared of You Than You Are of MeBad Suns Disappear Here
user ratings (233)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
Comatorium. (4.5)
Haste the Day returns with a career spanning 9-member lineup to create the album to end all albums o...

Christopher Geriak (3)
After a three year hiatus and returning with a seven member lineup, Haste the Day's return from Valh...



Comments:Add a Comment 
TooLateToGoBack
May 16th 2015


1953 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

would totally donate for another album again

Spec
May 16th 2015


34816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Its a pretty rad sounding album so far.

mazalthan
May 17th 2015


86 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I appreciate the direct song correlations to each given vocalist. It was a bit difficult to follow along initially while listening as a new Haste the Day fan. Super digging the record though, "Reconcile," "Shadow," and "Accept" are currently my personal favorites.

DjentyNerdo
May 17th 2015


258 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I feel so relieved that this turned out to be a good album. I still remember seeing them at some christian festival around the time they were still a pretty young band. That crowd was not ready and nor was I. Gonna add this to the collection right next to Burning Bridges.

Ponton
Emeritus
May 17th 2015


6137 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Want





Digging: Car Seat Headrest - Teens of Denial

TooManyFriends
May 17th 2015


2529 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

go get it buddy

Spec
May 17th 2015


34816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fail starts off like a Converge song but manages to throw in soaring melodies. I like.

TooManyFriends
May 17th 2015


2529 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

yeah, I dig that too, the transition between the two styles doesn't sound choppy or forced either

Slut
May 17th 2015


4168 Comments


Is this really all THAT good? I mean they've been kinda ehh in the past

KILL
May 17th 2015


80846 Comments


wow this band fuckin sucks what is wrong with you people

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not thrash enough tbh

KILL
May 17th 2015


80846 Comments


for real not one of these punks even owns a bullet belt i mean

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haste the Bullet Belt would be a better name

KILL
May 17th 2015


80846 Comments


Theres something so incendiary about a solid metal show that pulls an audience in, one by one. With a wailing lead guitarcombined with throaty growls and an explosion of moshing onlookers, metal allures the masses to join, and then doesnt let go.Its no wonder then that Indiana-born Haste the Day have charmed audiences with that same flurry of their musical onslaught.Performing 264 shows in '04 alone, it seemed no one could miss Haste the Day in 2004 as they hit the road with everyone fromAs I Lay Dying to Zao and Strung Out. Now, with the new album, "When Everthing Falls," the Haste the Day assault will onlyexpand in 2005. Look for their sophomore release everywhere in stores now!

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
May 17th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I should go hard pos that review and then sign in with six alts to do the same just cuz that

nononsense
May 18th 2015


3509 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The production blows on this. Makes it hard to listen to.

AmericnZero02
May 18th 2015


3705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

These reviews and ratings have me so pumped to go pick this up tomorrow. Hopefully the production isn't too much of a hindrance.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
May 18th 2015


10178 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There's nothing wrong with the production. If you only listen to modern metalcore tho I can see why you would think it's bad.

AmericnZero02
May 18th 2015


3705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gotcha. I do mostly listen to modern stuff but I'm pretty confident these guys won't disappoint.

nononsense
May 18th 2015


3509 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Some songs are better than others production wise. World is probably the worst. You can barely hear Brennan's vocals in the chorus.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy