Free Throw
Those Days Are Gone


4.0
excellent

Review

by LouisValentino USER (3 Reviews)
May 6th, 2015 | 85 replies


Release Date: 2014 | Tracklist

Review Summary: I know it would have stayed the same.

Free Throw is an emo band from Nashville, TN. After releasing two EPs in 2012 and 2013, Those Days Are Gone is their first full-length studio album. Putting the sports-themed band name, frivolous song titles, and Emo Revival typecasting aside, Free Throw has created an album that is as melodically sound as it is emotionally driven.

Aggressive vocals are counterbalanced by downhearted lyrics. Upbeat instrumentals are somehow brought down at just the right times, as Cory Castro seems to command the listener to hear the band in the light he's singing in. The closing track, 'Hey Ken, Someone Methodically Mushed The Donuts', arranges the vocal delivery and emotional nuances at their peak.

"I never should have said that I loved you
I never should have said a god damn thing
I should have kept my fucking mouth shut
And then it would have stayed,
It probably would have stayed,
I know it would have stayed the same."


Zach Hall, who is no longer with the band, delivers the most notable instrument audible in the mixing. The candidness of his drumming is something worth mentioning, as it hits with the same assertive energy as the vocals do throughout. There are catchy bass lines and fun riffs, particularly in 'Two Beers In' and 'Pallet Town', but not much else stands out.

Albums in the same vein as Those Days Are Gone tend to feel like a rollercoaster ride. By the end, you're either left feeling emotionally drained or ready to do it all over again. Free Throw has managed to create an album that quietly solidifies the landscape of modern emo music, though not being loud enough to push it forward.


user ratings (162)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Arnaud
May 6th 2015


215 Comments


Well written first review

JS19
May 6th 2015


7454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I dunno I think this is a bit better than that, but nicely written

LouisValentino
May 7th 2015


17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Arnaud @JS19

Thanks! This could get bumped up to a 4.0 in the future, but 3.5 feels good to me right now.

NeoSpaz
May 11th 2015


4530 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haaah shit this album grew on me so much



its a good jam

Matte
May 14th 2015


600 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad someone finally reviewed this! Disagree a bit with the rating, but good job nonetheless.

DawnOT
May 25th 2015


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is an amazing album, good review.

LouisValentino
July 3rd 2015


17 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Changing my score from 3.5 to 4.0.

rufinthefury
July 5th 2015


3102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This band needs more love. The last track is just fucking stellar but the whole thing is an amazing break up album.

rufinthefury
August 14th 2015


3102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

still jamming

Snake.
March 13th 2016


21906 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this sounds like if fred mascherino went on to form an emo revival band

DurzoBlint
April 22nd 2016


1393 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is so sweet.

rufinthefury
December 1st 2016


3102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They just signed to Triple Crown Records and announced a new album in 2017. WOOP WOOP

Deathconscious
December 4th 2016


24154 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

id probably have this at a 4.5 if it wasnt for the lyrics. cant wait to hear what they do next.

Digging: Pepper Proud - Water

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2016


25478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

damn that 4 is niceeee tho

Digging: Childish Gambino - 03.15.20

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 4th 2016


25478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

also how have I not commented on this already

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
January 5th 2017


10581 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The lyrics are great



Pure cheese and anthem-ic

Digging: The Motion Mosaic - Avant-Garbage

onionbubs
January 5th 2017


12376 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is really good ye

Digging: Brian Fallon - Local Honey

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
January 5th 2017


25478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fuck yeah peeps

IT MUST TAKE A MASTERMIND OR SOME KIND OF GENIUS TO FIGURE OUT THE REASONS BEHIND ALLLLL OF THIIIIIISSSS AND WHY IM NOT OVERRRRR ITTTTT

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
January 5th 2017


10581 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

FUCK



EVERYTHIIIIIIIIIIIING



ABOUT HIIIIIIIIMMM

rufinthefury
January 5th 2017


3102 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

TWOOOO BEEEERS IIIIIIIN



ALREADY FEELS LIKE IT'S ONE OF THOSE NIGHTS TO FOOOOORGEEEEET



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy