Venom
From the Very Depths


2.0
poor

Review

by piroga84 USER (19 Reviews)
May 5th, 2015 | 24 replies


Release Date: 01/26/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Stuck in a limbo between anachronism and modern times

The metal pioneers or what’s left of them (meaning Cronos), come back to haunt us with the 55 minute old school “From the very depths”. A mediocre effort, at best.

When Venom try to resemble their past, they are at their best. The record kicks off with a nice duo of retro sounding headbangers. “From the very depths” and the “Death of Rock and roll” are dynamic, simple and to the point. The godfathers of extreme metal use the basic metal formula (strong riff – chorus –solo) to perfection and add a punkish aura of fun. Guitarist La Rage and drummer Dante can play their instruments, unlike Mantas and Abaddon, and the band sounds tight and actually quite proficient, for Venom standards of course. The riffs are simple but played with an edge and the song writing is underdeveloped but hard hitting. All satanic good.
If Venom released a mini LP featuring the 2 aforementioned songs and “Long haired punks”, I would have given them a rating of 4, for 15 minutes of traditional metal.

Unfortunately, the rest 40’ of the album provides soulless, uninteresting speedy/groove metal in its simplest form. The initial energy dies out quickly in a mud of boring songs. “Smoke” is slower than expected and that’s the only interesting thing about it. “Crucified” has been written a thousand times before and “Evil Law” resembles Slayer riffing, extremely watered down. But, it is really when Venom tries to sound modern that accidents like "Mephistopheles" happen. I can’t really put into words this mid –tempo, unimaginative shell of a song. This is a joke, listen for yourselves.
I have no complaints about the production and the lyrics though. Venom managed to sound fresh but not modern, polished but not clean cut. This a good balance that actually complements the raw nature of the band so kudos to the producer! Furthermore, the vocals are a joy to behold. Cronos is, after all, the spirit of Venom. He sounds as strong as ever, a good blend of dirty, harsh vocals, with the occasional spoken twist that adds to the variety. On the other hand, the lyrics are pretentiously dark, in the old, venomous way. Expect a lot of Satan, gods of rock and roll, witching hours and hell. These lines are meant to go down with a pint of beer or two, just as expected.

Quite simply, “From the very depths” runs overlong and there aren't many good songs in it. The band tries to find a place in modern times but doesn't hit the mark. Venom continues to release decent albums but they don’t have the assets to stand out of the pack anymore. Their strong hand is funny, heavy punkish metal. Keeping it short, real and energetic and they might, just might, regain their small but cult audience.



Recent reviews by this author
Hail Spirit Noir Mayhem In BlueFu Manchu Gigantoid
Sand Snowman Tell the Trees It's Autumn AgainIron Maiden No Prayer for the Dying
Coal Chamber RivalsMortiis The Song of a Long Forgotten Ghost
user ratings (98)
Chart.
2.6
average

Comments:Add a Comment 
tempest--
May 5th 2015


20630 Comments


albums rly bad yea

piroga84
May 5th 2015


361 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i kept it simple and straightforward, just like a good ol' Venom song

hope you like like

manosg
Staff Reviewer
May 5th 2015


11452 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I like like and approve everything on this review so have a pos from the very depths of hell.



Anyone who wishes to listen the best modern Venom available should better check Midnight - No Mercy for Mayhem.

Digging: King Diamond - Songs for the Dead Live

piroga84
May 5th 2015


361 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

thank you from the hellish pit of my heart!

Sevengill
May 5th 2015


8904 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

1984 by my count

piroga84
May 5th 2015


361 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

count me in sevengill

1984 last time

Sevengill
May 5th 2015


8904 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Like, I love me some Black Metal and Witching Hour but these guys were never good musicians to begin with. They had an idea and it was a fantastic one and they were just good enough to pull it off a couple times, but after that they didn't have much to offer.

piroga84
May 5th 2015


361 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

one has to like cronos vocals tho

Sevengill
May 5th 2015


8904 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Cronos is the man and I'd pay to see him live but that doesn't mean he's a good singer or musician haha

piroga84
May 5th 2015


361 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

oh i completely forgot to say that i piss on the cover picture

Sevengill
May 5th 2015


8904 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

...I'm not sure if that's good or bad

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
May 5th 2015


2586 Comments


"They godfathers of extreme metal"

I think you mean "The".

"All satanic good".

Maybe I'm being stupid, but to me this statement makes no sense. Maybe rephrase "All good, Satanic stuff." idk.

Also, don't know about anyone else, but that first sentence to me would serve a better purpose as the main summary, but the summary as it is now is pretty good anyway. Apart from those things I pointed out, cool review. Not listened to this album yet but I highly doubt it's any better than Venom's last few albums. I love how the band constantly make out each new album is going to be like the best record they've ever done since the 80s, and it turns out to be anything but.

Digging: Mastiff - Plague

piroga84
May 5th 2015


361 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

thanks a lot linguist, i appreciate it! (i'll fix them)

i was carried away with so many satanisms in the lyrics



This is my gift for your time

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KwCOoEI0rM





ksoflas
May 5th 2015


1266 Comments


Nice review in contrast to the album.
Pos'd.

piroga84
May 5th 2015


361 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

thank you good friend

another fan of Venom?

ksoflas
May 5th 2015


1266 Comments


Not really but i totally respect them.
Digger fun though.

romulanrancor
May 5th 2015


7418 Comments


Evvaaal! In league with satan! m/

piroga84
May 5th 2015


361 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

aaaaaaaaall hell breaks loose m/

those were the riffs my friends

rockandmetaljunkie
June 11th 2015


7731 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Album is a solid 2.5, maybe a 3. There are a few decent tracks, but the rest of the material is boring and the album is way too long in duration.

rockandmetaljunkie
June 11th 2015


7731 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

good job mr Piroga



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy