Every Time I Die
Salem


3.7
great

Review

by Insurrection USER (113 Reviews)
April 23rd, 2015 | 36 replies


Release Date: 04/18/2015 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A 9-minute roller coaster of testosterone and fury.

Every Time I Die have been on a hot streak lately. From Parts Unknown was the band’s latest full-length, successfully ripping people new assholes across the globe in 2014, and their brand new collection of tracks this year is no different. Salem is a whopping 9 minutes in length spanning four tracks, one of which is a cover of Nirvana’s ‘Tourettes’. The short running time may seem underwhelming but that’s kind of the point. The band wasn’t trying to make another opus – they just wanted to crack a few skulls early in the year, giving us hardcore fans a little something to nibble on while we wait for the next record. In that respect, Salem absolutely crushes. It’s a chaotic non-stop adrenaline rush from beginning to end. It’s essentially the aural equivalent to cocaine – it doesn’t last long but goddamn is it one hell of a ride.

There’s no point in delving any deeper into the music because Every Time I Die have been wholly consistent in their output and Salem is no different. If you liked their past few albums, you’ll certainly get a kick out of this. If not, don’t bother. But if you need a quick pick-me-up in the form of aural insanity, Salem may be exactly what you’re looking for.



Recent reviews by this author
Between the Buried and Me Automata IIBetween the Buried and Me Automata I
Incubus (USA-CA) 8Metallica Hardwired... to Self-Destruct
Avenged Sevenfold The StagePeriphery Periphery III: Select Difficulty
user ratings (131)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
April 22nd 2015


24717 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

full youtube playlist: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rrvlkwsBI1k&list=PLNI39fY-XhzQy-RsEGAJYIkOe00sQOG2H

Digging: Dark Tranquillity - Fiction

GmemberKills
April 22nd 2015


3696 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Jamming now. Reading the review got me hyped.

Gameofmetal
Staff Reviewer
April 22nd 2015


10511 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wow had no fucking idea this was coming out.



Cool review.

GmemberKills
April 22nd 2015


3696 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

2 of these are bonus tracks from parts unknown. Kinda neat to have em on a separate ep though they mesh well with the rest.

Veldin
April 22nd 2015


3798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

can a mod please fix the artwork so it shows up elsewhere

Iamthe Nightstars
April 23rd 2015


2761 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Well, well, well. What a pleasant surprise.

FearThyEvil
April 23rd 2015


16769 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

definitely checking this out

Slut
April 23rd 2015


4255 Comments


I WANT THE TOURETTS COVER

BigPleb
April 23rd 2015


57460 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Riffs as expected, fucking awesome band m/

Digging: Faith No More - King for a Day... Fool for a Lifetime

Balerion
April 23rd 2015


1032 Comments


Tourettes cover owns

deathschool
April 23rd 2015


23514 Comments


Oh boy

NightProwler
April 23rd 2015


7005 Comments


Wow had no fucking idea this was coming out.

Cool review. [2]

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
April 23rd 2015


14171 Comments


review reads higher than a 3.5 but good anyway nice one

Digging: Dead Kennedys - Plastic Surgery Disasters

indigonowhere
Emeritus
April 23rd 2015


10727 Comments


^^ I really dislike the part of the review quoted- slurs like that don't really belong in a music review, but the rest is solid. Haven't heard this yet

adr
April 23rd 2015


12005 Comments


the Nirvana cover sucks, but the rest is great as expected from ETID

whollyghost
April 23rd 2015


35 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

A Strange Loop is so awesome. Managed to snag the only copy of this at my shop.

Mort.
Contributing Reviewer
April 23rd 2015


14171 Comments


Slur seems like a slight exaggeration omaha

cryptside
April 23rd 2015


2397 Comments


Nice work, Ins. Will jam asap, love the band's discography.

Hopelust
April 23rd 2015


3381 Comments


My local record store got nothing good in for RSD. Brutal. I would have loved to hear this.

RadioSuicide
April 23rd 2015


803 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

THIS IS DOPE



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy